Chevron Left
Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,760件の評価
524件のレビュー

コースについて

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

人気のレビュー

DC
2017年9月23日

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS
2019年3月21日

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

フィルター:

Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics: 226 - 250 / 519 レビュー

by Chantao P

2016年5月9日

so instructive, so attractive.

I'm very interested in Language and Society, I expect to acquire more knowledge on human language. Thanks!

by Irene A

2017年2月23日

A great course for those who are interested in the subject and want to take a general first look into linguistics. I really enjoyed it.

by Fadi G

2020年8月24日

The Discussions and resources were very informative and the quizzes at all levels were challenging but at the end rewarding thank you

by Benjamin K

2017年3月3日

Covers a wide range of topics and goes quite in-depth given time constraints. The professor is clearly passionate about the subject.

by Arielle A

2020年3月30日

Very educational and challenging course. I was pleased to see the explanation and use of Sign language brought up during the course.

by Gianluca B

2020年6月19日

Muy buen curso, me gustaron las variedades de idiomas para comparar. muchas gracias a Coursera y la universidad por lo oportunidad!

by Navarro S M

2020年3月14日

It was fantastic, challenging and brought me refreshing theoretical inputs to add to my knowledge on the area. Thank you very much.

by Marcela C

2019年8月18日

Fantastic. I didn’t know anything about linguistics and now I know basic concepts and have many extra books to read and learn more.

by Bertille M

2017年2月11日

Excellent MOOC! Prof. van Oostendorp has done a wonderful job, asking students and colleagues to intervene. Extremely interesting!

by Gotamist

2018年11月1日

Prof. van Oostendorp is an excellent and motivational teacher. I feel like a got a real introduction to the field of linguistics!

by Guaraciara A d S S

2018年5月8日

It is a very interesting course. The method is so easy and deep ate same time and it makes us think about our human condiction.

by Santiago H

2020年4月1日

If someone out there is wondering what a language is and how a language works, this course is what you have been looking for.

by Sarka B

2016年12月3日

Perfectly prepared course with a capable linguist and his skilled students. We can acquire a nice overview about linguistics.

by maria k

2020年3月2日

This course made me to think more deeply about languages and human. Not only it gave me knowledge in linguistics, but also m

by Huda T

2019年7月9日

it is a fabulous course. I spent interesting time with it. it is more than linguistics. it make you thinking as a linguist.

by Abhiraj G

2019年7月29日

Very interesting course, that is challenging but not impossible. The perfect way for young budding linguists to start.

by Alessio T

2016年9月26日

Entertaining and interesting. Good introduction to the subject with plenty of links and references for further study.

by Haider A

2020年6月24日

I studied the subject because of my interest in the topic and found the course very informative. Very good course!

by Matthew J

2020年3月27日

Structure of the course was wonderful, and the professor and aides were great. Really enjoyed the course, thanks!

by Oliver H

2019年6月30日

Very interesting and easy to follow, though the quizzes are very hard, and the fact that it was free was amazing!

by Mario A L G

2016年6月24日

It is a very good Introduction for those of Us that know nothing of Linguistics. I was very happy to take it.

by Shaun M P

2016年5月25日

great enthusiasm and thought provoking, I look forward to more linguistics courses from Universiteit Leiden!

by Kian T

2020年6月16日

that was amazing! i really enjoyed this course and i love linguistics more than before. thank you. good job

by Lukasz D

2018年1月22日

It was a pure pleasure to study linguistics in Leiden University. I recommend the course to all and sundry.

by Ron A

2020年2月8日

Fantastic course! very good explanations, mind-opening. discovering new fields, ideas, and methodologies.