Chevron Left
Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
507件の評価
113件のレビュー

コースについて

A unique and exciting introduction to the genre and craft of historical fiction, for curious students, aspiring authors--anyone with a passion for the past. Read classics of the genre, encounter bestselling writers of historical fiction, and discover your own historical archive while interacting with a global community of interested readers....

人気のレビュー

JC

2020年9月16日

I'm not sure why I took this course. I'm glad I did. I enjoyed all the books and the interaction with authors. This was a way to experience literature without writting 5 papers on a book.

AB

2020年10月4日

Too good! The instructor was way too awesome. I am not from Arts or Literature background yet understood everything easily. The author interactions were a really good learning experience

フィルター:

Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction: 76 - 100 / 111 レビュー

by Maria d S B B

2016年9月12日

I just loved it!

by Tristan U

2015年8月19日

xcellent teacher

by Melissa ( C

2017年8月9日

Very enjoyable

by Colleen P

2016年1月16日

Great course!!

by Juan C A E

2021年1月11日

Great Course.

by Dr. R E M

2020年10月25日

Nice course

by Luiggy R A I

2016年11月16日

Amazing!

by Lê D T L

2021年11月10日

Awesome

by Grace C

2016年9月3日

很好很有意思

by deboleena k

2021年9月9日

l

by Christophe v

2016年4月28日

c

by Judy C

2020年5月2日

An excellent course with some valuable insight into writing, and reading historical fiction. Several of the videos with visiting authors provide excellent insight to the development and use of character, the use of research and personal experience, and how to bring them together to make an enjoyable reading experience, and one which may lead the reader to further delve into history, or to pursue writing in the genre. The course provides excellent clarification on the definition of historical fiction; and examples, through author interview and definition by literary critics, of good, and not as good ,historical fiction. In the end, like all reading and study, it presents the student with a new, and more intellectual scope of choice for future academic and literary choices. The discussion forums, while many are older, offer a wide 'library' of resource for further reading of the genre.

by Monica M

2020年6月16日

Pro: Really liked the professor's style, how he drew on guest lecturers, how he drew on material from many cultural backgrounds, how he wove it all together. I have created an excellent "To Read" list from this course, including many books I would not have known about otherwise.

Con: I audited this course, and unlike many other courses on Coursera, this course would not allow me to submit the quizzes or assignments. It had an oddly and significantly deflating effect on my continued participation in the course. I skimmed a lot more (rather than really absorbing with maximum attention), and now, even though I have completed all the lectures, I cannot 'complete' this course in a way that the Coursera system recognizes it as finished. I guess I will be in an eternal limbo situation, with the course telling my assignments are overdue.

by Tatiana B C

2016年4月6日

I personally enjoyed the course. However I was disappointed when I was told after week (3 or 5?) that I'd completed the course, when I in fact hadn't gotten to the end and had not done the final two assignments...? Regardless, I went ahead and finished the course, but I was also disturbed to see that some of the students did their assignments in a mockery fashion e.g. wrote song lyrics, or stated "I don't know what else to say so I will tell you about my day..." That was very irritating. The class wasn't described clearly in the catalog, I thought it would be more of a history of the periods plus literature, but it wasn't exactly that... Instead it was a discussion of techniques and prose, and exhibiting truly talented authors. I liked the class, just not what I expected.

by Dr A M

2021年9月24日

Excellent resources, and the lectures are interesting. As a review and introduction to the genre it would be difficult to fault. The quizzes are easy and are best done as you go watching the videos. To get the certificate you only need complete these. As the course is an archived one few people do it at any point in time so doing the assignments is questionable in terms of your time as there is little likelihood of (a) getting them marked quickly or (b) meeting the peer review hurdle. As a reading & resources course it is fine but if you are looking for interaction this aspect will be hit and miss.

by Joe K

2020年5月20日

This course is mostly fantastic. Prof Holsingers lectures with students are insightful and the visiting lecturers give many tips on how to write better historical fiction. Exactly as I hoping the course would give me. However, the primary source and writing assignment at the end to give closure to the course are not being peer reviewed and seems to be a falldown in what is otherwise a great course.

by Arya V

2020年7月11日

Very informative. I really liked the course. It really helped to understand how the historical narrative is different from historical fiction and why is it important.

by Jose A L S G

2020年11月1日

This course has made me appreciate literary techniques in writing historical fiction. The dialogues and discussion were informative and the books are interesting.

by Meredith F

2015年8月30日

Great course. I loved the seminars with the different authors. The course was fun and interesting and the professor was knowledgeable and easy to listen to.

by Lindea Y

2015年9月11日

A very interesting course. Only negative thing is that some of the authors are not very good at leading a lecture, and seem to stumble in their words a lot.

by Antonella C

2015年10月23日

I liked the curse a lot. However, I would consider some more gradings throughout the course, not just the few. Otherwise people lose their interest

by Maia J

2021年1月21日

This course was much longer than I anticipated, but is overall filled with great information about historical fiction and I learned a lot.

by Heather J B

2021年3月21日

An interesting survey of how history may be reflected in a fictional way to add to an understanding of the past.

by Paul

2015年12月23日

A good introductory course to historical fiction and the mechanics of writing it.

by Blanca I M R

2016年4月18日

I really enjoyed this course, I understand better the literature