Chevron Left
The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
stars
673件の評価
162件のレビュー

コースについて

The Holocaust was an inconceivable historical event, which forever robbed Western culture of its innocence. As civilized human beings, we fail to understand how events of such horror could have taken place, and how an idea so inhumanly warped could have spread like wildfire through an entire continent, instigating the systematic annihilation of millions of Jews. This free online course was produced jointly by Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem – the World Holocaust Remembrance Center. The course tracks the history of the Holocaust and has two parts. "The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World" is the first of the two courses and covers the following themes in its three weeks: Week 1: From Hatred to Core Ideology We will try to delve into Nazi ideology and the special place of Jews and Judaism in it. We will also discuss how the National Socialist Party converted the German Democracy of the Weimar Republic into a totalitarian regime within a short period of time, and its meaning for Jews and non-Jewish citizens. Week 2: The World and the Jews in World War II We will try to examine the broader contexts of the Holocaust and to place it, as part of World War 2. In this meeting we will also refer to the vital Jewish world to be found under various Nazi occupations and influences. Week 3: The Isolation Abyss - the Perspective of the Individual We will try to reveal different aspects of Jewish life in the face of the badge of shame, ghettos and segregation, as well as the formation of individual, societies’ and leader’s reactions in the face of a consistent policy of dispossession and discrimination. Once you’ve completed this course, you can continue your learning with The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution (https://www.coursera.org/learn/holocaust-introduction-2/home/welcome) This online course is offered in an innovative, multi-level format, comprising: * Comprehensive lectures by leading researchers from Tel Aviv University and Yad Vashem. * A wealth of voices and viewpoints presented by guest lecturers. * Numerous documents, photos, testimonies and works of art from the time of the Holocaust. * Novel learning experience: Crowd sourcing – involving the learners themselves in the act of collecting and shaping information, via unique, exciting online assignments. REQUIREMENTS: This course is designed for anyone with an interest in the Holocaust, including students, teachers, academics and policy-makers....

人気のレビュー

D

Mar 28, 2016

A fascinating personal account of the atrocity while the world watched! This class is for everyone there is so much more to learn, thank you for everything you went out of you way to help, God Bless

DA

Jul 22, 2019

It is an eye-opening and humbling course. I appreciate how the content was presented through an engaging narrative. It led me to think more deeply about the Holocaust and humanity, for that matter.

フィルター:

The Holocaust - An Introduction (I): Nazi Germany: Ideology, The Jews and the World: 1 - 25 / 160 レビュー

by Guilherme B

Feb 16, 2016

Ótimo curso introdutório!

by Antonia T B

May 02, 2018

An excellent course. Very hard and really heart-breaking, like everything related to the Holocaust, but crucial. I read a lot about the Holocaust and I learnt a lot of new things in this course. This course should be compulsory in High School (racism and antisemitism are rampant today). All sufferings are terrible, but never was in the History of Mankind a killing machine so well planned and so supported by the common population that brought millions of men, women, and children to die in gas chambers like in the Holocaust. The Holocaust is an event that has no precedent in History. The genocide was not carried our for reason of territory or even religion. But because of the most irrational antisemitism (that combined Christian antisemitism, racial antisemitism, "conspiracy-paranoia" antisemitism, and redemptive antisemitism). Yehuda Bauer writes: "The Holocaust … is a unique genocide, with unprecedented –and, so far, unrepeated– characteristics (…) The Holocaust has … become the symbol for genocide, racism, for hatred of foreigners, and, of course, for antisemitism”, pp. x–xi / “I think that the planned total murder of a people was an unprecedented catastrophe in human civilization. It happened because it could happen; if it could not have happened, it would not have done so. And because it happened once, it can happen again”, p. 2 (Rethinking the Holocaust). WE REMEMBER.

by Akshaya S

May 07, 2018

Should have talked about how German and other European industries used forced labour for their benefit. Siemens is still involved in lawsuits about this and is on the news now.

Please also talk about IBM's involvement in helping Nazi's with punch cards to help organise the millions of jews and other races they murdered

Art theft is something thats really interesting that was not touched upon. THe german govt is now providing subsidies to art owners who wish to examine the provenance of the art they own so that it can be returned to the heirs of the rightful owners

Involvement of Swiss (while being neutral) in banking and financial support to Nazis and exploitation of Jews is something that missing here. Numbered accounts were created to help jews send their money abroad without being detected, but their heirs could never get the money back

by IndraniSharma

Jun 22, 2019

I have since a long time now been keen on studying about the Holocaust and the Nazi Ideology that led to it. Up until now i had been self educating myself by reading various books, publications, watching videos etc. However the system did not look very cohesively. The information i was getting was in a disorganised fashion. Then i came across this course and knew i had to take it. And for the first time since i have strived to know more about this subject was i able to get information in a well-integrated and structured format. The course starts exactly from a point and time in history which is relevant to studying the holocaust. The course was immensely eye opening and the content truly compelling. I can't wait to start the 2nd part of the course.

by Phillip H

Mar 16, 2019

This is an excellent class. Professor Dreifuss' lectures were well organized and presented. Being able to hear the lecture and then read the transcript is an excellent learning approach, especially for a poor note taker like me. The topic sequence was logical and led me from the rise of Hitler to the preparation for his final solution. I have read a small number of books on the Holocaust but I found much information that I didn't know I didn't know. I am enrolled in Part II and looking forward to the class. I must also mention the mentor Lilian Zihni. Her critiques of our writing assignments were in many cases detailed additional relevant information.

Most Sincerely, Phil Hawkes Ph.D

by Ute S

Jan 17, 2018

This course exceeded all my expectations. I was most impressed by the relevant historical analyses and contexts provided as well as the depth and breadth of sources considered. It was illuminating to learn more about how Jews in the other, Nazi-occupied countries were treated and why this differed. I have a much better understanding now, of what happened. I am very thankful for the disciplined methodology of analysis and understanding that the historians from the University of Tel Aviv demonstrated in this course. I am greatly looking forward to part 2! And now, maybe, I'll have the courage to finally visit the Holocaust Memorial Center here in Cape Town...

by Ray M

Dec 06, 2016

This course, The Holocaust - An Introduction (l).... was an in depth study of the situation the Jews were facing in most of Europe after the Nazis came into power. The instructors were knowledgeable and came across as having personal feelings about the plight of the Jews during that time. I am very impressed with them and their ability to pass on the information that they did in such a way that it was very understandable while demonstrating their indepth knowledge of the material. Thank you. I come away from the course with a deeper understanding of the problems and horrible life style the Jews had to face.

by Kevin H

Oct 17, 2017

Not having studied much about the Holocaust, but knowing about it, I had questions I've wondered about. This course answers many of those questions, corrects misinformation I've heard or read over the last few decades, and then adds additional questions to my unanswered questions just in time, i.e., at the starting of "The Holocaust - An Introduction (II): The Final Solution." Certainly, after knowing many, many, people in many countries across the world have devoted their life to studying the Holocaust, no one realistically expects quality, nor a simplistic "answer" to the Holocaust in a three week course?

by Maria W

Aug 15, 2019

This was a very educational course with incredible amounts of photos and videos that truly brought the facts to life in regard to those horrible years of the Holocaust. Going into this course, one of my questions was: Why? Why did this happen? How could people sink to such a level of deprivation and evil mindset to destroy so many lives? These questions were answered very thoroughly in this course.

I would recommend this course for anyone who wants an overview of what took place around the world before and during the Holocaust. This class is a great pairing with The History of Israel.

by T.Jagalal R S

Dec 21, 2016

The course was presented without. any prejudice.

The wrong doers were not blamed but the humanity as a whole is responsible for the holocaust. The course has very sublimely indicated that the humanity must protect itself from such a holocaust n the future.. One should be cautitous that our fellow human being is not treated inhumanly. the fellowhumanbeing may be yourself!

I am very grateful to educate me to be a good human being to one and all. Dont be discriminative. Respect one's own religion, culture, language, customs and belief. T.Jagalal Ram Sait

by María J U

Jun 29, 2018

This is an excellent course, which provides the students with interesting and profound analysis of Jewish life before, during and after the Holocaust. What I liked the most, is that each part of the course is viewed in a unique perspective, so it provides a wide range of possibilities of how to approach the different aspects of this terrible time in human history. The discussion prompts encourage the exchange of ideas and are guided by excellent mentors with deep knowledge of the Jewish life, Nazi Germany and the Holocaust.

by Jean-Christophe H

Oct 04, 2018

Une excellente première introduction à la Shoah. C'est une occasion de reprendre ce que l'on croyait savoir sur le sujet, connaissances souvent passablement partielles en raison de la masse de ce que l'on est supposé étudier en première/terminale. Les vidéos sont courtes, chaque sujet abordé en profondeur, des compléments sont fournis. Les mentors sont très réactifs ce qui se comprend étant donné le sujet et les individus qui pourraient profiter de failles pour se lancer dans une surenchère dans l'abject. Là, rien de tel.

by Miryana V

Apr 27, 2018

This course should be taken by anyone who's interesting in learning about history and cultural beliefs as well as the Holocaust. This is a captivating subject and there's so much to learn about it that one course most definitely wont cover all aspects, but this gives you a lot of insight about how it all started and why it might have taken so long to be stopped. Hopefully, this helps us realize that things like this cannot ever happen again, we need to learn from out past.

by Avel D

Mar 01, 2016

Thanks. This is a heartwarming course, with detailed history of the tragic events of The Holocaust. If you're interested about the Holocaust this is course is a essential course to take. We often and briefly touch upon the horror of the holocaust and the anti-Semitism of our world history. To touch upon the history is not enough the we need to see human experience and suffering at experiential level, and as I see it this course does this. Thanks, for your eloquent research.

by Elizabeth N C

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent and in depth introduction to the Holocaust, explaining much of the background, history, and events of the first part of WWII for European Jews and the years just prior to it. If you have ever asked yourself "How could this horrific event have happened? What were people doing that it wasn't stopped?" then this course is for you. This is a course I think everyone should take so that we truly learn from history.

by LeRoy G

Jun 05, 2019

This is a great course to take to get a small look into the bigger picture of the Holocaust. I like very much what I study here and ready to learn more along with American History. Anyone that is looking to study what had happened in WW2 between 1938 to 1945 this is a start. Videos like this one also help to better understand the question of WHY it started https://youtu.be/zUW9RsZwgAE

Thank You very much

LaRoy Graham

by Susan F

Aug 13, 2019

I give this course the highest rating because it was presented in an easy to understand format, included great resources and offered new ways of researching certain materials that can be used to identify with the victims of the Holocaust directly such as their art and their diaries. Photos are also a very important aspect of the truth of what actually went on during the Holocaust, not just public official views.

by Manu S

May 28, 2019

A very good course to understand Nazi Germany, Jews lives under Hitler rule and the outlook of the Europian world towards the Jews. I absolutely loved the professor's teaching style, the course content was good and concise and very informative. Reading session further helped me in understanding the whole scenario better, quizzes between the lessons helped me in retaining most of the lesson.

by Rocío M E L

Feb 11, 2016

Muchas gracias por darme la oportunidad de tan fabuloso curso. En verdad aprendí nuevas cosas. Espero que pronto puedan abrir el curso con subtitulos en español. Será muy reconfortante para los hispanoparlantes que no dominamos muy bien el inglés. Felicidades!!!! Ah, y abran más cursos sobre la cultura judía, en verdad es muy interesante. Quizá podría haber un curso para aprender algo de

by Vanessa C

Feb 13, 2017

The course lets you access a wide range of resources that help you build a deeper understanding of the mass murder of European Jews. The questions in between videos (lessons) are helpful in processing and synthesizing socio-political events and ideologies that led to the holocaust. Two weeks into the lesson and I have never been bored - it is interesting and engaging.

by Deleted A

Mar 22, 2018

A very informative course, presented in such a manner that all and everybody will understand the horrors of WW2, and in particular the savage treatment, inflicted by the Nazi's and others, suffered by the Jewish population of Europe. Whilst I was born a Christian I due not practice any form of religion, but I respect all other peoples faith. ~ Steve Winter

by Gloriana B G

Apr 04, 2018

This was my first course in Coursera. I took it as a recreation course and it definetely caught me. The proffessor´s explanation is great and the material included is very interesting. The secuence of the course leads you to understand the topic without knowing more than general culture about the holocaust. I definetely recommend it.

by Manfred S

Mar 25, 2016

It is not easy to prepare and present this part of German History without any emotive stance and without condemnation. But you did it brilliant and it was well prepared. I learned a lot and what is most important for me new perspectives with unknown or partial unknown materials. Thank you very much for being a part of this course.

by David H

Aug 26, 2017

This course is a must for the beginner as well as seasoned learners. Having a good understanding and knowledge of the WWII and separately concerning the Holocaust it's a well presented representation of understanding what was happening and why. So many questions can be answered. Well done and look forward to Part Two.

by ROBIN H

Jun 24, 2017

thank you for taking the time to teach me all of the factual events leading up to the worst crime ever in the history of bullys and war lords predjuice and mean single minded people should be so lucky to enjoy the same level of treatment afforded to the Jewish comunnities .for many lifetimes to come.