Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による History of Rock, Part One の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
853件の評価
234件のレビュー

コースについて

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

人気のレビュー

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

フィルター:

History of Rock, Part One: 76 - 100 / 235 レビュー

by Gustavo N S

Jul 30, 2019

I really enjoyed with this course, It was very informative, interesting and a great source of information about rock and roll music.

by Anuj P N L

Apr 04, 2019

It was an awesome experience of Learning history of Rock. Thank You Prof. John Covach. I learnt a lot of stuff from your Videos.

by Carolina A V S

Aug 18, 2018

El mejor curso sobre la historia del rock. Excelente profesor, detalles e información, entretenido, buenos ejemplos musicales.

by Henry J A T

Jan 12, 2016

Great course! Great instructor!, thanks a lot to John Covach and to the University Of Rochester, for this pleasant experience!.

by Nicholas S

May 24, 2020

This was a fantastic course! I can't wait for Part 2! If you are considering taking this course, I would highly recommend it.

by Ramiro M F

Jan 04, 2017

Sheds a lot of light on this fascinating subject! Highly recommendable, amusing talks and nice quizzes. A defintely must-try.

by John C P

Jun 07, 2020

Me encantó, aprendí mucho de de un tema que siempre me interesó. Lo recomiendo para todos aquellos que le encanta la música.

by Ryan M

Jan 11, 2017

Not finished, but great the way he explains the origins of so much and ties things together. I've already learned so much.

by Bill G

Oct 06, 2015

Great course. Very informative and helps me put together all that was happening during my youth and teen age years. Bravo!

by Garrett F

Jun 07, 2020

What a great course. John is so interesting and knowledgeable. I would love to take a course of his in person one day.

by Alexis M

Jun 23, 2020

Very informative and interesting. Professor is entertaining and incredibly knowledgable. Quizzes are very specific.

by Bida L W

Feb 04, 2020

A wonderful course and some ideas of John Covach was quite personal thoughts, I don’t agree with some answers

by jiong s

Apr 08, 2018

great course with all those details to help to understand more about the history of rock music. many thanks .

by Juan C V L

Apr 03, 2016

Great course. Greetings from Colombia. With this course I've found the best lessons about Rock Music. Thanks

by Jhose A G

Dec 06, 2015

Thanks for this interesting and enjoyable course. I´m looking forward to do the part two of History of Rock.

by John R

Nov 02, 2015

This course rocks! (no pun intended). Great professor, fun and relevant content, and excellent presentation.

by Jeff K

May 07, 2020

Such a good course! It only makes you wish there was time to go more in depth about every topic covered!

by Mauricio A S P

Aug 15, 2019

Te entrega mucho conocimiento de la historia del rock y en realidad de la música en general, muy bueo

by Carrie F

Jun 26, 2017

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

by Cathy G

Jan 24, 2017

Extremely knowledgeable teacher!! You will learn amazing facts and details of the rise of rock music.

by Andrew G

Jun 30, 2016

Very, very well done course -- great information, well presented and well paced. Highly recommended!

by Michael V

Nov 09, 2015

Terrific course. John Covach knows the material and presents it well. Enjoyed the course immensely.

by Geert P

Oct 08, 2016

Great course, with great stories. A Professor you can listen to for hours. Absolutely top notch!

by Huang K

Jan 15, 2016

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his