Chevron Left
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course) に戻る

エコール・ポリテクニーク(École Polytechnique) による How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
451件の評価
141件のレビュー

コースについて

What you will achieve: In this project-based course, you will outline a complete scientific paper, choose an appropriate journal to which you'll submit the finished paper for publication, and prepare a checklist that will allow you to independently judge whether your paper is ready to submit. What you'll need to get started: This course is designed for students who have previous experience with academic research - you should be eager to adapt our writing and publishing advice to an existing personal project. If you just finished your graduate dissertation, just began your PhD, or are at a different stage of your academic journey or career and just want to publish your work, this course is for you. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-Centered Courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

人気のレビュー

MY

Apr 02, 2017

This course helps to understand the journey from a writing a journal to publishing it, from researcher perspective to editorial perspective. I recommend to all PhD students to take this course.

SM

Mar 01, 2018

The course is well structured that guides a scholar to construct a research paper step by step in a steady and sure way. I would definitely recommend the course for new research scholars.

フィルター:

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (Project-Centered Course): 101 - 125 / 136 レビュー

by Luiza T

Oct 26, 2017

Good course. Not super detailed, but very helpful nevertheless.

by taiping.z

Apr 10, 2017

A very nice course for novices to prepare an academic paper.

by Olusola A

Jul 21, 2017

Very Good introductory course to scientific writing.

by ANJANA N

Jan 04, 2020

SIMPLE AND HELPFUL COURSE FOR BEGINNERS IN RESEARCH

by Rianne d B

Jan 03, 2017

Comprehensive course for earlier researchers

by Ipsita S

Sep 12, 2017

It is really a very helpful course.

by landry t

Nov 25, 2016

vraiment intéressant

thanks to all

by Nadia S

Mar 19, 2016

This course is very helpful

by Jaime A

Mar 20, 2017

Great!

by Malik K

Aug 17, 2017

I very appreciated making the checklist but was sad that there were no more forum activity in particular from the teaching staff.

It was extremely demotivating to notice a bug in the grade notification and to have no answer from the staff.

I understand that the aim of the course was for the phd student to master its content before sharing knowledge. If every teacher enjoyes learning while teaching, student should not feel as second class learner (first been the teacher) unless stated right away at the beginning of the course. Sadely I had that impression without having been notified before.

As for the energy in the video, it's surprising at first but great. Keep making them so engaging with measured voice intonation and appropriate gestures.

Thank you all

by Marina I

Oct 26, 2016

The content of the course is extremely useful for young emerging scientists like myself; however, the videos were very hard to follow because the team speaks fast and with a very strong French accent. The materials are well-prepared, but my attention kept drifting away from the content due to language impairment. Also, some of the introductory notes were lacking proper grammar and I believe that, in a course with such a theme, this is simply unacceptable. With a bit of work, I think this can be a very useful tool in writing scientific papers!

by Ki N Y

Jul 04, 2016

It might have been a better option to conduct the class in the instructors' mother tongue with English subtitles, though concepts are well enough communicated. I am a Francophone and I still find it not easy to understand the English (having French translation in my mind.)

A good introductory class to have a first glimpse at the general context of academic publishing. Good general overview to rethink the steps of publishing plans for early stage researchers.

by Robin O

Aug 03, 2017

It's a good course, especially if you go through the extra readings at the end of each module, loads to learn there. The English pronunciation of the teachers can be a bit confusing sometimes, because they are native French speakers. Sometimes the descriptions of the tasks don't appear until after you submit a task, which makes it difficult to reach 100%. And the deadlines can be difficult to reach, because the peer reviews can take too much time.

by Lorna

Jul 11, 2016

Me pareció un buen curso introductorio a lo que es la investigación, lo recomiendo ampliamente a estudiantes de preparatoria y primer año de universidad, mas allá de esos estudios, solo lo recomendaría para repasar conceptos muy básicos. Una cosa que no me agrado fue el mal ingles, es inentendible sin los subtitulos, por lo que si alguien quiere hacer este curso y repasar el idioma no creo que le sirva de mucho. Por lo demás todo muy bien.

by Kehley D

Jun 15, 2017

Would have been significantly better if the course was taught in the native language (French) and then someone fluent in both languages translated. A lot of words were misused or undecipherable because the speakers were not using the language correctly.

Still, the material was helpful and I benefited from the course.

by Príscila A d C

Apr 17, 2016

A good course who teaches the way you have to do to write correctly a scientific paper, and gives an idea about the process of publish, it is useful and necessary for those who wants to continuous study and have their own work knows on the fields who works and research.

by Maya S

Aug 14, 2016

The course contains some interesting insights on writing a scientific paper. What I like about the course is that it is given by graduate students. But this is also a drawback. Sometimes, the material seems too simplistic.

by Massimiliano B

Feb 07, 2020

I would suggest to be more simple and effective. Discuss concrete cases and details of a about errors and structure of a paper. But really appreciate that the cours is given from PHDs students!

by Carlos R S J

Apr 06, 2016

It is good, but there is a student speaking that is really difficult to understand.

by Derrick G

Jan 26, 2020

not very useful because there are few examples of it.

by Wisam A W

Sep 12, 2017

A good summary on how to start thinking research!

by Olga T

Apr 17, 2017

Very basic

by Jesus L G

Oct 31, 2016

I think it is a decent course to understand how the peer review process work. However, it does not really help to write a paper. I think some ideas are not applied to every field. In particular, telling students to look for the board of editors in a journal and adapt your results and how you express things accordingly, it is in my opinion a bit unethical. Moreover, I was expecting that the course will be taught by a professor, but instead, it is done by a group of PhDs, some of them in their first year of research. If they intend to target a PhD audience, this is clearly a drawback as some of them might know the same as you do. Finally, as some people already pointed out, the quality of the English of some of the instructor is not good. In particular, there are a couple of them that you can't barely understand. It would have been more useful if the full course is taught by the 2 of them that can actually speak good.

by Miren B

Mar 10, 2016

I find this to be very very basic advice on how to write a scientific paper. I can't even see where the "project" is coming, plus the strong accent of instructors makes it really hard to follow sometimes -- even with the subtitles. To make things even better, accessing the quizzes is imposible unless you pay for the certificate. I found the course disappointing.

by Nguyen H S

May 30, 2016

The contains of the course is not really enough for improve the writing skill for scientific paper. Those advices mention in the video is common and that's it. No more practice or example to help the learner understand or apply that concept to their writing.