Chevron Left
A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment に戻る

インド商科大学院(Indian School of Business) による A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
3,456件の評価
1,161件のレビュー

コースについて

What are the determinants of a happy and fulfilling life? This is surely one of life’s biggest questions, and a question that has interested many of our ancestors. Buddha famously gave up his kingdom in search of happiness. Several Greek philosophers (from Aristotle to Epicurus and Plato to Socrates) had their own views on what it takes to be happy. And of course, we all have our own theories about happiness too. How valid are our theories? Until recently, if you wished for an answer to this question, you would've been forced to base it on discussions with spiritual leaders. Or, if you were lucky, you could've based it on late-night (and perhaps intoxicant-fueled) conversations with friends and family. Happily, all that has changed now. Over the past decade-and-a-half, scientists have gotten into the act big time. We now have a pretty good idea of what it takes to lead a happy and fulfilling life. This course, based on the award-winning class offered both at the Indian School of Business and at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin, developed by Prof. Raj Raghunathan (aka "Dr. Happy-smarts") draws content from a variety of fields, including psychology, neuroscience, and behavioral decision theory to offer a tested and practical recipe for leading a life of happiness and fulfillment. Although not mandatory, reading Prof. Raj's forthcoming book, titled If you're so smart, why aren't you happy? can help you review and assimilate the material covered in this book at your leisure. For Coursera learners alone, the hardcover version of the book is available for a deep discount of 50%, plus shipping and handling. You can order the hardcover for 50% off by writing to Aaron at: Aaron@800ceoread.com. Please mention that you are a student of the "coursera happiness course" in your email. The course will feature guest appearances by several well-known thought leaders, including: - Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational and, soon to be released, Irrationally Yours), - Ed Diener (“Dr. Happiness”), - Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi (author of Flow), By taking this course, you will discover the answers to questions such as: - Why aren’t the smart-and-the-successful as happy as they could—or should—be - What are the “7 Deadly Happiness Sins” that even the smart and the successful commit?, and - What are the “7 Habits of the Highly Happy” and how can you implement them in your life? By the end of the course, I expect students who have been diligent with the lectures and exercises to not just gain a deeper understanding of the science of happiness, but to also be significantly happier....

人気のレビュー

CR

Apr 24, 2018

Excellent course, Professor Raj is great. I found it very helpful to see what types of personality traits I have that may contribute to my happiness level and possible approaches to dealing with them.

LS

Jan 24, 2017

This course is a joy! I cannot recommend it highly enough. Practical advice based on long-term research, interviews with worldwide experts on the topics discussed, and a fabulous professor. So great!

フィルター:

A Life of Happiness and Fulfillment: 26 - 50 / 1,144 レビュー

by Narine

Dec 05, 2015

Lecture uses "you know" so much, that I couldn't hear enything else.

by Michael N R

Jun 13, 2016

Too much peer and dealing with others--not making me happy at all

by Valentina P

May 02, 2017

Quiero dar mi opinión en mi lengua pues me permite expresar algunas sutilezas que estimo necesarias y eso lo puedo hacer solo en mi idioma nativo. Estoy muy agradecida de este curso pues me ha permitido reflexionar sobre la felicidad, el concepto y como algo que se puede construir, eso es muy esperanzador. Me ha permitido poner atención en las herramientas que tengo o que puedo desarrollar para lograrlo; también me ha permito repensar en que para lograr algo hay que empeñarse. Me ha movilizado de tal modo que me siento con ganas de transmitir parte de lo aprendido a mis cercanos. Agradezco muy sinceramente a los profesores del curso especialmente al profesor Raj por la organización, la selección de los temas y la forma entretenida de entregarlos, ademas de la gran bibliografía y citas de grandes investigadores sobre el tema. Seria bueno mas adelante dictar una segunda parte del curso que pueda incluir temas como por ejemplo la procrastinación y como manejarlo, los conceptos de una vida "slow", efectos de la mueca de la sonrisa en el bienestar.

Me parece genial que mantengamos el contacto.

Gracias de nuevo y felicidades.

by Muthukumar K

May 06, 2017

This is an excellent course for everyone which will help us to find deep meaning and explore happiness in our life. Prof Raj has been presented the course in a simple easy to follow language and helped us to explore what he taught using simple weekly exercises. He has used the knowledge of happiness gained by professionals across the world and invited them for guest lectures. I have never seen a course which was so well coordinated with over 20 guest lectures. Thank you Prof Raj and team, I thoroughly enjoyed the course week after week and seen my happiness score increased towards the end of the program.

I strongly recommend this program to everyone to explore happiness and lead a meaningful life. The content might look heavy with lot of videos, exercises and assignment. But once you sustain and complete, you will really see a change in your thought process and get a different perspective about life. Life is Now. Enjoy.

by Solovyeva A

Aug 16, 2016

This was my first experience on Coursera, and I'm sure now - it is not the last.

The course gives you an opportunity to see how the way of your thinking affects your happiness. The patterns you don't notice, which are easy to understand and notice as soon, as you hear about them. No magic, just science. And as a result you can feel happier. And what is most important - you feel happier not because of some metaphysical stuff or because of someone fixing all your problems. You feel happier due to your own conscious actions in you mind, in your way of thinking. You yourself make you feel better. And you can see each step you take.

And of course, big thank you to Prof. Raj and his team for creating this course, for systematizing all the information to be easy understandable. And which is even more important - it's easy to put in practice.

Also Prof. Raj is very nice! And I think he is a trustworthy person : )

by Virat M

Jul 19, 2016

What a fantastic course! I stumbled upon this through an email from Prof Barbara Oakley who had recommended this highly. Prof Raj Raghunathan and team have done a super job in putting together a fun, thought provoking and a potentially life changing course. I must admit that I took this course with great trepidation because I am an Atheist and felt that there would be a lot of religious discussion and woo-woo as part of the subject matter. I was certainly mistaken as this was not the case. The emphasis through the course was on recent research and geared to convince rather than philosophical and airy. For a person like me this approached proved to be convincing and clear. I have personally benefitted tremendously and have certainly evangelised it to anyone I meet and will continue to do so.

Highly highly highly recommended by me!

by Nitin G

Oct 07, 2017

ALOHA(F) sir,

I want to thank you for setting up this course in such detail and format. It was a pleasure to become a part of this group and learn so much things. The way it has been structured shows how much effort has been put in and you have presented it so well and innovatively that I was feeling that we really have known each other while going through this course. The external references you took from other teachers made it more comprehensive and inclusive.

I am certainly going to refer this course to many others whom I know and who can really benefit from this. I regret that I could not complete a couple of exercises towards the end of this course.

Thank you for showing me and a lot of others a different way of living and looking at life. I hope I will try to gain a lot from it.

Regards

Nitin Goel

Delhi, India

by Keri A B

Apr 21, 2018

Stunning! Well presented with clarity and humor. Professor Raj has excellent presentation, everything is well understood and very captivating. I appreciate the numerous studies referenced; my reading recommendations file is well stocked!

This is not just a class but an experience. I found the weekly happiness exercises to be extraordinarily life-changing. I am a better person after taking this class. I bought your book too, "If you are so smart, why aren't you happy" which seems to cover everything the class did and that will be an excellent help post-class for tune-ups and recollection of good habits and tactics.

I look forward to taking more classes with Professor Raj and his assistant Katherine. Thank you so much, I really appreciate the opportunity and valuable information. Namaste!

by Danila G

Feb 26, 2016

I used to always say that everyone in life no matter what their profession was, should take at least one basic psychology course in their lives. After taking this course I can now say that this course is another one on the list for everyone in life to take --it should be a requirement. I feel very fortunate to have stumbles upon it, and I´m very happy that I took it! And just by taking the course my life has already started to change, because I am now aware of things to make myself happier that I was not aware of before, so this course has shed a lot of light on life, human beings and how to be happier. Last, I´m very grateful to Prof. Rajagopal Raghunathan, for coming up with the great idea of giving this course! And wish him all the best with his new book! Thank you all!

by Janne N

Mar 08, 2016

Very good course. Professor Raghunathan is extremely invigorating lecturer and the course is full of great information. One thing that bothered me, though, was how the maximizer and desirability for control test scores were not explained further.

Edit: I think my point about DC and maximizer scales sounded a bit more negative than I meant. Very minor thing, but as the course was so good otherwise it stuck out to me. In my case, I got "contradicting" scores (low DC, high maximizer) and the following discussion mostly addressed the overly controlling case. This left me at first a little uncertain whether the corresponding habit of the highly happy would suit me. (It does.)

I highly recommend this course for everyone who wants to learn what makes people happy!

by M. A T B

Nov 04, 2017

Amazingly interesting. I've not only learnt a lot but also I've confirmed why I use to do some things I do but before now I had no "logical" explanation, just intuition about that doing such kind of thing made me happy.

It has surprised me a lot that something as supposedly "abstract" as happiness has undergone so many studies and researchs and has so many supporting and proven outcomes.

I love the structure of the course: sin - habit - exercise to enhance happiness. The videos, the studies and the participants in the course have also been superb!

Two great surprises have been the "healthy lifestyle" to enhance happiness, and the mindfulness section with that "Presence Practise" wonderful exercise.

Without any dout, I do eagerly recommend this course!

by Wai Y L

Feb 15, 2020

Thanks Prof. Raj and the whole team of the course. I love this course very much. I bought Dr. Prof's book "If you're so smart, why aren't you happy?" from an online bookshop about three months ago. One day I felt quite down and then saw the book from my shelf. I started reading it and found that this book is really suitable for me to read. Then I went to coursera and enrolled the course. I started feeling much calm and rational from my heart. And my happiness level increased!! I enjoyed studying the course so much! The book "If you're so smart, why aren't you happy?" is the most academic, systematic and scientific course or book about happiness I read! I strongly recommend the course to everyone who want to live happier in their life!

by SWATI N P

Aug 14, 2017

A super thumbs up to this course. I was in different state of mind when I registered for this course. I was unhappy with myself and was thinking life is very cruel. I even started to believe no matter how good you are, people are not satisfied with you. When I started this course, the more I realized my happiness dose not depend on anybody else rather it depends on myself and how I am reacting to different situations. I am practicing all the happiness deciding factor in this course and it really making difference in me. Thank for having such course and very much thanks to Prof. Raj, for delivery of this course thank you Catherine for giving exact instructions on assignments. Thank you all, I will miss you.

by alfonso b

Jan 23, 2016

This is a very complete course if you want to understand how happiness can be achieved in your daily life and practice different methods to internalize them.

Definitively after taking this course, your view about happiness will be different, and if you were neglecting happiness in your life, you will have now a motive to prioritize it in your life.

I want to congratulate Dr. Raj and the course's support team. The idea, research done, the video assembling, the quick tests, etc., are well engaged and create a great synergy throughout the course in favour of the student. This methodology helps a lot to internalize the ideas and it is so playful that despite you will have to work in the course, you will do it happy.

by unnat s

Nov 15, 2016

Man Man Man!! What a nice and interesting woven course.

First of all hats off to Prof. Raj for presenting a course on a topic like happiness which is really important to us but is missing its relevance in today's age.

The concepts explained have scientific backing so I as an IT Analyst, was spellbound on the extensive research put to prepare this course.

I felt really great and definitely recommend this course to everyone. Please try it once, I am sure you will get addicted (in a good sense!!!!) to complete it, like me!!!

I can confirm that my happiness score has improved and I feel more at peace with me than I was before joining this course.

Three cheers to ALOHAF, HIP HIP Hurray, HIP HIP Hurray, HIP HIP Hurray!!

by Jas K J S B

Jul 30, 2019

Excellent course!!

Makes one aware of blind spots in his own knowledge and practice which blocks/reduces his happiness. Very well structured and Raj has interlinked everthing in a simple and easy to understand manner. Course taps into latest reseatch findings and therefore comes across as very authentic in terms of content.

Strongly recommended for everyone. Will broaden the perspective and will give both birds eye view and snails eye view of happiness. Equips the student with sufficient tools and perspective to increase his or her happiness!!

Appreciate the all round work done by Raj and his team in putting this together and making it so interesting and useful. Congratulations and well done!!

by Pilar S

Sep 11, 2016

This course is absolutely amazing! I took it because I was feeling kind of moody in a regula basis and that made me very unhappy. The topics covered in the course made me understand how we do so many things that go against our happiness and made me think about my own situation and why I was getting upset about silly things.

I also found very interesting the focus of the course. I was worried it may be new age, happy clappy kind of affair, but it is very well structured, organised and all the facts are based in research, not on believes.

Happy, moody, sad... I'd recommend this course to everyone, there is plenty to learn and to understand for all of us.

Thank you Prof. Raj!

by Marcel R

Jun 27, 2017

This course surpassed all my initial expectations. Frankly, didn't expect much, giving this happiness topic is so full of advices and no research subsidizing them. This course is organized in a way that all ideas presented have background information and research to back it up beyond mere claims. Prof. Raj present it all in a very clear and entertaining way, he's charismatic and keep un upbeat all along the course duration. This course have made me reflect on my life and "sins" more than some years of therapy. I can only be thankful to prof. Raj and his team, and highly recommend this course to everyone. It's a great investment of time, I assure you!

by Elizabeth T

Dec 04, 2016

The information in the course was really excellent and was set up in a way that it wasn't overwhelming. I wish I could give four and a half only because some of the videos explaining procedures were really long and were obsolete, and also because different parts of the site would say that I needed to submit something and others would say that everything was received so it made me really nervous - at one point the site was telling me that I was late in submitted my work and that I'd need to sign up for a later class but it turns out my assignments had been submitted and graded before the cut off time so that alert just really frazzled me if anything.

by Franklin C

Feb 28, 2016

I really enjoyed this course! Dr. Raghunathan has a lot of energy and is very engaging in the videos for each module. The information is clear and easy to understand, yet at the same time, has led to serious improvements in my life. Not only that, the assignments in this class get each of us to reach out and connect with people in our communities in an organic and comfortable manner. Also, there are a lot of very good book recommendations throughout the course and I highly recommend checking some of them out!! I've already recommended this course to friends in my "real life", and I hope that this review will sway someone to enroll. Stay well!

by Pim M

Aug 24, 2016

This course doesn't just help you give an understanding about happiness. It really helps increase your knowledge in a wide variety of areas. Anybody will benefit from this course, but if you're interested in (cognitive) psychology this really helps with building or expanding your knowledge of subjects like motivation. Personally I've done a Master in Applied Cognitive Psychology, and have read about self-determination theory, but never have I seen it applied so broadly to so many subjects. I feel like I understand my own degree much better now. Not just that; since this course I feel like I understand everything and everyone better now...

by Deleted A

Apr 25, 2018

Excellent introductory course on positive psychology and available research supporting specific methods to understand and improve happiness. Lecturer is excellent. He makes efforts to engage the audience by providing in-depth reading material and then summarizing the work in easy-to-follow, clear language. The course is up-to-date (2017 ) and I would recommend this to anyone who wants a preview into specific ways for enhancing happiness. It's not a directed "how-to book" but rather it points at resources and explains them well enough to encourage/facilitate students to make their own choices about which approaches might be useful.

by Tami V L

Nov 25, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Raj is a dynamic, positive, well-organized presenter, which contributed to the enjoyment of the course. The material is very useful both in terms of my work as a psychologist and in my personal life, and I am referring back to my notes frequently as they are so helpful in everyday life. I have recommended this course to several clients already as well as my own family members. The readings, resources, and general format are exceptional. Thank you for making this course available on!ine. I look forward to doing the extended meditation and going through some of the recommended reading!

by Satyam D

Apr 04, 2018

I'm deeply grateful to Prof Raj and his team for making this excellent course available to all. There is an incredible amount of scientific research done to create this course. And yet it is fun and enjoyable.

The course gave me a great opportunity to learn the fundamental facts about happiness. Now I am more aware about what constitutes life success. I have learnt a lot about myself while doing the course and I strongly believe I have made a very good investment of my time and effort.

I sincerely thank everyone in Coursera and Dr Raj's team for increasing the net happiness in this world with this course! :) :) :)

by Irene H

Jun 10, 2017

Raj is an energetic and engaging teacher. He covered the topic from every imaginable angle so we learned all the ways we sabotage our own happiness and the appropriate "fixes". I appreciated all of the guest speakers / interviews, which showed the multidisciplinary nature of the topic as well as its importance in the personal, social, and even national spheres. The various measures of our own personal happiness, trust, etc. were very revealing and encouraged me to think about and apply the information in my own life. Thanks to all those at the ISB who helped to put together this very interesting course!