Chevron Left
Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
stars
1,331件の評価
341件のレビュー

コースについて

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

人気のレビュー

DC

Sep 24, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS

Mar 22, 2019

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

フィルター:

Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics: 126 - 150 / 334 レビュー

by Kate

Sep 07, 2018

This course is so fun and informative, and I was actually sad when it ended. Oostendorp is a fantastic professor and I highly recommend his course.

by Malkat H

Nov 29, 2017

The course is very interesting and well presented. Professor is very helpful and not boring at all. I look forward to any next course by Leiden Uni

by Jorge F

Jul 14, 2019

I totally recommend this course. It was academically rigorous and fun at the same time. Thank you for the opportunity of being part of this mooc.

by Pablo

Jul 26, 2016

I very much liked the professor, he has a contagious energy and is entertaining to hear and watch. Overall an excellent course, learned a lot

by Hanna P

Aug 08, 2016

without any doubt the best course among those I have studied or tried out on and beyond coursera. a huge thanks to the whole team behind it!

by Fernanda M P

Jan 27, 2018

The course was excellent. I could review some of the main concepts of Linguistic through very well designed lessons and fruitful material.

by Kasmin F

Mar 04, 2017

Immensely enlightening. I'd recommend this course to anyone who loves languages and wants to explore the fascinating world of linguistics

by Hernán S

Nov 01, 2016

This course was excellent! because this made me an overview of linguistic science, their internal fields, and their main topics of study.

by Aleksandra P

Jun 10, 2019

This is a very well-organized and engaging course:) I do have a solid background in linguistics and I still found it really interesting.

by Chantao P

May 09, 2016

so instructive, so attractive.

I'm very interested in Language and Society, I expect to acquire more knowledge on human language. Thanks!

by Irene A

Feb 23, 2017

A great course for those who are interested in the subject and want to take a general first look into linguistics. I really enjoyed it.

by Benjamin K

Mar 03, 2017

Covers a wide range of topics and goes quite in-depth given time constraints. The professor is clearly passionate about the subject.

by Marcela C

Aug 18, 2019

Fantastic. I didn’t know anything about linguistics and now I know basic concepts and have many extra books to read and learn more.

by Bertille M

Feb 11, 2017

Excellent MOOC! Prof. van Oostendorp has done a wonderful job, asking students and colleagues to intervene. Extremely interesting!

by Gotamist

Nov 01, 2018

Prof. van Oostendorp is an excellent and motivational teacher. I feel like a got a real introduction to the field of linguistics!

by Guaraciara A d S S

May 08, 2018

It is a very interesting course. The method is so easy and deep ate same time and it makes us think about our human condiction.

by Sarka B

Dec 03, 2016

Perfectly prepared course with a capable linguist and his skilled students. We can acquire a nice overview about linguistics.

by Huda T

Jul 09, 2019

it is a fabulous course. I spent interesting time with it. it is more than linguistics. it make you thinking as a linguist.

by Abhiraj G

Jul 29, 2019

Very interesting course, that is challenging but not impossible. The perfect way for young budding linguists to start.

by Alessio T

Sep 26, 2016

Entertaining and interesting. Good introduction to the subject with plenty of links and references for further study.

by Oliver H

Jun 30, 2019

Very interesting and easy to follow, though the quizzes are very hard, and the fact that it was free was amazing!

by Mario A L G

Jun 24, 2016

It is a very good Introduction for those of Us that know nothing of Linguistics. I was very happy to take it.

by Shaun M P

May 26, 2016

great enthusiasm and thought provoking, I look forward to more linguistics courses from Universiteit Leiden!

by Lukasz D

Jan 22, 2018

It was a pure pleasure to study linguistics in Leiden University. I recommend the course to all and sundry.

by Akhilesh S

Aug 09, 2018

This is a wonderful and fun course. A must for anyone interested to know about the study of linguistics.