Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による History of Rock, Part One の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
724件の評価
190件のレビュー

コースについて

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

人気のレビュー

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

フィルター:

History of Rock, Part One: 76 - 100 / 188 レビュー

by Paul S

Nov 07, 2017

Great Lesson

by Ishen P

Aug 14, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed the course, and found some new music along the way

by Anna B

Sep 11, 2016

Loved this course so much! Thanks to John for informative and interesting lectures. Higly recommend it to all who love rock and would like to have a structured knowledge about its history.

by Doris G U

Oct 13, 2015

Hello. I really want to thank you to University of Rochester for this marvelous opportunity to learn without spending. I love music and rock over all that's why I decided to do this course first but I will keep on doing courses with you until I die.

I also want to thank Professor Covach. He's very clear and accurate on teaching and his comments are very objective. Thanks so much for making me feel very glad. I've been enjoying this time so much for giving me a very clear idea about rock. Please keep on. I deeply thank you. My best regards.

by Jorge C

May 28, 2017

Awesome lecturer, very knowledgeable! Bargain-priced experience to receive such massive, interesting information concisely and well threaded! I am not done since the allowance to pace myself truly has allowed me to even do this with my busy career. Ongoing thanks! Jorge

by shai f

Apr 02, 2016

First of all the course was fantastic!

It helped learn to appreciate a lot of different styles of music I wasn't even aware of.

It exposed me to copious amounts of great music I was missing and taught me so much about the music and the development of rock and music in general. The professor was awesome, and I loved to see how enthusiastic he was to teach the subject matter, which kinda made the whole learning experience so awesome.

I am starting now the next course and I just can't wait to begin.

Thanks again for all the greatness,

In regards,

Shai

by 장정원

Aug 15, 2017

very very good

by 叶汉荣

Oct 16, 2017

informative

by Jhose A G

Dec 06, 2015

Thanks for this interesting and enjoyable course. I´m looking forward to do the part two of History of Rock.

by Henry J A T

Jan 12, 2016

Great course! Great instructor!, thanks a lot to John Covach and to the University Of Rochester, for this pleasant experience!.

by Ryan M

Jan 11, 2017

Not finished, but great the way he explains the origins of so much and ties things together. I've already learned so much.

by Maria I

Aug 14, 2015

It's a great course, very interesting. I've learned a great deal about the history of rock music and it gave me a new understanding of some of its aspects.Thank you very much.

by Huang K

Jan 15, 2016

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his

by AnaCrash

Oct 23, 2015

LOVE the course! The teacher is so great! Just makes it interesting to listen and follow the course...the way he teaches is not boring at all! Cant wait to continue the course and go further to part 2! So happy I found this! Life makes sense again :))

by Miguel A T O ( G D

Aug 11, 2017

It was great, looking forward part 2!!!

by Oleg R

Aug 21, 2016

Замечательный и очень интересный курс

by Ferdinand P

Jan 26, 2018

A truly amazing class. I had a great time and learned a lot. I'm looking forward to Part 2!

by Josefin

Oct 31, 2015

This course is the best! Very interesting and informative. Fun to. Check it out.

by Zillah K

Aug 29, 2015

Fascinating account of popular music, mostly American, from 1955 to 1970. I love it.

by Carrie F

Jun 26, 2017

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

by Loren E K

Dec 21, 2017

This was a fantastic course that goes in to great detail about the history of popular music in North America, and later England. Also, it was easy to see the professor's love of music in general by his expressions and the way he talked. A+ class.

by Wonje S

Sep 24, 2016

It was a great course I have ever taken.

by Catalina V

Jul 13, 2016

Very good, well informed and fun course to do!

by Carlen H

Oct 23, 2017

Great course, learned tons and look forward to Part 2!

by Mandy C

Jun 25, 2017

Great and interesting course!