Chevron Left
Introduction to Imagemaking に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Imagemaking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,566件の評価
566件のレビュー

コースについて

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

人気のレビュー

LC

2017年10月8日

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

RJ

2018年8月18日

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

フィルター:

Introduction to Imagemaking: 401 - 425 / 563 レビュー

by Jennifer S

2021年9月20日

The projects were interesting and they improved my ability to create, manipulate, and write about images.  There were a few negatives that made me give the course a 4 star.  The assignment directions were often confusing.  Also, the assignments were peer graded and almost all of the peer comments were single words or 2-3 word generic phrases.  That really ruins the intent of the course.

by guy k

2019年6月18日

There is a lot of great information. The instructions in some of the assignments are not the clearest. I didn't have a flowing learning experience. There is too much information and sources. It got me a bit out of it instead of focused. I can see it working not online because there is truly great information presented. I think some adjustment should be done for a better user experience.

by Teri L

2018年7月9日

Introduction to Imagemaking by the California Institute of Arts is an easy, accessible course online. Of course, it is a build-on to all the skills and vocabulary learnt from the last two courses. From this, the assignments are quite fair and understandable and are build-ups to eventually make a short pictorial narrative at the end.

by Olli V

2018年2月13日

A well-structured and inspiring course that broadened my perspectives on imagemaking. Although it's clear that imagemaking is definitely an open-ended process, I felt there could've been more examples of digital imagemaking techniques and compositions to give a more comprehensive template for creative thought. Recommended!

by Rose G

2019年12月13日

I really enjoyed the course and doing all the assignments, I could clearly see the potential of my creativity and my style. I thought some of the videos were a little difficult to sit through, maybe the voice was too calm/soft and got sleepy? But the material was great, it was a lot of fun and learned a lot.

by Hasnat A H

2020年9月4日

The perspective to observe things out of traditional ways was very interesting. The reviews of peer-graded assignments were too long though. Answering a lot of review questions was boring and I kinda lost my interest to "observe" the things knowing that I have to answer particular questions on it later.

by Samantha C

2021年3月21日

The section on compositional hierarchy is a bit confusing. I still don't think I understand the difference between scale, space, and figure/ground. At least, scale and space are not used the same here as in other parts of the graphic design curriculum, and that is very confusing.

by Sergio G F

2020年8月13日

Many things studied on this course are subjective and the connotations depend on every viewer of each image of course. In any case the course and the study of images composition helped me broaden my knowledge on how to modify a page and its design to give the viewer a message.

by Paul M

2016年5月9日

I really enjoyed this course and it was one of the most helpful along with the Typography course, but it felt a little impersonal and short on information when I compare this one to the previous ones. I would love to look at more examples of imagemaking and uses of hierarchy.

by Stephanie N

2016年5月3日

Much of the course seemed to cover what was previously discussed. About the only thing this course did for me was to introduce me to In Design. The teacher was OK, but she seemed to lack enthusiasm, particularly when she was demonstrating the book-binding.

by Fred R

2017年3月30日

Very challenging and very rewarding to learn to "see" an object, to start owning it and to realize a booklet out of it. It was hard work and lots of trials and errors, but I really enjoyed it, and I'm sure that I've learnt a lot for my next projects.

by Tina L O Z

2019年1月28日

I felt this was a very challenging and stimulating course. It relies like many great courses in this series on peer reviews. I think the course is designed extremely well, I just wish there was more interaction/feedback from the teaching staff.

by Leroy S

2016年5月24日

Gail Swanlund is awesome. Her voice is amazing and fun to listen to. She explains things in a very creative way. So far, this has been my favorite among the Graphic Design Specialization courses. Still have two more courses to go yet!

by Pilar F

2018年4月8日

ESTUVO SUPER BUENO. PARA MI SOLO FALTÓ QUE EXISTIERA UNA INSTANCIA DE EVALUACIÓN/COMENTARIOS POR PARTE DE LOS DOCENTES.

IT WAS GREAT. THE ONLY THING I MISSED WAS THE CHANCE TO BE EVALUATED OR TO RECEIVE COMMENTS BY THE TEACHERS.

by Anca E

2018年10月6日

Course could do with a bit more content and putting some more theory behind the examples, explaining better different currents and schools of thought. It also had too much overlap with the first course in the specialization

by Jai C

2017年6月26日

This course has really guided me through making my own images. I can now research any subject and abstract images from a lot of different techniques. It has also made me realize my strengths are the areas for improvement.

by Charlene S

2021年3月11日

I enjoyed the course, but I really think the assignments need better instructions. I relied on the discussion forums to get a better understanding of what was expected. Week 3 especially needs more/better instructions.

by Penny L

2019年10月26日

Good assignments. Really learned something from this course. However, I found the requirement of some assignments might be a bit misleading and I often see other students work not following requirements.

by Huyen T N

2020年7月5日

The voice and lecture is quite sleepy, I had to take extra coffee for the course. And the assignment is still confusing. But in overall, the content and the knowledge has provided me a lot. Thank you!

by Jose M G E

2017年11月22日

I really like the course, I learn a lot of things

I think that some instructios for the assigments are not fully explained

and also I think the voice of the theacher in the videos is low monotonous

by Lidya S

2019年9月24日

The assignments are really fun and put the videos into practice very efficiently! The only thing that troubles me is sometimes the "design language" is too unfamiliar for beginners.

by Sharon w

2020年4月20日

Awesome course, great content! I wish there were more videos to learn about compositions and the third assignment was a bit hard to follow. Overall I learned a great deal. Thanks!

by Yana B

2021年4月18日

Thanks for the course! It's good, I learned how to create images and arrange them in accordance with compositional principles. Unfortunately, the theory was not enough for me.

by Melanie J

2017年7月3日

I found this course to be much more experimentation then anything else. I definitely learned some about composition, but I wish it would've been more focused on layout.

by E. C C

2017年1月29日

Nice class introducing the ideas of scale, composition and use of white/negative space. A must for people who always want to fill the page. Sometimes less is more.