Chevron Left
Indigenous Canada に戻る

アルバータ大学(University of Alberta) による Indigenous Canada の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
18,744件の評価

コースについて

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores the different histories and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples living in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores complex experiences Indigenous peoples face today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

人気のレビュー

JS

2020年10月21日

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

EG

2021年5月27日

Very well done! Thank you for allowing me to learn more about your history & culture. Being from Ireland and relatively new to Canada I wanted to know more about the beginnings of Canada as a country.

フィルター:

Indigenous Canada: 51 - 75 / 6,910 レビュー

by Narinder S S

2019年1月30日

A very deep and layered learning with in-depth teachings on the varying degrees of struggles the Indigenous peoples of Canada endured during the settler invasions. I appreciated the geographical layout of how Canada was inhabited by the Indigenous people and how they navigated, traded and established mutual agreements with each other to ensure the land and its' inhabitants all thrived before the settlers arrived. A deep appreciation of how our Indigenous people value 'the whole' and not just how our natural resources benefit the limited few for the short-term. A great course which I wholeheartedly

by James H

2021年2月14日

Highly recommended - I have recommended it some of my staff who are interested in both taking the course and reading the materials. I should note they are First Nations and are as interested as I was.

by Terri T

2020年11月8日

Many of the quiz questions were testing my reading capabilities instead of course content. Asking double negative questions is ridiculous.

by Candace c

2020年8月17日

why cant i get my certificate?

by Mary L

2021年7月9日

This course was an excellent introduction to learn about some of the indigenous peoples of Canada.

I would like to comment on some of the other, less positive reviews, so that potential students are not put off from completing the course.

1. "The information was too one-sided." All the eurocentric history I have studied previously, was also one-sided. It is good to learn from different viewpoints, so as to gain a broader understanding.

2. "There were not enough examples of...(art, different nations, etc.) In a 12 week course, it is impossible to provide every bit of information each student wants. However, it is a great, brief introduction, enabling learners to search out further resources, if desired.

3. "The lectures were boring as the presenters were..(stiff, reading from a teleprompter.)" As I was told when I was enrolled in another indigenous studies course, we need to accept various ways of teaching. Indigenous peoples had to, and if you are really committed to learning an indigenous-based program, you have to adapt to different teaching styles. It is not easy, and I felt the same way as some of the commenters, at times, but I kept reminding myself of what my former teacher told me.

4. "There were too many teaching modalities, or the modalities were not used to their full capacity." Several different methods, such as lectures, interviews, videos of dancing, art, etc, are helpful for students with different learning styles. As for using the modalities to their full capacity, I feel that in such a short course, there would not be enough time to do so.

I sincerely hope that anyone who begins with an interest in this course does attempt it. I have a few positive points to add.

1. FREE! The fact that this course is provided free of charge, is a wonderful opportunity for anyone who wants to get a very brief synopsis of indigenous Canada.

2. SIMPLE & FUN: The lectures were simple to follow and the interviews and art added a fun component. I believe these attributes make this course accessible to many, including those who have never completed post-secondary coursework prior.

3. CONTRIBUTORS: The creation of this course must have been a monumental task and that fact alone makes one appreciate all contributors for their roles in creating the course.

4. SHORT & MANAGEABLE: The course was short and broken into manageable components. I completed it during breaks at work, in a month.

5. NO PRESSURE FOR GRADES: Unlike grade school, you can redo the quizzes until you pass, or get a higher mark. Personally, I redid the quizzes until I was sure I understood all the information reviewed.

Thank you

by Melissa R

2020年5月8日

This was an extremely important course, clearly outlining and diving into the Indigenous history of Canada. While challenging to hear even more of what colonization did to the Indigenous people, holding space by learning the deep pain that was caused by the settlers I believe is an integral aspect of moving forward in the best possible way, helping them to heal the wounds. I am intensely humbled by the ability of the Indigenous Nations in Canada to continue their vigilant efforts toward self governance and building even more robust cultures.

by Anne H

2020年11月14日

I enjoyed this course but found some of the questions on the end of the unit exams to be confusing based on how they were worded.

by Joan H

2020年11月12日

I enjoyed the content very much and learned a lot. It thought it was well presented. Lecturers were engaging any easy to listen to. My first online course.

I did not like format of the quizzes. Two things. Sometimes there were not enough questions. It’s hard to get a passing Mark if you get a couple of questions wrong if there are only 5 or 6 questions. Plus I thought the phrasing of the questions was terrible. Far too many questions were asked in a negative way. “What was not...” And they were just asked using obscure language that did not really reflect what we had been told, in my opinion.

by Carrie W

2020年12月10日

Redundant format for each module. Questions in quizzes felt designed to be tricky.

by Donna A

2020年9月28日

Other than hating myself as a colonial racist and patriarchal settler at the end of the course I learnt some new things.

There was a problem with the course in regards to the tone of the course which felt angry or sarcastic. I enjoyed learning from the prof from U of A when he brought to life the stories of the Indigenous soldiers.

The story is complex and when the course reports that CBC took down their comment section because of the hateful racist comments in regards to natives ,you forgot to include the context and that that decision included refugees and Muslims. I felt you were creating the noble victimized Indigenous story . I took the course because i wanted to be more informed and actually be present and active as far as truth and reconciliation

I will continue to do this . I would like an extensive reading list to accompany the information from the Indigenous Canada course.

thank you for you time

donna abbey-colborne

by Melissa B

2021年3月12日

I am not learning much. This isn't taught in a coherent fashion. I am not learning in a way that makes sense for me. One video shows dances, the next, suddenly I'm in a language class. Also, I can't Unenroll, it won't go off my list. I was very interested in gaining some knowledge about Indigenous groups in Canada, but this isn't the format for me I guess.

by Melanie J

2020年11月18日

Not receiving certificate

by Marina D E E

2020年10月13日

Tt was my first course on Indigenous Peoples ever and I found it enjoyable and informative. I follow a Circle of All Nations ...which is now led by Romola on behalf of Grandfather William Commanda; an Algonquin elder who has taken the long walk and passed over.

I attended on Parliament Hill , the gathering of the Elders for the Apology. Through this course I now have a better understanding of the history of Canada beyond the Colonial History I was taught.

One of my maternal ancestors who lived in Ipswich, Massachussets took part in advocating for local Indigenous land rights following the Maine Massachusetts Quebec Peace treaty (s).

I now understand how important the ancestors are and I want to revisit some of the modules before the course has ended.

Thank you so much for this course, it has truly been educational!

by Stephanie V

2020年8月30日

As an individual working with at risk Indigenous youth, I found this course extremely insightful. There are many aspects of my job that pull from generational trauma, and troubles that Indigenous youth may face. I found that with this course it allowed me to have a better understanding of some of the aspects that my youth may have experienced prior to coming into protective care, and allowed me to help preserve the culture in a home based setting. I hope that I am able to use this information in the future to better assist my youth, and help them transition into the community. Thank you for putting on such a great and informative course! With the Covid 19 crisis, I found that being able to have access to online learning has been a godsend, and allowed a sense of "normalcy". I am forever grateful for online learning!

by Margaret W

2021年2月4日

Although it has taken me quite awhile to complete this course, I have learned a lot. In some ways my perspective has changed. I am a life-long learner at 76, reside in Winnipeg! This city has the largest migration from the North (I think).

I grew up in SW Manitoba, in a rural town where my father was one of few professionals. I have vivid memories of the reservation 6 miles down the road, and of the days 'the Indians came to town'. I have story-memories of some of those days.

I have participated in Courageous Conversation programs, the Blanket ceremony several times, and other discussions. This is an Indigenous course, however I found myself thinking (unit 11) of the many other communities of Canadians, for whom communities are equally important.

by Dianne M

2020年10月7日

Excellent , well presented, researched, informative and engaging. Thoroughly enjoyed each module and being able to study and review at my own pace was appreciated. Artwork, stunning and well described, kudos to artist Kudos to visuals used throughout as well and the presenters did a good job for the amount of information shared to keep it fluid chi meqwetch. Dianne Marilyn Musgrove (Whyacknook qwe) Ojibway Whitefish River First Nation, Ontario

by Kaisa H C

2020年5月16日

This was a thought provoking course which presented a lot of knowledge on the social, political, cultural, and spiritual structures previously unknown about the First Nation People in Canada. The only negative of the course is there are no more follow up MOOCs to this one! Well done in a respectful manner. Thank you for the knowledge.

by SYED N N

2019年1月11日

I have been enjoying the course since it belongs to the Indigenous peoples having a very long history not only in North America but in other European countries. Amazingly designed course increase my knowledge and I would like to continue reading about Aboriginal peoples in future as well.

by Erin L

2020年6月8日

I am feeling grateful for this crucial learning. I will be an ally and help move our country forward in equality and unity. This world would be so much better off listening and following our FNMI sisters and brothers. My deepest thanks!

by kyra f

2019年6月25日

this is the best online course i have taken..lots of flexibility in your hours and courses. i really enjoyed learning about Indigenous peoples of Canada as i an Inuit but haven't really ever learned about other native peoples of Canada.

by Tammy A

2019年2月17日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, a wealth of knowledge, I cried many times over the in-justness succumbed by indigenous peoples then and now. I have recommended this course to everyone I know. Thank you for making this course possible!

by Chantal L M

2018年4月26日

This was a great course and I would recommend it. I learned so much more about the history of Canada and more importantly the contemporary issues facing indigenous and settler peoples. Thank you the UA and the instructors for providing

by Zachary B

2020年8月17日

Extremely eye opening as a non- indigenous person. The course notes as well as the videos helped me gather the knowledge I need to pursue a profession helping the indigenous youth. Thank you for all your hard work put into this course.

by Katalin K

2019年8月5日

I learned so much from this course and truly appreciate the comprehensiveness and care detail taken to cover so many fundamental concepts. Leah Dorion's artwork was beautiful to experience in the interactive modules. Thank you so much.

by Elizabeth D

2020年8月16日

I didn't grow up in Canada and had a limited understanding of the history and present of Indigenous people. I enjoyed and learned much from the course and will work towards being an ally. Feels like a good accomplishment at age 69!