Chevron Left
HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers に戻る

ジョンズ・ホプキンズ大学(Johns Hopkins University) による HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
6,299件の評価
2,229件のレビュー

コースについて

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

人気のレビュー

SW

Mar 15, 2016

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

JH

Jun 01, 2019

Very interesting and well presented. It's difficult to address all the different experience levels so some points were (to me) a bit laboured, but overall a useful, informative and enjoyable course.

フィルター:

HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers: 26 - 50 / 2,170 レビュー

by Gianluca G

Oct 27, 2016

Lessons on html and css are very good, better than other coursera classes, so I suggest you to give a look at those. In general, the teacher is very good, even though I found the javascript part less deepen. A week, and partially the last week, are dedicated to the construction of a restaturant site. Unfortunately, the student role is pretty passive: you'll just look the teacher at work, you'll not build a site in this course. I skipped much of those lessons. But the most disappointing point is for me the excessive simplicity of the assignments. The assignments are the primary reason why I decided to take a MOOC instaed of simply reading a book. I expected much (interesting) assignments and much more practice...

by Ashley N

Jul 11, 2019

The course was okay but I didn't like that the only time we did any coding was at the end of each week. It made it hard to really learn/retain the content we were being shown during the week/module, and also made it overall less engaging/fun. I would have much preferred small assignments instead of practice quizzes, and to have also completed the class with a final project I could show others. I also found the instructions confusion at several points in later modules.

by Anik R

May 03, 2020

I would be very very happy if i could give 5 star to this course beacuse the instructor is awesome and he explained things beautifully but THE COURSE IS PRETTY OUTDATED.

I am struggling from the beginning this course as the course is recorded in 2015 or 2016 now github changes a lot,somehow I figured out Github but the main problem is Bootstrap.Oh man thats really frushtating week 3.They used bootstrap version 1 but in 2020 bootstrap 4.3.1 is running . In 2020 these are not Acceptable

by Charles R

Feb 04, 2017

The course is quite thorough for a basic course and is challenging in pace. The work load is higher than the guidelines suggest for someone who hasn't done any programming for a while and is not familiar with object-oriented programming

Yaakov is very knowledgeable and presents the material in an accessible way. He throws in some humor, which helps with absorbing the material. The quizzes are good learning guides and are appropriate for the material in the course. They require some thought, but adhere to the topics in the course without assuming additional knowledge. The exercises are difficult and take more time than the listings. But the reference materials are helpful and the online forums are very useful in clarifying points of uncertainty. I found some of the assignment descriptions, especially in modules four and five, to be unclear and it took some additional research to understand the intent of the task.

The registration process and installation of the needed software was clearly explained and easy to accomplish. The software worked well with the course and enhanced the learning experience. I especially liked the way BrowserSync worked with Sublime Text and Chrome. The Chrome analysis tools are very useful. The use of Github as a coordinating platform worked well, for submitting assignments. The Coursera UI was very efficient at tracking progress and coordinating the peer level reviewing.

Overall, I enjoyed the course and found it well worth the effort despite the few frustrating hours that always accompany grasping new skills.

by José P

Jan 12, 2017

I wanted to write this review just when I'd finished the course, when I have seen all.

I want to thank Prof. Chaikin for this great course. I really liked it and enjoyed all the material. I'm new to HTML, CSS and JavaScript and the course just enlighten me a lot. I had the opportunity to understand a HTML, CSS and JavaScript file, and I know that now I can write a web page and a web application. Now it's a matter of time and dedication by my part. I also realize that my knowledge of Java still applies with JS. I really enjoyed our field trip to Baltimore. Thanks, Prof. Chaikin, for going with us and for sharing, more than the course itself, part of your being. I can tell you are an excellent person. I had lots of knowledge and fun. Thanks again, Prof. Chaikin. I was very nice to meet you...

I Also want to thank Coursera and Johns Hopkins University for made it possible for the course to be in my laptop near the countryside in Colombia. Thank you!

by MV

May 13, 2016

This is a very comprehensive course (based on my personal experience with Coursera at least) that goes into relevant detail on the topics it covers, but without wasting time on unnecessary trivialities. The delivery is clear and engaging, so if you're interested in the matter, you won't get bored. The material covers all the right topics for an up and coming web designer, providing the right amount of information for a confident start and plenty of pointers where and how to expand on the knowledge provided. Another point in favor is the frequent and valuable engagement of the professor and his teaching assistants in the discussion forums, unlike some other courses that feel abandoned by the staff once they start. In closing, I've checked out several web design courses on Coursera and if you can choose only one, this one would definitely be my pick from all the ones I enrolled in.

by Michael R R

Dec 19, 2019

Professor Chaikin does an excellent job of providing step by step details of HTML, CSS, and Javascript, but be forewarned, he does assume you have some basic knowledge of the concepts and he'll skip around a few of the deeper aspects of HTML, CSS, and Javascript in terms of time. The purpose is to get you better acquainted with the material as this is part of the "Ruby on Rails" specialization. The latter weeks get more intense and may require a few resets...but stick with it; you'll get the concepts down pat and your problem-solving skills will improve if you keep focus and finish your projects. One final piece of advice; when coding, ALWAYS notate what you do and space out your coding to see it better in action. This will save you a TON of debugging time and will greatly improve your own skills as you will have a better understanding of where you need to focus and fine-tune.

by Simone M

Aug 07, 2017

This course is amazing, I totally suggest to everyone interested in this field to have a look, but I personally feel that was too theoretical in few modules and I couldn't manage to grasp really well few steps where I felt I needed more practical exercises. I also felt that the last modules about JS was too rush. I can suggest to add more practical interactive exercise and also in the explanation of the steps during the setting part of the software, please add a list with all the steps to follow. I really had an hard time there.

Despite this, the course is amazing and it was a pleasure to learn more about this fascinating word. In the next month I will continue to read the books suggested and after that, when I will be more confident on JS, I will jump in making website to someone else other than me. Thank you again and see you around.

by Valentin I

Dec 27, 2016

The course is valuable especially due to the personality of the teacher. As an obviously experienced developer, Mr. Chaikin provides you with modern techniques of using Javascript and responsive design. You'll probably encounter most of these techniques in the real life of a developer. The course is centered on practicing and the pace is fast. Don't be mislead by the colloquial tone and the quality humor present in lectures. Although the humor is good, you'll need to replicate most of the code examples on your machine, if you want to feel you've really learned something at the end of the day. That being said, the course is not perfect: the AJAX part might deserve more room in the future versions of this course. For those with previous exposure to some web techniques (my case), the course was an excellent refresher.

by Ali r b

Dec 30, 2018

Great training. I wish it was more complete by offering a more advanced course that is based on 10 to 15 real world projects. More like boot camps that build skills and confidence for entering into the job market more easily and more successfully. If that kind of advanced training was available then courser certificates would be more popular with learners everywhere. I encourage you to consider offering another class or expand the existing program that teaches advanced Html, Css, JavaScript employing User Experience and User Interface design skills.

I'm aware you have a Ruby on Rails program but Ruby is not as popular as it used to be. These days Full-Stack React and Angular development are the way to go. Also a course on Database design and development would be appreciated. Thank you for this great course.

by Sean H

Jul 01, 2016

Instructor seems like a genuinely invested teacher who provides plenty of resources, points you in the right direction in considering how to approach a client meeting, and provides in-depth explanations for what you need to know and do. A few of the later more advanced concepts really relied on students to follow along and type themselves, and you will want both notes and comments in your code to help you remember the important details (<!-- --> in HTML or /* */ in CSS). This combined with one or two other HTML/CSS/JavaScript Resources provides a comprehensive introduction to web design, though! Just be sure to allow yourself time to learn, absorb, practice, and work on the assignments. Plug into the community with detailed information when you have questions and you will be fine! :D

by alex

Dec 23, 2016

This course is awesome! Before I started the course, I had very little knowledge of web technologies. Now I understand how these technologies (HTML, CSS, Javascript, AJAX, backend stuff) work together. You learn how to write a website from scratch using HTML. In the second part of the course, you will attach a nice design to your website using CSS, and make it responsive, so that it looks nice all kind of different devices (phone, tablet, pc, etc.). You will be introduced into the Bootstrap CSS framework, which is very easy to use and used by many different websites. In the last part of the course, you will be introduced to JavaScript, which will help you to put some user interactions to your website.

I highly recommend this course, especially if you are a beginner in this field!

by Agasthya S

Mar 01, 2016

Why 5 stars:

1. The amount of effort to put the course together is evident. It is not easy to go over all the basics in such short videos but Yaakov has managed to construct the course in such a way that we have enough understanding to ask the right questions that we can then investigate.

2. Practice quizzes after the lectures are very helful. They help us refresh the concepts and also give us a sense of confidence that we have understood the lecture.

3. The on screen recording is done very well. No clutter or unnecessary clicks and easy to follow.

4. Engages with students in the forums.

Room for improvement:

1. A cheat sheet document would be great. I am taking notes but wish I had an organized and concise document that contains the rules/syntax that need to be memorized.

by Henri B

Sep 12, 2019

I'm just auditing this course ... don't need credits. Did web development 15 years ago, but not since and wanted to catch up on changes, refresh things I had forgotten and learn CSS better. I think the instructor does an excellent job of explaining and the pace is nice.

I had minor confusion at the beginning because GitHub looks different than on the videos, but that was because time has passed and GitHub page changed. Not a big deal. Also, when the course was made VS Code was not as well developed as it is today. I installed the sublime-text editor the course used, but found that VS Code handling of Emmet was better and VS Code has add in LiveServer to see changes right away.

Bottom line - great course & instructor. Gets to the point quickly and effectively.

by Soleh F A

Jul 18, 2016

One of the best courses on HTML,CSS and javascript..Unlike other courses which directly take to higher concepts leaving behind all the foundational concepts,this course teaches the foundational concepts first and then gradually introduce higher concepts as well.Thus making the learning process pretty easy and at the same time making concepts clear and free of doubts.I like this approach!!

I would highly recommend this course for those who want to understand the basics of HTML,CSS and javascript and clear all doubts which are otherwise created by directly jumping into higher concepts......

And last but not the least thanks Coursera for providing best online courses and Thanks Johns Hopkins University for presenting this beautiful course......

by Alex

Sep 10, 2017

This course teaches well what the 3 web technologies have. HTML5 is only covered basic as there are more and more features coming. JS is covered to change essential behaviour of the site but also all the perks this language shines trough. I would like to see more server side technologies in future like apache or nodejs as in this course was only used browser-sync for rapid development and git hub pages as usual preview standard. In generall all three came into play in this course well and this course introduced business aspects like visiting a customer and planing the first mockups for design. Last but not least the instructor also showed advances in using chrome developer tools and ajax which are crucial for consistent responsive design.

by Hao L

Jan 26, 2017

This course is awesome!

If you have some programming experience but you don't know how to use HTML & CSS & JavaScript to build your own website, then this course is made for you. This course is awesome! Just before taking this course, I didn't even know how to write HTML, let alone CSS and JavaScript. But! After I finished this course, I have built a very well knowledge system about web development and I believe I have had the ability to dig deep into more practical and more difficult fields.

Thanks to Professor Yaakov Chaikin and Johns Hopkins team ! Thanks to everyone who makes efforts to improve this course. To be honest, this is the most excellent course I have taken and it helps me enormously.

by Edwin W K

May 29, 2018

I am deeply grateful to the team at Coursera for this course. John Hopkins University and Yaakov Chaikin in particular have done an excellent job. I give this course a 5 Star rating because it is well delivered with up to date content and relevant examples. I have really learnt a lot and it gives me a good foundation to build on and develop my career in web development. The section on Javascript was particularly challenging and I do realize that building up knowledge further on other concepts which have been mentioned such as JQuery and Angular JS is crucial. If you are looking for a transformative and challenging course, this is the right one for you. I will definitely recommend this to others.

by Maria d C P

Apr 29, 2016

For the last 7 months, I've been enrolled in all of Coursera's courses related with Front-End Developing and this one is so far the best course ever. This course is very well structured, it's hands on, and get you ready for "real world" development what is great. Yaakov Chaikin is a great instructor, explains well, is engaging and get to the point. It is a very demanding course and you will need to dedicated more hours per week to watch all videos (then what you usually you need in these kind of courses), so you will need to be committed to do it but in the end you will learn tons.

Thank you for the Johns Hopkins University team for doing such a great job and a special thanks to Yaakov Chaikin!

by Kuolai S

May 04, 2016

This course, HTML CSS JS, benefits me effectively in many ways:

HTML: I learned most updated HTML here with a little over 60 minute lectures; wohich otherwise may take me weeks to read two or three books with many redundant chapters.

CSS: I have to admit I need more time to be proficient about it. Styling, floating, DOM traversing, ..lots of CSS features that I learned are essential and with just about two hours of lecture.

Javascript: A language I am familiar and strange to it until I went through all the lectures. Two ways of function definition; object data type; used to confuse me and now they become clear and dynamically typed Javascript has become one of the language I can write.

by Travis Y

Jul 13, 2016

This course is an outstanding introduction to Web design technologies and tools. As a backend developer, I was looking for a course to refresh my knowledge of HTML and CSS, and this course went far beyond what I had hoped to learn -- even introducing me to some new tools, as well as filling in a lot of the background of WHY things work the way they do. My only criticism might be that the final week's assignment was not very difficult, and perhaps as a result, didn't force me to really study the material. Otherwise, I highly recommend this course, and I'm looking forward to taking the Angular course in this series. Thank you very much, Yaakov, and Johns Hopkins!

by eric t

Dec 10, 2016

My condition: a total computer science newbie.

This course, as its proclamation, is very suitable for someone like me.

It is a condense and delicate course, which means in order to get the skill to build a website, the only thing has to be done is following the steps in the video and finishing the assignment ; and yet every topic in the course, even a line of code, deserves further contemplation.

"Why Yakkov does this instead of that?" is a question I frequently ask myself during the course.

In short, this course provide a solid ground for developing skills in web development, and I sincerely recommend it to everyone who's interested in this field.

by Purushothaman S

Apr 11, 2019

I have been actively watching the tutorials for a week, and its really good!! The instructor explains everything very clearly and even a lay man can understand everything from this.

I'm very glad that my journey is so very productive with such wonderful courses, offered by JHP University and Coursera.

Hoping to enroll for more such wonderful courses, I would suggest all of you to enroll for this course, to get a deeper knowledge about HTML, CSS and Javascript.

EDIT 1: So now, I have completed 90% of this course. This course is super lit folks, I would suggest all of you to enroll for this course, if you wish to start a career with Web Development.

by Eddy J

Nov 02, 2017

Don't hesitate to start this course because you will lose really really an awesome opportunity to take the fun and great class. As I am the person who is the beginner and took some courses online and offline of web development, I would like to tell you that the instructor of this course is very knowledgeable plus he has experience in the industry I could say. The difference between this course and the other courses I had taken before is that he is trying to show the real industry as he gets a real client during the lecture and indeed, he builds a real website continuously interacting with the real client. You know what, just take this course :)

by Nathan Y

Mar 01, 2019

Excellent course. While I have no goal of becoming a professional web developer, as a professional system architect, this course has given me an important foundation in javascript, and added significant depth to my knowledge of CSS and HTML. Knowing javascript is more and more important as Node.js becomes embedded as the go-to solution for a wide-variety of activities within modern micro-services architecture. Yaakov is an engaging lecturer and he addresses some of the more esoteric best practices and javascript kludges quite well. Javascript is a messy language and Yaakov is up-front and unambiguous about how to do it right.