Chevron Left
Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,570件の評価
437件のレビュー

コースについて

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

人気のレビュー

DC

Sep 24, 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

DP

Jan 03, 2017

Excellent! Really enjoyed and learnt a lot. I did not expect such a great content and professionalism in a free course. I am definitely purchasing for the title.\n\nThanks to all the team! Great job!

フィルター:

Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics: 376 - 400 / 430 レビュー

by Elisabet S

Nov 11, 2016

Sometimes it was hard to understand the concept the professor was trying to make, because some grammatical forms were wrong and therefore the whole concept misleading. Otherwise very interesting course and thank you!

by J. E

Oct 11, 2019

The course is excellent and the videos are very entertaining and engaging. The only problem I had was that the test questions were sometimes confusing and several of their answers could be considered true.

by Yaroslava F

Jun 23, 2017

This was an interesting but challenging course. What I would recommend as an improvements is that the quizzes included comments for wrong answers and suggestions what material to re-read or listen.

by Juan A M O

Jun 30, 2020

It is a great course. With truly interesting guests, well organized, with helpful complementary material (Ethnologue and papers). The only thing to fix are some quizzes (specially, the first one).

by Pascal W

Jul 21, 2019

I am essentially learning languages for work or for fun but this course gave me an opportunity to consolidate some knowledge / understanding about languages and across many languages. Excellent!

by SUZANNE R

Aug 13, 2017

Good introduction to linguistics led by a charming Professor with great enthusiasm for his subject. It was certainly enough to convince me that the study of linguistics is not for me

by Zhibiao Z

Apr 07, 2017

It's fantastic to have a brief look into the intriguing Linguistics. There's so much to learn. But some of the readings and test might be too difficult and improper for a beginner.

by Sara M A

Mar 25, 2018

There's just one problem: the exams. The questions and logic behind the answers are not clear enough. It's an excellent course and certainly, it would be relevant to my career.

by Naija1

Apr 27, 2020

The course was a nice introduction to linguistics, many topics were covered, but not in a very detailed way. I was expecting more examples from different languages.

by Ewa P

Aug 13, 2016

Interesting way of presenting the basics of linguistics. Helps a lot to organise crucial informatinon in one's memory. Lessons, however, are too similar.

by Nata S

Nov 12, 2017

A very nice introduction, covers a variety of topics that different branches of linguistics study, is not theory-heavy and is quite entertaining.

by William F

Jun 10, 2017

This is a decent introduction to the field of linguistics that is easy to understand and accessible to those without previous content knowledge.

by Mel

Jun 25, 2018

A comprehensive introductory course to the study of linguistics. Would be even better if it covers more applied linguistics topics.

by Daniele C R

Oct 09, 2016

Very nice work on the various fields of Linguistics, high level interviews, but rather laborious and time consuming quizzes.

by Liz J

Sep 11, 2016

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot. I wish there had been more interaction in the discussions, though.

by Xiaoyun Y

Mar 13, 2019

It is a great course including details and all aspects of linguistics. It satisfies my curiosity!

by Mustapha K

May 14, 2017

Thank you for your great effort making this course possible for people from all over the world.

by Kathleen K

May 15, 2016

Material is excellent and very interesting. Test questions can be confusing and poorly phrased.

by Jennylyn K H

Oct 21, 2019

Very enjoyable however, I feel that Quiz Three needs to be looked over for software problems.

by Antonella C

Nov 23, 2018

Very interesting and passionating course even for people who are new to linguistic.

by Tianyu Z

Jun 12, 2020

It is a great introduction course, covering every aspect related to linguistics.

by Laureen E

Sep 17, 2019

First course tried.. succeeded! Very informative and nice to work on! Thank you

by André P

Apr 09, 2018

Interesting course, I've learned a lot of things about studying languages.

by Jia W

Jun 21, 2016

some problems in quiz part are confusing... but nice course in general

by Nathalie v L

Nov 05, 2019

great course. Great refresher 30 years after college.