Chevron Left
The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
505件の評価
144件のレビュー

コースについて

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

人気のレビュー

TA

Sep 27, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

DA

Feb 03, 2018

The course began with a question..What do we know about Israel(its history)? The course ended with an answer is " Is there anything more to be known?" Excellent course!!!!

フィルター:

The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State: 101 - 125 / 142 レビュー

by Rachel K

Aug 21, 2018

This was a very good course and taught me a lot about the creation of the State of Israel. One problem I had was that this course seems to assume you have more background knowledge than I had. I often found myself looking up information on my own because I didn't fully understand the different groups or people that were mentioned.

by Mary L P

Jan 18, 2016

Excellent course. I enjoyed learning about Israel and will help with understanding world events.

by Mike J

Nov 11, 2015

Interesting course, but rather too short and not going very deep

by Brandon L V

Nov 23, 2016

Amazing course, this really amplifies the roots and causes of the origin of the creation of the state of Israel. A little bit too much information that I belief can be sintetized, but overall still great to give the student a really solid overview on the context of the British Mandate of Palestine.

by Shirinov T

Feb 11, 2016

There is a problem with subtitles.Sometimes they are different from speech.

by Sandra O

Nov 22, 2015

The teaching for this class is 1st rate. Much information and nuances given

by Lydia K

Dec 29, 2016

It starts off a little slow and videos are very quiet but then it becomes really interesting and the short videos and change of presenters make it very easy to follow.

by Nikola D

Apr 23, 2018

The professor was great, I really enjoyed listening to him. What I found confusing was the questions on the tests, it didn't seem to me that they reflected the lectures previously given, nor I thought they could measure the level of acquired knowledge.

It would be also nice if professor suggested some literature or, why not, movies and documentaries about certain events mentioned in the lectures, so students can research deeper into the subject and gain better understanding of how modern Israel came to be.

by Sarah S Y

Apr 20, 2017

Interesting course. Good quick way to gain a better understanding of the conflict between Israel and Palestine.

by Simi V

May 17, 2018

There are errors in the transcripts of the lectures (one example: the word "pogrom" is written as "program." I am not going to stay with the course but if anyone wants me to, I can clean up those transcripts (I am a professional editor).

by Alec K

Nov 12, 2015

I found this course to be very interesting. I took this course simultaneously with the one from UCSD on the Holocaust so they enhanced each other. I especially appreciated having a lecture in which Anita Shapira participated - I had already read 'Israel: A History' so it added an extra dimension to that. A couple of small niggles - a) I think a warning for those that don't speak Hebrew that they need to use the subtitles facility(something I've never used before) b) I think some of the English spellings may be ambiguous when translating from Hebrew because of the special use of vowels.

All in all I enjoyed this and hope you provide more courses relating to the Israeli/Palestinian situation. Many ordinary people are very uninformed and vulnerable to misleading propaganda. Courses like this are vital in informing non-Jews.

by Christopher T C

Jan 17, 2016

Very good class though at times it could be hard to hear some of the audio lessons

by Shi Y

Feb 09, 2016

good for people who wanna know the brief. would be better with more details and sorties

by Reinaldo V d C

Oct 20, 2016

good

by Kelly

Dec 01, 2015

A good synopsis of the history of Israel. I enjoyed learning about this subject, and especially enjoyed the interviews and conversations.

by Ingrid H T H A

Jul 30, 2017

It is a good course.

by Sarah E P

Nov 12, 2015

This is a great introduction to Israel and Middle Eastern politics. It's not too tough- everything is broken down into very manageable 7 or 8 minute lessons, so it's easy to acquire a general understanding of the factors that led to the formation of Israel. Students looking for an in-depth examination may be disappointed, but if you're curious about this fascinating and very relevant chapter of history, this course will give you a good overview, and leave you hungry to learn more.

by Idan F

Mar 23, 2016

Great way to learn. Tests are to hard

by Sophie B

Dec 06, 2017

VERY INTERESTING - Sometime the accent and speed of the lecturers, however enthralling, it hard to follow. The use of the script and rewatching is then essential! but all in all great course. Has not helped in forming an opinion on current climate, as expected, but has increased dramatically the understa

by Steven Z P

Nov 20, 2016

a bit tedious but lots of information

by Mark W

Nov 18, 2016

An excellent course - as an introduction, it covers the material in a logical way, and presents critical views on actions of parties on all sides. Has whetted my appetite to know more about the history of creation of Israel and to explore particular avenues that couldn't be covered in detail due to introductory nature of course.

by Agnes L

Jan 12, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot from it. I would have liked more details and larger class, maybe some optional readings

by Saphir B D

Sep 06, 2016

The course was extremely informative and managed to explain complex circumstances very simple.

I highly recommend this course therefore. I was able to learn new things about the history of Israel which were never brought to me like that by history teachers. Great opportunity to broaden knowledge.

Suggestions:

Although the course was very good structured sometimes sophisticated history terms in the context of Israel and Palestine occurred in a video and were explained properly one video later. But because they were explained shortly after and it happened only like three times I would suggest to have a little box with terms like Lechi or Palmach, White Paper from thetime they occur first right beneath every video.

The interviews with the experts of each fields had sometimes an odd audio recording and one person therefore spoke louder then the other and I had to turn my speakers on full volume sometimes. If the course gets rerecorded one day I suggest to look into those samples in particular.

Thanks for this great course.

by Yang X

May 20, 2018

good to learn about the history

by Julen B

Oct 19, 2017

Really interesting but sometimes it is difficult to follow the translation.