Chevron Left
Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Connection - It's Not About the Terrorists に戻る

University of Colorado System による Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Connection - It's Not About the Terrorists の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
324件の評価
92件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to Course 1 in CS4950, Homeland Security and Cybersecruity. In this course we examine the origins of homeland security and its connection with cybersecurity. Homeland security is about safeguarding the United States from domestic catastrophic destruction. Catastrophic destruction comes in two forms: natural and man-made. For most of history the man-made variety came in the form of warfare and required the combined resources of a nation state. All that changed March 20th, 1995. On that date, members of a quasi-religious cult in Japan attacked the Tokyo subway system using Sarin gas. It was the first deployment of a weapon of mass destruction my a non-state actor. The power of destruction once reserved to nation states was now available to small groups, even individuals. The incident was a wake up call for governments around the world. Defense establishments designed to keep rogue states in check were practically useless against non-state actors. Overnight, the number of potential enemies multiplied a hundred, maybe even a thousand-fold. In response to the Tokyo Subway Attacks, the United States took measures to protect itself from WMD attack by non-state actors. Those measures were still being enacted when the nation was attacked on 9/11. On September 11, 2001, nineteen hijackers inflicted as much damage as the Imperial Japanese Navy on December 7, 1941. The investigating 9/11 Commission noted the attacks for their "surpassing disproportion". The hijackers had achieved WMD effects without using WMD. They did this by subverting the nation's transportation infrastructure, turning passenger jets into guided missiles. Again, the security implications were profound. Non-state actors seeking to inflict domestic catastrophic destruction did not need to import, fabricate, or acquire WMD as the nation was surrounded by the means of its own destruction in the form of critical infrastructure. The vulnerability of critical infrastructure had not gone unnoticed. Again, in response to the Tokyo Subway attacks, which themselves had been an attack on Japanese infrastructure, President Clinton in 1996 commissioned a panel to investigate the threat to United States' infrastructure. The panel replied in 1997 that there was no immediate threat to US infrastructure, but they were concerned with the growing risk of cyber attack. The same cyber physical systems that fueled the explosive growth of the Internet were being incorporated into Industrial Control Systems that underpinned much of the nation's critical infrastructure. The panel noted that the knowledge and skills necessary to mount a cyber attack on the nation's infrastructure was growing. As a result of this observation, President Clinton in 1998 ordered the protection of US critical infrastructure, especially from cyber attack. Following 9/11, critical infrastructure protection and cybersecurity were designated core missions in the 2002 Homeland Security Act establishing the new Department of Homeland Security. They remain core missions to this day, but many don't see the connection. The connection is this: cybersecurity is essential to critical infrastructure protection, which is essential to homeland security, which is about safeguarding the United States from domestic catastrophic destruction. I look forward to working with you in the coming lessons. Best wishes and good luck! Course 1: Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Connection Course 2: Cybersecurity Policy for Water and Electricity Infrastructures Course 3: Cybersecurity Policy for Aviation and Internet Infrastructures Course 4: Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Future...

人気のレビュー

AB
2017年10月16日

Thank You Mr. Richard White for making a hard course seems easy and enlighten us specially about the "it's all about the terrorist" notion people have when it comes to Homeland Security.

AG
2019年1月19日

You changed up the last question. You originally identified 16 critical infrastructures. Could you please email me the first question and solution? Thank you! I loved the course!

フィルター:

Homeland Security & Cybersecurity Connection - It's Not About the Terrorists: 1 - 25 / 91 レビュー

by Nicholas H

2017年7月27日

I loved the course. I learned so much about the policy documents that are in place and the continuous change in the Sector. This course definitely is great for anyone trying to get into Cyber Security to become familiarized with the material. I recommend Taking all the Practice Quizzes as well as doing the Questions on the Handouts. You still may get a little confused because there are A LOT of acronyms.

by Ritesh R

2018年7月24日

The course concepts have been explained with proper historical context building up to the current scenario. I look forward to more in-depth learning now that the foundation has been laid down well. Richard White does a good job presenting the content clearly and interestingly!

by Dylan V

2018年7月10日

Well organized and very insightful. The first weeks lectures about the main homeland security concern really draws you in. The list of main points at the end of each lecture also helps the student capture the essence of each lecture and prioritize important points.

by Michael L

2017年8月23日

This was a solid, well-composed introduction to homeland security and cybersecurity. The course presented just enough information to encourage continued learning (such as through the next three courses in the 4-course group) without being too esoteric too early.

by Karol H

2021年4月23日

Sin duda uno de los mejores cursos que he podido realizar, la información es de calidad, las opciones e interacción sin duda cumplen todos los objetivos y lo más importante que aprendes mucho.

Enhorabuena a Coursera por permitirme realizar este curso.

by Arnon

2019年8月21日

A very interesting course. I have one problem. although the course is from an American University and about the U.S. students from other nations, does not need all the information of specific act or departments and their role in homeland security.

by ROBERT R R

2017年9月30日

HOMELAND SECURITY WAS LEARNED AND FROM THE UNITED STATES I LEARNED THAT ZIMBABWEAN CRITICAL INFRASTUCTURE HAS TO KEPT SECURE[INFRASTRUCTURE SUCH AS ROADS,AIRPORTS,BUILDINGS.INCLUDING WATER.THE INTERNET AND ELECTRICITY NEED TIGHT SECURITY.

by Jose A R

2020年8月26日

Extremelly organized and informational. It's so enlightening and helpful to receive this information form a source as important as Richard White. Thanks to Coursera we have world class teachers available!

by Aida B

2017年10月17日

Thank You Mr. Richard White for making a hard course seems easy and enlighten us specially about the "it's all about the terrorist" notion people have when it comes to Homeland Security.

by Bruce B

2021年6月13日

This is Great Course! I learned a lot about the history of Homeland Security and how DHS is working 24/7 to protect our Critical Infrastructure from cyber attacks.

by Deepal k

2020年3月2日

Thsi course is very detailed and easy to understand. The professor for the course had a proper command over the language and the delivery timing is perfect.

by KALINDA B

2019年11月20日

This course really makes you think about what you really need to know to start learning about homeland security and how cybersecurity is interrelated to it.

by Ross B

2018年10月9日

This was a great course. I learned a ton and now have access to some great materials I didn't previously know about ahead of a job I am taking with DHS.

by Florian F

2018年3月17日

This course provides a well structured overview of Homeland Security, Critical Infrastructure and how Cyber Security ties into these topics.

by Alejandro M R

2017年8月9日

Es un excelente curso que me apoya bastante para mi trabajo diario y para la planeación estratégica de la Dependencia para la cual trabajo

by Kevin R C

2019年6月29日

As a law enforcement officer this course truly broadens my horizon and skillset and I recommend it to anyone who serves on the border.

by Jacob G K

2020年4月1日

Study materials are very focused an in line with the objectives. Course instructor is very enthusiastic with lots of energy.

by Jorge C

2017年12月9日

presenta en un lenguaje sencillo, los principios y conceptos necesarios para entender nuestro rol en la seguridad nacional

by Mary M

2020年12月13日

It was very helpful when Professor White goes back through all the main points of lecture after the end of each lesson.

by Derrick G

2021年2月11日

I possess a degree in counter terrorism and this course had a lot of good review. I learned a few new things as well.

by Alan M D

2021年3月18日

Loved this course, it was very enlightening for me, and used some really great examples from the intelligence world.

by Stephen H

2018年9月21日

Dept of Homeland Security. What it does, why it does it the past and the future.

Great overview of DHS mission.

by Bill A

2020年3月25日

Information provided is very informative and the Instructor, Dr. White is very knowledgeable and friendly.

by Ana R P

2018年9月15日

Is very interesting, and very informative. Thank you so much to my instructors for instructing Ana Pelayo.

by Elom

2019年5月1日

Excellent course! I learned a great deal about the background for the modern need for cyber security.