Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による History of Rock, Part One の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,058件の評価
306件のレビュー

コースについて

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

人気のレビュー

SM

2016年10月1日

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL

2018年3月12日

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

フィルター:

History of Rock, Part One: 101 - 125 / 307 レビュー

by Gustavo N S

2019年7月30日

I really enjoyed with this course, It was very informative, interesting and a great source of information about rock and roll music.

by Anuj P N L

2019年4月4日

It was an awesome experience of Learning history of Rock. Thank You Prof. John Covach. I learnt a lot of stuff from your Videos.

by Carolina A V S

2018年8月18日

El mejor curso sobre la historia del rock. Excelente profesor, detalles e información, entretenido, buenos ejemplos musicales.

by Henry J A T

2016年1月12日

Great course! Great instructor!, thanks a lot to John Covach and to the University Of Rochester, for this pleasant experience!.

by Panagiotis K

2020年8月9日

Well-organised, not boring at all. Dr. Covach is great in transmitting his knowledge. I am looking forward to the second part!

by Nicholas S

2020年5月24日

This was a fantastic course! I can't wait for Part 2! If you are considering taking this course, I would highly recommend it.

by Ramiro M

2017年1月4日

Sheds a lot of light on this fascinating subject! Highly recommendable, amusing talks and nice quizzes. A defintely must-try.

by John C P

2020年6月7日

Me encantó, aprendí mucho de de un tema que siempre me interesó. Lo recomiendo para todos aquellos que le encanta la música.

by Ryan M

2017年1月11日

Not finished, but great the way he explains the origins of so much and ties things together. I've already learned so much.

by Bill G

2015年10月6日

Great course. Very informative and helps me put together all that was happening during my youth and teen age years. Bravo!

by Adrian H

2021年5月15日

I thought I knew quite a bit about Rock Music....how wrong was ?!!?....thoroughly informative and thoroughly enjoyable

by Garrett F

2020年6月7日

What a great course. John is so interesting and knowledgeable. I would love to take a course of his in person one day.

by Alexis M

2020年6月23日

Very informative and interesting. Professor is entertaining and incredibly knowledgable. Quizzes are very specific.

by Bida L W

2020年2月3日

A wonderful course and some ideas of John Covach was quite personal thoughts, I don’t agree with some answers

by jiong s

2018年4月7日

great course with all those details to help to understand more about the history of rock music. many thanks .

by Juan C V L

2016年4月2日

Great course. Greetings from Colombia. With this course I've found the best lessons about Rock Music. Thanks

by Jhose A G

2015年12月6日

Thanks for this interesting and enjoyable course. I´m looking forward to do the part two of History of Rock.

by John R

2015年11月2日

This course rocks! (no pun intended). Great professor, fun and relevant content, and excellent presentation.

by Esteban M

2020年10月14日

Excelent! John Covach is a wise, tranquil and amazing teacher. I will do the second part. Thank You, John!

by Jeff K

2020年5月6日

Such a good course! It only makes you wish there was time to go more in depth about every topic covered!

by Niki

2020年5月6日

Great Teacher :) Really enjoyed this course. It was well-rounded, clear and very interesting. Thank you !

by Franc M

2020年10月6日

I have enjoyed a lot this course and learned a lot of things. Hoping to start part 2 as soon as I can!

by Ricardo J P D L T

2021年5月16日

An excellent course where you can learn how rock starts and takes form!! I can't wait to take part 2!

by Mauricio A S P

2019年8月14日

Te entrega mucho conocimiento de la historia del rock y en realidad de la música en general, muy bueo