Chevron Left
The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
505件の評価
144件のレビュー

コースについて

How did the State of Israel come to be? How is it that an idea, introduced in 19th century Europe, became a reality? And how does that reality prevail in the harsh complexities of the Middle East? Presented by Professor Eyal Naveh, with additional units from Professor Asher Sussers' "The Emergence of the Modern Middle East" course, This course will take you on a journey through the history of Modern Israel. In this 1st part of the course we will explore: How did the 19th century idea of a Jewish state become a reality? So the next time you hear about Israel in the news, you will be informed enough about the history of this area to comprehend the many sides and narratives that interact to shape the complex reality of Israel today. Please note that there is a second part to this course "The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state" which is a direct extension of this part. We highly recommend to continue to the second part after you finish this one (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel-sovereign-state). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

人気のレビュー

TA

Sep 27, 2019

"The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State" is a time demanding course for all of us nowadays to know the real history of modern Israel. Thanks Coursera for the such opportunity.

DA

Feb 03, 2018

The course began with a question..What do we know about Israel(its history)? The course ended with an answer is " Is there anything more to be known?" Excellent course!!!!

フィルター:

The History of Modern Israel – Part I: From an Idea to a State: 126 - 142 / 142 レビュー

by Rachel K

Aug 21, 2018

This was a very good course and taught me a lot about the creation of the State of Israel. One problem I had was that this course seems to assume you have more background knowledge than I had. I often found myself looking up information on my own because I didn't fully understand the different groups or people that were mentioned.

by William B

Nov 06, 2018

This class is pretty well put together and I enjoyed it a lot. Sometimes I had to listen a couple times because he has a thick accent, but that’s great! It’s authentic! Would recommend.

by Mudit A

Nov 09, 2018

Well constructed course. Provided a good understanding of the basis of the Zionist experiment, and the fundamental causes of the Arab-Israeli conflict. Explanations by both professors were lucid and engaging. Inputs from auxiliary professors brought about nuanced perspectives

by Avi D

Mar 03, 2019

Thank you very much

It's a very interesting course but I feel it was only an introduction to introduction.

This subject should be with more information and should be organized in more than just 3 lessons

Why not a full semester course of 12 lessons or more!

by Karam E

Mar 17, 2019

you can get an overview of the events not a balanced details about the conflict.it is bias and hold false preconceptions.

by Tamara O

Mar 17, 2018

there was no discussion and there weren't enough question.

by Olafur T Y

Jul 28, 2017

Nice course, although I do not understand the need for having 2 lectures in Hebrew.

by Alexander S

Feb 09, 2016

Really enjoyed the information and perspective from the course. The only issue is that everything is from the Israeli point of view - the course would benefit from some discussion/inclusion from other perspectives. Still, it gave me a good background on the issues, and I would take more classes from the same institution.

by Stephen H

Feb 27, 2016

Good, concise course.

The reason I didn't give it a higher rating is because I found it difficult (not impossible) to follow some of professor Eyal Naveh speach. His first language is not English, so I do not expect him to speak perfect English. However, I would expect the subtitles/transcript not to have basic mistakes. This became important when professor Naveb interview another person in Hebrew, as I found I could not really trust the subtitles.

I think it wouldn't take much to make it an excellent course.

My cheeky suggestion is to have a specialisation with The Emergence of the Modern Middle East by Professor Asher Susser as nucleus and a series of shorter, more in depth courses on certain of the bigger countries, such as Egypt, Turkey and Iran, similar to this one on Israel.

by Aunatya m

Apr 07, 2016

content is good but its not made interesting.

by Ariel

Jan 29, 2016

In the end it is a good course. The videos might seem short, but are filled with tons of information. It has guest professors who were very interesting, and I hope they could have give their perspective on the subjects as well.

There is no reading material, which is kinda sad. And it's naturally a little partial in favor to jews, but that's only natural. Prof. Susser, though, seems a lot more objective.

I thank very much the professors for this course.

by Roman G

Mar 03, 2016

Firstly i think for a coursera course it is not Long enough at all. There are not enough assignments which motivate studying and fixing the newly learned things in the memory. There are neither required nor recommended readings at all. For me reading is a very good Addition to the Videos so that you can slowly think about the thoughts and arguments. Especially in a topic which is undoubtly very controversal in public as in academia like especially the history of Israel and Palestine from the 30s onwards it is important to give different narratives of history to the students. There are no narratives critical to british colonialism at all mentioned, instead of the White paper of 1939. After all the course represents a very one sided an biased narrative which is presented to a global audience of students. Even if a certain narrative is preferred by the teaching scholars, which is completely acceptable and natural, not just in the field of history, it nevertheless is important to cover different narratives fairly and as neutral as possible, which does not happen in this course. When mentioned other narratives are quickly downplayed or denied, and repeatedly dichotomies like the "inferior" arabs, the "ferocity" of the arab oposition and so on are mentioned or cited without beeing problematized at all. Nevertheless the Course was a reminder of many Things I learned before, and brings up some interesting historic connections and key points.

by Matthias G

Dec 23, 2015

The course was too short and did not provide any reading material.

It would be more helpful to have more and shorter quizzes.

by Aida S

Mar 07, 2018

The Israeli professor talks too fast, like a robot. Not engaging at all. Very poor communication skills. The English professor, although sober, does a much better job. I missed additional reading material being offer besides the Holocaust course offered by Tel Aviv University. In enjoyed the visiting professor Dr. Anita, but still everything is very stiff and devoid of passion. They could have put much more effort into producing a better product. There is no passion, just stating of the past facts. Sad.

by Divyansh A

Jun 05, 2016

Very bogus and boring content. The monotonous voice gets me!

by Deleted A

Jan 12, 2016

This was more objective than I thought. Nevertheless, the information about the Zionism, refute itself and make us criticize about the dangerous notion.

by Vignesh T

Oct 22, 2017

I have completed this course and have earned a certificate of achievement. Unlike Holocaust Part I, this course is really tedious. Perhaps, timeline and comparison charts and list of names of personalities could be provided.