Chevron Left
How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,333件の評価
400件のレビュー

コースについて

An introduction to physics in the context of everyday objects....

人気のレビュー

MS

May 07, 2020

Mind blowing.. excellent study by Prof. Bloomfield. Hatsoff to you sir. Very excellent representation of physics concepts by taking interesting examples. Good Pesonalited Professor i have ever seen .

AV

May 10, 2020

It is a fabulous course.During the Entire Course I feel A Great Enthusiasm in my own.I loved this course..Thanks to profesor Louis A. Bloomfield & University of Virginia For there great contribution.

フィルター:

How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics: 1 - 25 / 404 レビュー

by Will Y

Jun 22, 2017

Great introduction to Physics. I use the concepts taught in this course frequently in everyday life. Professor Bloomfield explains concepts very clearly without getting overly mathematical.

by Kris c

Jun 19, 2017

I am a homeschool mom to an 11 yr old boy. He took this course and really enjoyed it. The demonstrations of physics at work made the information very intersting and accessible to him.

by RAVINDRA D S

Aug 31, 2015

Thank you very much Mr. Bloomfield ... !!!

Great presentation, excellent demonstrations, indoor and outdoors and very assuring oratory skills. Appreciate all your efforts and looking forward to yet another opportunity to meet you virtually.

One small area of disagreement though ... I refer to your video "Week 3, Falling Balls I" (time frame 5:12) (How Things Work) topic on "Weight and Mass" of an object where you point out two items from the grocery store, namely the Chocolate Bar and the bag of Cookies.

Following information from US FDA regarding Food Labeling Guide, Net quantity of Contents Statement.

>>>>>>>

3. Should the net quantity of contents be stated in both grams and ounces?

Answer: Food labels printed must show the net contents in both metric (grams, kilograms, milliliters, liters) and U.S. Customary System (ounces, pounds, fluid ounces) terms. The metric statement may be placed either before or after the U.S. Customary statement, or above or below it. Each of the following examples is correct (additional examples appear in the regulations):

Net wt 1 lb 8 oz (680g)

Net wt 1 lb 8 oz 680 g

500 ml (1 pt 0.9 fl oz)

Net contents 1 gal (3.79 L)

<<<<<<<<<<

For additional info, please refer to the following link for detailed info on what US FDA agrees to : http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/LabelingNutrition/ucm064877.htm#included

View above, I presume that the value of the grocery contents shown in Metric system is its Net Weight (not mass) and makes it easier to understand for people from countries that follow Metric system.

Let me know if I am wrong.

Warm Regards,

Ravi Sudame.

by Peggy R

Jan 07, 2016

This course is brilliant, because it has the potential to reach the masses of individuals that would otherwise be left out of the world of physics. I'm talking about students that think they are too busy, too slow, too old, not smart enough, etc. This is an 'at your own pace' class, which I really appreciated for learning concepts in physics. The way this course accomplishes this amazing feat is by presenting everyday physical actions like dropped balls out of three story windows, or manned wheeled carts gliding across the floor, or bumper car physics explained with air hockey games, and then explaining the laws of physics that are behind the 'actions'. Knowing the physics behind what we see everyday is so enriching, and my eyes are much wider now. This course, taught by Dr. Louis Bloomfield, is also amusing and entertaining, as Dr. Bloomfield races up and down the steps of the empty University of Virginia Physics building for the dropped ball gravity experiments, or crashes himself (standing on a wheeled cart) into the wall to illustrate energy and momentum transfer. (he has really good balance and stamina!) I really hope there is a 'How MORE Things Work' soon! My appetite is whetted.

by Yu L

Mar 29, 2018

Love the course. Energetic and brilliant instructor! Easy to understand, even for me, someone who learned Eng as the third language, someone who currently has a 15mo, and someone who had never paid attention in Physics classes growing up. (Hmm, musician, just typical!) I, however, do have two suggestions, if I may:

I would suggest to unlock the quiz. I know that it's a paid content. But, isn't Coursera a place that encourages learning instead of learning for a certificate? Those who want the certificate could pay for it after they are done with the class.

Forgive me if someone else has already mentioned this: In the early class, there was a video showing Lou running up stairs and stops. I think it would be fair, if we also considered the very beginning moment(still) to start running. (I think the options started from "already" moving instead of from no movement to movement)

I certainly hope to take more classes by Louis from now on. (Yes, feel free to quote me in the petition!)

by Pierangela M

Feb 04, 2019

I enrolled me in these course after having bought the book "How thing work". I found this course great, because all the example made during the course make the concepts easy to be understood, and my insight about mechanics has enhanced a lot. It has been not only interesting but even funny to watch the videos. I have a degree in Physics and I teach Physics in a high school in Italy. After having followed these course I will use in the classroom many of the suggestion, the course gave me, to make the concepts more affordable for young people that have many difficulties with physics and math.

How thing work make Physics simple and interesting for everybody! I hope that these course will have other section about thermodynamics, electromagnetism and so on, because for me is a source of inspiration for my job and a wonderful method to revise all the topics, discovering always new insight. Dear Louis thank a lot for your work!!

by Chaitali S

Apr 30, 2020

This is among the most fun courses that I have come across, that is not only entertaining, but also highly informative. The professor's enthusiasm is infectious and it makes the subject all the more exciting. This perspective into the study of physics is highly needed in fundamental courses taught at college and university level. I must say that I have become a fan of Prof. Bloomsfield and would definitely enroll in any further courses provided by him. The video editing is amazing as it helps in envisioning concepts involved in the working of things. I am glad I took this course as it improved my understanding of the fundamental laws of the world.

by Jan R S

Dec 09, 2015

I wouldnt want it any other way. Im in week 2 so far, and while I have some questions wrong occaisonally, thats mostly because I get confused with the words since im not a native english speaker (and a guy that thinks in weird, complicated ways) .

The Professor takes his time, gives many, thought out and easygoing examples and seems to really enjoy what hes doing. He wants you to learn, he wants you to know, he even wants you to have fun and hes does everything in his power to make you really get a feel for physics and its basic concepts.

This is learning of the future right here, online, for everyone.

Thank you so much for putting this up!

by Sylvia Q

Sep 07, 2019

Really enjoyed this course! I'm in my 50s and just started exploring courses in my spare time for fun. Physics in my high school was poorly taught, so when I saw this course's reviews, including several thumbs up from other grateful physics teachers, I gave it a go - and promptly got hooked. Bloomfield is wonderfully animated and clear, his demonstrations are illuminating and frequently humorous (how often do you find THAT in a course!), and his lessons explain the mechanics of things we observe every day without going into overly advanced, technical discussions. Highly recommend!

by Jeanette O

Oct 23, 2017

This course is a great introduction to the laws of motion, particularly for individuals without much math background or with rusty math skills. The content is well structured, and Dr. Bloomfield's use of relatable, real world examples facilitates learning of the concepts, which one starts to notice and think about in every day life. Further, Dr. Bloomfield's delivery is engaging and personable, making the videos enjoyable to watch. I would love to see the rest of How Things Work turned into online courses, and would definitely enroll in them.

by Nanci A

Oct 09, 2015

What a wonderful class! The instructor, Louis Bloomfield, made so many concepts of physics understandable. His continual use of visual aids and moving objects was extremely helpful. The class was both fun and challenging. The quizzes are not simple; you really have to think about what you were taught and apply the concepts to new situations, but they were fair and achievable. I had never taken a physic class before and am so glad that I chose this one! I highly recommend it.

by Abhay V

May 10, 2020

It is a fabulous course.During the Entire Course I feel A Great Enthusiasm in my own.I loved this course..Thanks to profesor Louis A. Bloomfield & University of Virginia For there great contribution.

by Manjot S

May 07, 2020

Mind blowing.. excellent study by Prof. Bloomfield. Hatsoff to you sir. Very excellent representation of physics concepts by taking interesting examples. Good Pesonalited Professor i have ever seen .

by Corrie

Oct 28, 2018

The course was simple and easy to follow! I enjoyed Professor Bloomfield's teaching very much! I definitely would recommend it for anyone who is curious about the basic principles of science!

by ishaan p

Apr 12, 2020

i learnt a lot from this course, things I never wondered about, I thank Mr.Bloomfield and encourage him to continue teaching physics. I am waiting for another season for how things work.

by Amy

Sep 12, 2017

The course was utilized as a template for teaching physics in an after school program. I enjoyed taking the class and obtained some creative ideas for teaching basic physics principles.

by Maymoonah B O

Nov 22, 2018

the problem is that you have to pay to submit quizzes otherwise it is very good.

by Josue R

Oct 20, 2017

se ve interesante, pero cuesta mucho con los cuestionarios en ingles y las traducciones al español; deberían mejor la traducción general al español latino :)

by ron r

Feb 14, 2016

it so boring

by Larry J

Sep 16, 2015

It has been many years since I've had a physics course. I've got a doctorate in another field. I've been looking into bio-mechanical interfaces and felt that I needed to review some basic physics without all the hassle of a formal course and with the option of skipping around if I felt the material was too basic. The lecture series allowed me to quickly and easily review some basic concepts without a formal structure.

I also have to say Dr. B. did a terrific job of translating some potentially daunting concepts into enjoyable yet serious teaching metaphors. A seriously fantastic job. Obviously, as noted the gradient lecture series has some personal interest and I think that you might consider some introduction to matter.

by Tami M

Nov 19, 2017

This course is glorious. I never thought my mind could understand physics because throughout school, it was just esoteric. I had MANY questions about theories and their application, but felt like my questions were stupid and clearly I just wasn't cut out for the subject. But now to have those misunderstandings cleared up, to have my eyes opened to physics in my daily world, to get to grips with physics sans formulae - it's almost magical. A very, very masterful crafted course as well - thought-provoking questions, structuring the modules themselves around key, practical questions, the physical illustrations - it's great. Thank you!

by Dr. S S R

Apr 08, 2020

I would like to recommend the course to anyone who want to understand the world around us. It will definitely change the way you see world around you. The magic is you do not need any math proficiency. One more thing which is commendable is amount of effort the Prof. has made to design the questions. Kudos to Prof. Bloomfield for all the effort he has made to make physics accessible to everyone. One thing I want to suggest is to use more universal terminologies and not limited to people of American origin. Waiting for season 2 :)

by Christian B

Apr 13, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. As a hands-on, technical trades type learner, this class was like spending some time wandering around the hardware store of science. I don't know how to use all of the tools yet, but I feel that this class was a perfect, accessible way of learning about what tools are out there! It has definitely inspired me to continue pursuing knowledge in physics, and I would love to see How Things Work: Part 2. Thank you Lou Bloomfield, for the work you put into this class. It was a pleasure!

by Jeannette J

May 21, 2020

This course was really amazing. I've always wanted to learn physics, but it is an intimidating subject. I only got 30% on the pre-exam. Some concepts were easier than others to grasp. For some reason, friction and momentum were much easier than the other parts for me. The visual examples really helped solidify my understanding of the concepts, and I liked the real-world applications. I managed to get a 97% on the final exam. That is a testament that the training was successful.

by SRINIDHI R

Oct 25, 2017

This course was an amazing learning experience. It was definitely easy for me as I already am pursuing my undergrad in Physics. I did this since my syllabus lacked mechanics. The course is highly practical and visual, so you perfectly understand concepts, and you'll never forget them.

Regardless of what you study in college or use at work, I'd recommend anyone to take this up because not only was it fun, but it is important that we know How Things Work around us!