Chevron Left
Introduction to Imagemaking に戻る

カリフォルニア芸術大学(California Institute of the Arts) による Introduction to Imagemaking の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,564件の評価
566件のレビュー

コースについて

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

人気のレビュー

LC

2017年10月8日

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

RJ

2018年8月18日

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

フィルター:

Introduction to Imagemaking: 501 - 525 / 563 レビュー

by Nitish G

2020年6月11日

I found it very theory/reading-based and less interactive compared to other courses in the specialization. It would have been great if you could share your book before the last assignment to get an idea as it was quite evident from peer reviews that people didn't get it or weren't able to get started with it in the first place.

by Megan C

2016年5月25日

While I did enjoy this course, I found it to be less useful than the first two in the series. I also noticed a lot of repetition from the course before. I think my expectation was to learn more about imagemaking in a digital sense, but I'm still happy overall that I took this course and I can't wait to earn my specialization.

by Alice H

2017年5月9日

The progression of this course was not as comprehensive as the others in the Graphic Design Specialization series. We went from finding images online one week to creating handmade artwork the next. It would be more helpful for the instructor to build more of the work for the final assignment into the previous weeks.

by Jenny B

2022年3月19日

I really felt at sea with most of the assignments in this course, like I didn't understand what was expected or how I would be evaluated. This was the first course in this specialization that I thought simply didn't include enough teaching or enough explanation of how the assignments relate to the specialization.

by P Z C

2017年6月2日

This course has lots of similarities as in Foundamental graphics design and I expected more after I started to pay for the course. Feel that many students are confused about the assignment and I don't feel students are taken good care of in time. But I appreciate that classmates are trying to help eath other.

by Sarah H

2020年10月12日

For an imagemaking course, the focus should be on making imagery in regards to creativity, concepts, and execution. There did not seem to be enough of these in the course, and the assignments were often confusing to follow. Overall, it's a decent course, but I did not learn nearly as much as I had hoped.

by Zdravka K

2020年6月20日

I had a bit more expectations about the course, I really liked the Fundatmentals of design and the lector, for me it was a bit more fluid and understandable. I suggest some theory to be included in this one.

Still I learned a lot about composition and narrative. Thank you!

by Turo U

2019年11月12日

Great course, but it takes a little bit more time that estimated. Teacher is a very good and inspiring. However the peer feedback is really poor. It would be nice if the teacher could also give some feedback (for example just in one exercise).

by Seth B

2016年12月4日

Would have liked to have more assignments and content on imagemaking rather than a focus on making a book. I feel like I got just as much imagemaking experience from the intro to graphic design course offered by Cal Arts.

by MOIRA B G

2020年5月11日

This course was fun.

I think a few things that made this course challenging for me was the instructions for the assignments. I also think that my "classmates" misunderstand the grading rubrics.

Thank you, I learned a lot!

by rachelle k

2021年4月26日

I think some of the instructions were a little vague and open for me, and it was hard to figure out what the end products were supposed to be. I did like that it helped me learn how to jump into InDesign.

by Ella H

2020年5月1日

3.5 - Did not enjoy this course as much as the others in this group, found a lot of the exercises quite repetitive and due to lockdown I did not have access to enough materials to experiment successfully.

by Aimee L

2020年6月6日

This course didn't really seem to go into any more detail than the overview in the fundamentals to graphic design course. There was very little guidance and instructions were a little confusing at times

by Megan W

2021年6月6日

M​ost of the instructions were very vague and difficult to understand. I think it would be very helpful to examples of the assignments instead of having to blindly

by Cameron G

2021年12月2日

The lectures were just incredibly drab and boring. Im sure Gail is a nice lady but she couldnt be any less compelling of a speaker if she tried

by Malu V

2020年5月26日

This course wasn't as well structured as the previous ones in the specialization. The assignments had problematic instructions

by Dmitrii P

2017年2月23日

Pretty weak teaching - "maybe you can place objects in this order, or maybe in this order". No any clear logics.

by Artur V B

2021年2月8日

It's an interesting course, but a little bit open. Some activities will take too long if you're perfectionist.

by Raquel Z W

2017年11月12日

The content of this module is good, however I think It's very complicated to depend on student's reviews only.

by SWASTIK

2020年8月9日

please try putting in more videos with methods rather than case studies and reading texts.

by Hector E

2016年7月13日

Fun course but everything was already covered on the Fundamentals Of Graphic Design Course.

by Daria H

2016年6月20日

This course is good, although it repeats a lot from the Fundamentals of Graphic Design.

by Jackie F

2017年12月11日

General and basic overview of image-making techniques and strategies.

by 朱思超

2017年8月14日

kinda too basic for me....but it would be a good course for beginners

by Sayed K N

2018年12月18日

good course but need a lil more resource. thank you