Chevron Left
Industrial Biotechnology に戻る

マンチェスター大学(University of Manchester) による Industrial Biotechnology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
2,593件の評価
611件のレビュー

コースについて

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

人気のレビュー

MK

2021年3月5日

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC

2020年4月28日

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

フィルター:

Industrial Biotechnology: 26 - 50 / 618 レビュー

by Michael N

2019年3月8日

it was pretty good. I learned a lot. Im from Dominican Republic and i didnt know how wonderful and widely is this area of industrial biotechnology. it makes me wanna know more about all of this

by Lahiru P H

2021年9月26日

The course was super awesome... Thank you for offering me a financial aid and for issuing the certificate without any discrimination.... Thanks a lot COURSERA and THE UNIVERSTY of MANCHESTER... I love its content and I'm sure that one won't regret to spare time on this !!!

by Datta D G

2021年11月21日

The course is not in-depth, it will give you a good idea about the actual practice used in the field of industrial biotechnology but you will not learn to apply those practices. The course is like a solid overview upon industrial biotechnology without practical application. I would not blame anyone for this since its online course and having practical hand on skills like genome editing, DNA editing, process scale up is quite impossible. In the end I felt like the course in more oriented towards the pharmaceutical sector instead I was hoping to learn more about biofuels. Anyways, I am happy I did this course. I got to learn so many new things. Hope so I don't have any issue with certifications.

by Wael G E

2020年1月28日

a very nice course for a beginner like me to start understanding the wonderful world of biotechnology in industry. I would like to improve in this course is to offer a certificate of achievement.

by Atul B

2021年10月12日

Some of the concepts were probably much more suited to an experienced practitioner as opposed to someone seeking introduction to principles of biotechnology

by Anas M s s y I

2020年4月30日

the first week was so of point but the other weeks are grate

and the other star for not having a certificate :(

by Sherif A K E G

2021年12月15日

it is hard to grasp the material, the instructors are very fast and not emphasizing the important key points.

by Shivani N L

2020年4月15日

It could've been more interactive and the notes in the ppt's more short and sweet .

by Sebastian S

2020年4月1日

Usable as a very general overview, detailed insight lacking.

by BEATRIZ L P

2020年4月6日

Great course, however you must offer a certificate

by Shreemaya R

2019年12月15日

This was a very interesting course. It showcased a variety of techniques that are currently being applied in the field of biotechnology. This course provided a wide variety of industrial applications of biotechnology being applied in various sectors.

by Aura A T G

2021年5月10日

Es un curso muy completo que te introduce a diversas áreas emocionantes de la biotecnología. Da ejemplos concretos y complementa bien tu conocimiento si estudias una carrera relacionada a estos temas. Definitivamente lo recomiendo :D

by Moiz K

2021年3月6日

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

by Shivaji B M

2020年7月13日

such a excellent platform, educators are so well they explained each and every concept in very simplified way.I am very happy to gain a lots of knowledge abot actual industrial biotechnology

by Heidy X F G

2021年4月16日

Me gustó bastante la temática que trataron en el curso, algo bastante interesante y aplicable para mi profesión.

by Amal A

2021年10月8日

Very informative. Got to learn a lot as a high school student, but I had to do some extra research and reading on the respective topics for better understanding.

by Deepak Y

2020年4月12日

Helpfull

by Wong K H

2018年5月16日

Highly useful. But I wish there was an explanation for terms

by Vedika N

2020年2月2日

i really like the course and it was quite informative

by Sonali k

2020年5月16日

This course was very helpful and provide lot of information

by Amit D

2021年9月11日

Did not receive any certificate at the end, which was quite unexpected..After taking the assignments, there must be a recognition at least.

by Angelo R

2021年5月8日

The course certificate needs to fix, instead of Manchester it says Man and the rest is missing.

by Maily S G A

2020年9月13日

Certificate problems. The university logo does not fully load on the certifcate.

by Patricia M N

2020年7月15日

Thanks to all professors of the Industrial Biotechnology course. The course syllabus was very well designed with every topic being taught in depth; which allowed me to learn a lot and enjoy each topic. My only complaint is that given the advanced level of the course there was not certificate available. I would like that in the future the University of Manchester offers in Coursera a specialization degree in Industrial Biotechnology and later a master and doctorate degree in the same field.

Besides, I would like that, given the depth experience of University of Manchester in this field, also offer courses in Molecular Tools for microorganism identification in soils and water and Microbial inoculant formulation for environmental and agriculture uses.

Thanks again for this wonderful course,

Patricia Martinez

Best Regards,

Patricia Martinez

Mostrar mensaje original

by Leidy J G G

2020年8月15日

It really was a course that contributed a lot to me, I am a student of engineering in agro-industrial processes and complement my knowledge about: -The enzymes, how they work, how they are manufactured, their classification etc. -Synthetic biology which is an evolving field, designing a genome,production of useful molecules, the central dogma, directed metabolomics -Biochemical and bioprocess engineering, the subject of material balance was really captivating for me, I managed to understand the subject with the everyday examples it describes. I could go on to describe all the knowledge that this course offers, but in reality I can only recommend this course. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!