Chevron Left
Introduction to HTML5 に戻る

Introduction to HTML5, ミシガン大学(University of Michigan)

4.7
(7,820 件の評価)

このコースについて

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

人気のレビュー

by AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

by NJ

Apr 26, 2019

I didn't know about making my web pages accessible till this course. But now I know how important it is for my web pages to be accessible to all, for my html to validate and be semantically correct.

フィルター:

1,872件のレビュー

by jill griffin

May 22, 2019

I'm an absolute beginner and made it through!!! Thanks!

by Joshua Obi Ufoegbune

May 22, 2019

Interesting course for starters, I learned a lot being new to this whole field.

by John

May 22, 2019

An absolutely ideal introduction to HTML5 – exactly the type of introduction that I wish I had when I started learning HTML5 several years ago. I took this course as a refresher on HTML5, and found Dr van Lent's style to be friendly and engaging: she covered all the essential elements of HTML5 in an understandable manner. Highly recommended for beginners, or as a refresher for more advanced learners.

by Nova Robb

May 20, 2019

tl;dr: I do NOT recommend this course. It is riddled with errors. Additionally, you risk not getting your certificate based on wrong information given to your peers to grade you for your final.

This course has multiple errors in the quizzes and most egregiously in the instructions to your peer reviewers to grade your final project. All throughout the forums were people pleading with students not to mark them wrong based on the grading instructions but grade them based on the instructions to complete the final project.

Here is a post in the forum. It is one of many and she explains it better than I can.

=====

Typos and errors in quizzes and final project! Frustrating.

Michelle SchauerWeek 3 · 12 days ago · Edited

I was quite surprised at how often I found grade-critical typos and errors in the quizzes and final project. I checked other students' comments and saw that other students are frustrated about this also. Not good. There are quiz question-and-answer errors which are incorrect.

There are a couple of errors on the final project. For example, the instructions say to create an unordered list (HTML course). Then the peer review questions to correct another peer's work asks if the person created an ORDERED list. If they didn't, we're supposed to dock them a point for their "error". The peer review question SHOULD ask if the person created an unordered list, as the instruction clearly stated.

Examples of typos within quizzes:

<o> (incorrect) instead of <ol> (correct - should have been this)

<nag> (incorrect) instead of <nav> (correct - should have been this)

There were quite a handful of errors similar to this on other quizzes as well. Frustrating when you're trying to learn and be tested fairly on your retention.

=====

Additionally there doesn't seem to be any TA's or active involvement from the teacher. I've loved the Dr. Chuck courses from UMich but this course was terrible. It's a complete lack of respect for the open learning community to create a course, not test it for errors, and then have students beg in the forums for corrections and changes to something they paid for and have it be ignored. I'm paying for the Specialization and I have nothing but dread going into the rest of courses. Please look for a better option. The book, Learn to Code HTML & CSS, by Shay Howe was the best thing to come out of this. It's free on his website and I got more out this than the lectures. The teacher is just reading her slides and not very interactive. The book has codepen examples throughout and you'll get far more interactive learning by working through the chapters than sitting through the lectures.

by Ilhana Adzemoviic

May 18, 2019

This was a great course throughout - absolutely recommend it to anyone that wants to learn from scratch!

by Pradeep Patidar

May 18, 2019

Faculty teach excellent.

by bandaru balaji sai kumar

May 17, 2019

Awesome course

by Daniel Lee

May 17, 2019

Great course to get you started or freshen up on your HTML5.

by Diana Yatarova

May 14, 2019

Awesome! Thanks a lot

by Ania Thomas

May 12, 2019

This is a phenomenal course, and I will be sure to recommend it to others!