Chevron Left
Patrick Henry: Forgotten Founder に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による Patrick Henry: Forgotten Founder の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
151件の評価
79件のレビュー

コースについて

“Give me liberty, or give me death:” Remembering Patrick Henry, the Forgotten Founder Patrick Henry was enormously popular during the American Revolution. Even Thomas Jefferson, who over time developed a deep loathing of Henry (some would say jealousy), had to admit that “it is not now easy to say what we should have done without Patrick Henry.” Edmund Randolph, a patriot leader in his own right, explained that “It was Patrick Henry … awakening the genius of his country, and binding a band of patriots together to hurl defiance at the tyranny of so formidable a nation as Great Britain.” Yet, today, Patrick Henry is ill-remembered; most Americans might recall at best perhaps a snippet from a famous speech: “give me liberty, or give me death.” The reasons for our historic forgetfulness are several: after the Revolution, Henry chose to oppose ratification of the U.S. Constitution, believing that it created a distant and too-powerful government, and he refused proffered position in George Washington’s administration, diminishing his historic memory. Equally important, Henry died in 1799 shortly after a political campaign in which, at Washington’s behest, he opposed Jefferson’s and James Madison’s ill-advised radical states’ rights attack on the U.S. government, and Jefferson spent the next twenty-six years systematically attacking Henry’s legacy. Patrick Henry, who helped to ignite a revolution, deserves better. This course will explore how he over¬came challenges to reach the pinnacle of Virginia politics and unite Americans behind a challenge to Britain – the eighteenth century’s super-power, why he opposed the U.S. Constitu¬tion, and why he then came out of retirement to defend the people’s Constitution against the attacks of Jefferson and Madison. Participants should evaluate Henry’s role in proclaiming a revolution and consider whether he had an equally important role in saving it. The course should also develop an improved appreciation for the complex political, economic, and religious forces that shaped the early republic. As a biographical course, it also demonstrates how personalities play an important role in even the most foundational national history. Image Attribution: The background image for this webpage is Patrick Henry before the Virginia House of Burgesses by Peter F. Rothermel (1851) with special thanks to the owner, the Patrick Henry Memorial Foundation. The painting of Patrick Henry's 1765 "Caesar had his Brutus" speech (discussed in the second lecture) is entirely romanticized -- neither Henry nor the House of Burgesses looked at all like this -- but it does show that hagiography of Henry, almost god-like veneration, began shortly after this death....

人気のレビュー

LM

2019年6月30日

Excellent course for anyone interested in American History. Enjoyable lectures. Loved that some of the lectures were filmed at the actual location. Easy to understand. Highly recommend.

HH

2020年4月5日

This was a wonderful course! Dr. Ragosta was knowledgable, and his lectures interesting and engaging. This course should be required viewing for anyone studying American history!

フィルター:

Patrick Henry: Forgotten Founder: 26 - 50 / 81 レビュー

by Bernadette F

2021年1月24日

Like many people, my knowledge of Patrick Henry was quite limited (thank you, Thomas Jefferson). Learning more about his political, professional and personal life has given me increased perspective on the Founding Father era.

by Pat M

2018年5月19日

Week three editing is too redundant. The professor is outstanding. I am proud to ask for the right to say i have a certificate from this great scholar.Thanks fro holding the course. I learned every minute of it.

by Liz M

2019年7月1日

Excellent course for anyone interested in American History. Enjoyable lectures. Loved that some of the lectures were filmed at the actual location. Easy to understand. Highly recommend.

by Hope H

2020年4月6日

This was a wonderful course! Dr. Ragosta was knowledgable, and his lectures interesting and engaging. This course should be required viewing for anyone studying American history!

by charles e m

2017年7月7日

I really enjoyed the course. It was well presented and easy to follow. I would recommend it to anyone who may have an interest in the people who founded our great country.

by Linda F

2021年7月8日

Outstanding! The best course I have taken so far. I have learned so much about the forgotten contributions of a great patriot and a great man. Thank you so much.

by Jonathan M M

2020年11月25日

Great course! I would highly recommend this class to anyone interested in the founding of our Nation. Congratulations to Dr. Ragosta on a job well done.

by patrick h

2018年12月20日

very informative. Not a detailed presentation but certainly one which inspires a closer and more thorough look into the role of Henry in American History.

by Amadeus W

2020年3月5日

还是写一下中文的评论供汉语运用者参考一下吧。这门课的老师人很和蔼,课程绝大多数都是视频,然后除第一周外每周测试12道题。可能毕竟是人文类的课程很难要求学生们完成什么作业吧,就我个人而言觉得老师讲的很有意思,是顺着Patrick Henry的一生讲下来的,想要了解美国大革命的同学可以试着听一听这个课程。

by Mary L

2020年4月14日

I truly enjoyed learning more about Patrick Henry. The course was educational and the professor's knowledge and passion of Patrick Henry was evident.

by Sarah W

2020年5月1日

A very informative and easy to enjoy lecture on a forgotten founding father. Dr. Ragosta's enthusiasm and knowledge of his subject are infectious.

by Jennifer E

2019年11月7日

This course was excellent! I learned so much about this patriot that I didn't know before! I was so inspired by it, I went to Red Hill this summer!

by Hilde K

2017年7月10日

There's so much to learn and it is presented in such an engaging manner. It made me want to go out and learn more about Patrick Henry.

by Suzan H

2017年9月6日

Well presented. Little known facts about the life and political aspects of Patrick Henry made to keep a learner interested. Thank you.

by Charlie K

2021年11月15日

Ragosta is an excellent presenter and needless to say knows his subject well. I greatly enjoyed this course and learned a great deal.

by Connie N

2020年4月21日

Very interesting and easily understood. I thought the speaker was very easy to listen to and I enjoyed the class very much.

by Diane D

2021年7月27日

John Ragosta"s lectures were packed with information and presented in a friendly manner. The course kept me engaged.

by Fernando R

2019年12月2日

This is an excellent course. I have learned a lot about Patrick Henry. Very detailed and the professor is excellent!!

by James B N

2017年7月22日

Very interesting course presented in a way that motivates the student to delve further into the subject.

Great fun!!!

by Kimberly R

2020年5月8日

Great information presented in an easy to understand format. I'm actually sad the course only takes 5 weeks!

by Ronald A Y

2021年3月18日

Enjoyed the course and learned a lot about the man that isn't taught in our institutions.

by Janice O

2020年4月26日

I thought the course was excellent - clearly presented and thought provoking! Thank you.

by JOHN Q

2017年7月5日

Interesting class regarding one of the real founders of this country. Thanks so much!

by Jamie P

2019年6月20日

I already knew a lot about Mr. Henry but with this course I learned so much more.

by Clarke S

2021年1月7日

Outstanding course. Dr. Ragosta is a very scholarly and entertaining presenter.