Chevron Left
Industrial Biotechnology に戻る

マンチェスター大学(University of Manchester) による Industrial Biotechnology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,181件の評価
297件のレビュー

コースについて

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

人気のレビュー

JC

Apr 29, 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

JQ

Aug 07, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and although I am not a chemist nor a research biotech guy, I am a dentist that enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about industrial biotechnology. Thanks so much!

フィルター:

Industrial Biotechnology: 226 - 250 / 293 レビュー

by Anton Z

May 23, 2020

The course presents a comprehensive overview of significant Industrial Biotech achievements and most promising areas of study. The creators put great emphasis on genetic engineering opportunities. However, in the real enzyme world, true non-GMO enzymes can be perfectly applied in many cases, specifically in the food sector with very high yields and selectivity. I would love to see more specifics on how some certain enzymes were developed, how some certain genes were picked with a further tune-up of the downstream process. Overall, I enjoyed the course a lot, specifically the part about next-generation biofuels and biopharmaceutical synthesis.

by PUNYA J

May 16, 2020

There are some pesky details which are relevant only for a very specific set of learners but nevertheless are part of the tests. On the other hand, the course, in general is well developed and well presented. The focus is on introducing the immense possibilities in the field while giving some technical knowledge to understand and appreciate the advancements in this field. Great course for a beginner. My advice to a general learner would be to not get bogged down if you get low scores in the tests and focus on long term learning gains.

by Shuvayan D

Jun 18, 2020

A great course from wonderful professors. I am really thankful to them. The course is not completely for beginners. You need some preliminary knowledge of drugs designing, bioinformatics,tissue engineering to completely understand the course. The details and prospects of biofuels , biopharmaceuticals ,biomaterials are really exciting!

by Brendan C

Jan 28, 2019

Very informative and captivating course. I feel like my understanding of biotechnology is now at a point where I can pick up topics of interest to learn more at my leisure. I'd love to take another course like this.

Most of the lecturers were great, except for the glycoscience Prof., who just read out long wordy slides.

by Miao L

Jan 22, 2019

Overall it's a great course to generally peek into Industrial Biotechnology. Since my major is biochemistry, this course is not difficult for me to catch up with. It's quite a good resource for academic researchers to broaden the horizons, especially in applications and real cases of their research.

by Jorge A C B

Apr 14, 2020

It is well stablish but I think that in some lessons the thematic is way too deepen, more that what it should, and in other is just too simple. I would reorganize better the course and work with more pedagogic slides.

by Ahmed I H A M

Jan 09, 2018

I really loved this course, I gained more knowledge in terms of general industrial biotechnology. However, It would be tremendously helpful to put some examples of applied techniques in production of bio medicines.

by Gammadde H M R J

Jun 09, 2020

The course content is very important and updated. it will be a great support in our career as well. thank you so much for attractive presentations.

There are some issues related to the obtaining of the certificate.

by Aditya V

May 18, 2019

Good overview of industrial biotechnology. I especially enjoyed the modules on bioprocessing, they were general enough to teach broadly applicable concepts. The later modules were a little too specific for me.

by Bruno V F R

Feb 17, 2020

Please, note that the test to the 3rd week has lots of "X" marked at the end of some questions: the sames that are the correct showing the response before the students can even think about the questions.

by Matteo G P

Jul 14, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to the world of industrial biotechnology. For the most part the course is detailed enough to keep you interested. Gets a bit generic and repetitive towards the end though.

by Rute C

Oct 20, 2018

Several interesting topics are teached along the course, however the structure of the course seems to be a little bit disorganized in some of the weeks. Also, the videos could be more appealing.

by Likhitha S

May 13, 2020

It was really useful and thus, i could learn about this before my semester classes. It was very informative. But i was really disappointed because you didn't offer the certificate.

by Cerelia C

Jul 09, 2020

Interesting and engaging course although does not go as in depth as I had expected; would have liked to learn more and to look more into the biochemistry behind the technology

by Patricia K A

Jun 23, 2020

It was usefull. The course gave a very clear idea of the use of enzymes in industry, bioenergy, bio pharmaceuticals. thanks to all Professor who could take these lectures

by Md. M

May 13, 2020

I really enjoyed completing the industrial biotechnology course. Very informative course for me. I learned many important thing about industrial biotechnology. Thank you

by Markus D

Apr 11, 2020

Good overview of the topics for industrial Biotechnology. One more chapter for industrial production of glycoscience or tissue production would be benefical.

by Snehal K

Apr 16, 2020

Very great initiative to aware students of knowledge from home itself...and helpful to add up in future opportunities..if provided with certificate.

by Álvaro L A

Nov 04, 2019

Quizás demasiado básico en algunos aspectos, y por otro lado también ofrece demasiado ejemplos concretos...Lo mejor la cantidad de temas que abarca

by Rahul S

Apr 23, 2020

it's an amazing course which highlights every essential part involved in industrial biotechnology while suggesting advancements for future.

by Sharavanakkumar S

Jul 08, 2020

If the course is more interactive, it will one of the best course for bio-technologist. But the course materials are at good standard.

by Elena M B

Mar 04, 2020

Very interesting and complete course. However, this is from 4 years ago now and it would be nice to know how is it nowadays.

by Jianteng J H

Jan 29, 2020

I have learnt a lot out of what I expected. Working in a pharmaceutical sector, week 3 and week 6 lessons are my favorite.

by Ajharul I A

Jul 15, 2020

It is a great course for beginners to learn the different aspects of biotechnology, especially industrial biotechnology.