Chevron Left
History of Rock, Part One に戻る

ロチェスター大学(University of Rochester) による History of Rock, Part One の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
723件の評価
190件のレビュー

コースについて

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

人気のレビュー

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

フィルター:

History of Rock, Part One: 151 - 175 / 188 レビュー

by Akshay M

Mar 29, 2019

awasome

by Cameron F

May 17, 2019

Fantastic Course. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the lectures and both discovered a lot of new music and learned why certain albums and artists where so influential. The teacher is really engaging and has great recommendations and stories.

by Adithya P

Jul 25, 2019

This is a very informative and well outlined course highlighting the US music industry's history from the 1900s to end of 1960s. I also really liked the way in which John Covach narrated the whole course - you can really glimpse the fondness which he has for the music of the 60s! Thanks a lot to Coursera and John Covach for such a brilliant course.

by Gustavo N S

Jul 30, 2019

I really enjoyed with this course, It was very informative, interesting and a great source of information about rock and roll music.

by kate m

Jul 29, 2019

My first Coursera class and it was so good! The class was interesting and enjoyable. The information was presented in a logical progression that made it easy to understand. The instructor is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the material. making the lectures even better.

by Mauricio A S P

Aug 15, 2019

Te entrega mucho conocimiento de la historia del rock y en realidad de la música en general, muy bueo

by Kevin S

Sep 09, 2019

I am of a certain age in which I know and remember much of the material covered in the course. However, Professor Covach does a superb job of weaving the disparate threads of mainstream pop, R & B, and country and western together to form rock. He does a great job of covering the various threads of rock as it begins to split into the various sub-genres that will be covered in part two of the course. Great job.

by Cliff B

Sep 06, 2019

Awesome course!! Who knew that you could study Rock & Roll history like this.

by Marcelo F

Jan 26, 2019

Until what I have seen today it is a great course. However it is in many ways "too american". It should be rebranded History of American Rock. Despite that, it is very informative and have quite a good insights of what has been happening in America at the time and how Americans perceived themselves their culture and the British Invasion. Congrats. To this extend I am loving it!.

by HIMANSHU R

Mar 11, 2019

overall fab....

by Jade T

Sep 08, 2018

Engaging and an overall very informative course.

by Jan-Willem J

Aug 27, 2015

This is a great course that is very informative. It brought many performers to my attention that I had not heard of before or that I had not appreciated before and has enriched my appreciation of music. The course focuses mainly on the history and development of rock music, rather than the technical side of the music itself. It is a pity that the course itself only discusses the music, but does not feature the music itself. I suggest that you keep a streaming service, such as Spotify or Deezer, open in a separate window on your browser, so you can pause the lectures and listen to the music as you go along.

by Albert M V

Apr 21, 2017

It was a great course. I love the professor's explanations and it was quite well organized. It would be good to have a document with all the links to songs and albums on Youtube or whatever, so you don't have to manually search for each track.

by Garry K

Jul 14, 2017

A lot of great info and it was easy to understand.

by Adam L

Nov 14, 2016

Good overview of the birth of Rock

by Angelina W

Feb 04, 2016

Excellent general course about the history of Rock in the Western World. Lots of names of musicians, companies, and music make the course seem to revolve around memorization. Even so, the professor does describe the historical element in logical chains of events and biographies.

The quizzes could have been offered every week. There's no need to clump the quiz material.

by Aygul O

May 15, 2017

A compact course pulling together a vast amount of information. The quizzes could be designed to provide better help in storing the newly acquired knowledge in long term memory. Currently they seem to be designed to support the memorization of inessential knowledge.

by Mark L

Oct 07, 2015

Good course, but I was disappointed that clips of some of the music weren't played.

by Rodolfo F L

Oct 06, 2016

Could be improved using musical videos or complementary material. Is a little be boring just listening to lectures. :(

by Hugh M

Apr 22, 2016

It's a great course and so is the book that accompanies it. However the Course and Book titles are not entirely accurate. It should be called 'An American History of Rock'. There is relatively little discussion outside of America and this is only to serve the discussion of American rock.

The book in particular would benefit from a section at the end of each chapter or sidebars 'Meanwhile on the other side of the Atlantic'. As music becomes more fragmented in the 70s I imagine this criticism will become more important.

Another thought would be if the Course put a play list together in 'Deezer' and 'Spotify'. That would definitely 5-star the course

Still it's a great course and I really enjoyed it.

by Juanjo R C

May 21, 2018

lástima que no esté en castellano 100%. Me ha parecido muy útil. Muchas gracias

by Thomas T

Oct 18, 2016

Very good

by Yana N

Mar 24, 2016

Thank you for the course. It's really interesting! I enjoy it so much, especially the quizzes :)

by Raymond D

Oct 10, 2017

Great course! Well presented. Very informative.

by Mark S

Jan 16, 2017

Well done. Lot of material covered. I enjoyed it.