Chevron Left
Industrial Biotechnology に戻る

マンチェスター大学(University of Manchester) による Industrial Biotechnology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,510件の評価
590件のレビュー

コースについて

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

人気のレビュー

MK

2021年3月5日

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC

2020年4月28日

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

フィルター:

Industrial Biotechnology: 51 - 75 / 596 レビュー

by Ethan H Q A

2020年7月25日

I think that this course actually requires moderately strong understanding of Organic Chemistry to understand certain sections, such as the fourth module on pharmaceutical processes. The case studies used in that module could certainly be simplified and conveyed more effectively to students lacking the Organic Chemistry foundation and better labeling of diagrams would allow us to keep track of the numerous chemical processes. Overall, it provides a tremendously reliable projection of the future of biotechnology applications and how students like myself could apply basic science concepts to productive and life-changing research.

by Thakshila W

2021年12月6日

I'm Thakshila and I'm specializing in biotechnology from a state university of Sri Lanka. Actually this course motivated me to think differently in biotechnology field. Because this course taught to think out of the box. Also, I'm really happy as I could get 100 marks for 5 assignments from all 6 assignments in this course with the final grade of 98.54% for the whole course. I really really really recommend this course for students those who are passionate in this field. And also the lecturers of this course are doing it very well and their teaching style is really attractive. Thank you

by Manish K

2020年4月30日

This is one of the best courses available on Coursera for the Biotech enthusiasts. Each module/chapter is designed in a way that covers a lot of important topics. The lectures are recorded by highly experienced industry experts cum professors. I have learned a great deal out of it. If given a chance (many variables) I would personally like to attend a masters or doctoral program in this university.

I am a bit disappointed by the fact that the course doesn't offer a certificate. But I would still give it a 5 star for the excellent course structure and contents.

by Daniela A

2020年12月12日

This course was very enjoyable from start to end! I decided to take this course to gain more insights about the area after having a brief introduction in college, and I was not disappointed! The modules are very well-structured and synthesized, giving a very good perspective of what is already known in the field and what can be the future expectations and aspirations. The professionals do a very good job at communicating the subjects in question and provide a strong basis of understanding. Fantastic.

by Shirley H

2020年8月21日

The overall course content was highly informative and gave me a wider range of knowledge but in certain videos i felt that it must be updated to recent content as in some places it was mentioned about the information that was available in 2013 but its 2020 now with so much things that have been developed so an updation would be helpful.. The course has motivated me to further pursue in this domain of biotechnology. I sincerely thank every faculties who made this course very informative.

by Magleeta P

2022年2月22日

The Industrial Biotechnology MOOC has been very intriguing with excellent delivery of various modules by the Research academicians at the University of Manchester. This course has in many ways added to my present knowlegde and encouraged me to read up more on th topics discussed. It's a must have certificate course for anyone aspiring an educational future in Biotechnology and I highly recommend it from my own experience.

by Miguel A D G

2022年2月8日

Es muy importante a la hora de proyectar el uso de nuevas tecnologias la implementacion de la biotecnologia en el reducir la contaminacion industrial y producir similares o mejores resulatdos, pero para eso tenemos que dar nuestro apoyo e ingenio para alcanzar las condiciones y requerimientos necesarios para la prosperidad de la biotecnologia en la industria y la mejora de la situación social y ambiental

by Dapboklang R

2022年1月14日

The course was taught by professionals in their fields and in a brief an simple way starting with the basics in every lecture and summarizing the particular topic at the end of every lecture which was very helpful for me to retain the knowledge shared by the teachers of this course. The quizzes are conceptual which really tests my understanding on the topics taught. All in all, it was a good experience!

by Santiago

2020年12月31日

Great course! Covers diverse topics of biotechnology and biotechnological applications, some of which I had no idea of their existence. Also has case studies that complement the theoretical classes and let one perceive how a real application of biotechnology really looks like, with some very important takeaway messages about what biotechnology can really make in an industrial setting.

by Hashmat S B

2022年2月11日

I was initially worried that with my limited knowledge of biology, I would struggle even though the content upon first look interested me. I thoroughly enjoyed reading through extra material and widening my knowledge on biotech after learning the core concepts of the subject. Really well structured and delivered. Thanks a ton to all the contributors and the University of Manchester.

by Niki P

2020年11月24日

This course provides very useful information about different aspects of Industrial Biotechnology and helped me educate myself on something I really enjoy. The expanations were on point and very essential, the presentations were also very well structured and easy to comprehend!! I definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in Industrial Biotechnology.

by Antonio J

2021年2月18日

Se trata de un curso muy interesante e instructivo enfocado a comprender algo más el rol que tiene la biotecnología a nivel industrial, papel que no se trata tanto en la universidad donde se da mayor importancia a la investigación. En conclusión gran curso que sirve como complemento o como iniciación a a la biotecnología.

by Ilya G

2020年6月15日

Good introduction in to the area. Gives even a non-specialist a good understanding of the current state, trends and developments in the field and related areas, as well as provides numerous sources for further reading. I enjoyed taking it, and hope that investing in this course will later pay off by advancing my career.

by Aman P

2020年12月10日

This is a very much informative and interesting course. I can’t express my feelings that How much I am excited to complete this fantastic course. A very much standing ovation to the course makers and professors. Thanking you all for the fantastic course which helps in boosting my knowledge in the area of Biotechnology.

by Bhaskar J N

2020年9月4日

An excellent introductory course for researchers of Industrial biotechnology. Every aspects of of advancements of industrial applications of biological systems were covered and well explained by experts of respective fields. I highly recommend this course for fellow researchers focused in bio-industrial sector.

by M. S

2020年8月1日

This was a very informative and insightful course about the numerous applications of Biotechnology in the industry, and also about the growing futuristic trends in the fields of biopharmaceuticals, bioenergy and biomaterials.

I sincerely thank the course instructors for putting up this wonderful course.

by Farah G

2017年12月15日

Even as a graduate student in MSC biotechnology, i found this course immensely helpful in not only acting as a refresher for all the basic stuff ,but also a good update on the new things going on in parts that are not in my immediate interest. Thanks to the awesome Manchester team for an amazing Mooc!

by eldina m

2022年3月10日

This course provides a lot of information from base knowledge about enzyme dan it principle untill how enzym impact in large production scale such as pharmaceutical, etc. This course is not only supported by one particular nowledgement perspective but also from other multi-disciplinary knowledge.

by Akhilesh G

2019年4月9日

Overall, a great brush-up course for a biotechnologist but is not at all recommadable to someone new to this field. Applicative part is imprevise and i learnt many new things about molecules i knew but did not acknowledge. I would refer this course to every biotechnology aspirant.

by Guillem P B

2021年12月5日

Super helpful, it has helped me to gain the necessary knowledge about the field i'm most interested in (which is biopharmaceuticals). It's also really complete and it gives you the basic knowledge to make you want to search for more information and knowledge on this field.

by Aedrian A

2021年1月18日

This is an extremely interesting course and has widened my understanding of career & research options in biotechnology. Nevertheless, I think that at least a collegiate-level grasp of biology and chemistry is necessary to appreciate the material.

by Yatin T

2021年2月7日

It was a wonderful experience learning this course which such great experienced professors. This course helped us with great understanding of the role that pharmaceuticals play in day to day life. Would recommend many more to do this course.

by Claudia R

2020年12月30日

This course was wonderful, it make more interested about the biochemical engineering branch being a chemical engineering undergraduate student, I hope someday I could make a master about this topic in Manchester University. I really love it.

by Kamini T

2020年5月6日

I really enjoyed this course. This course is very interesting and very helpful for me. This course gives me alot of knowledge and interest in this course.I learn many things from this course and really i enjoyed this course...Great course.

by youssef b

2021年4月7日

c'est un cours très intéressant, il occupe tous ce qui est en relation avec les bioénergies , l'ingénierie eczématique, aussi les domaines de biopharmaceutique et le design des biomatériaux. excellent cours et je vous remercier infiniment