Chevron Left
Industrial Biotechnology に戻る

マンチェスター大学(University of Manchester) による Industrial Biotechnology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,191件の評価
299件のレビュー

コースについて

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

人気のレビュー

JC

Apr 29, 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

JQ

Aug 07, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and although I am not a chemist nor a research biotech guy, I am a dentist that enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about industrial biotechnology. Thanks so much!

フィルター:

Industrial Biotechnology: 51 - 75 / 295 レビュー

by Josia P

Jun 28, 2020

Was fun to get more insight into what is possible in biotechnology, and the thought processes behind it. Most lectures were well excecuted. I will definetely be continuing my study of industrial biotech.

by George N E

Nov 19, 2017

An eye-opener indeed. Particularly on the trends and prospects in the application of bio-molecular techniques in the industries and the in silico design and modification of enzymes ; fascinating indeed.

by Ilse E M T

Jun 08, 2020

It is a great course, full of information and additional materials to complement the lectures. I strongly recommend it for someone who wants to be updated on new techniques in the biotech industry.

by Shivaji B M

Jul 13, 2020

such a excellent platform, educators are so well they explained each and every concept in very simplified way.I am very happy to gain a lots of knowledge abot actual industrial biotechnology

by Deemi F O P

Jul 09, 2020

It was very easy to understand the concepts, super interesting and engaging. You learn a lot of the applications biotechnology already has and the many more it I’ll have in the future.

by Megan B

May 12, 2020

Really educational course. Good case studies. Good Introduction to the industrial biology world. Nice mix of instructors with different specialties. I feel like I've learned a lot!

by Haththotuwa G A S S

Jun 27, 2020

Even though I successfully completed and haven't received the certificate , this course has provided me a great chance to get an idea about the industrial bio technology sector.

by Nolba M

Jun 01, 2020

This course gives you an overview of industrial biotechnology, it is very well illustrated with examples. It also offers complementary material to consult. Excellent, thanks!

by RITU R

Jun 15, 2020

It was really informative course and I got to learn many new and advanced things in Industrial Biotechnology. My favorite topic was Pharmaceuticals and fine chemicals.

by MALLIMOGGALA H

Jun 08, 2020

Everything is interesting and a good course to improvise our thinking skills practically but only issue from my side was 1 or 2 lectures were not audible properly.

by Komal P

Jul 15, 2020

All aspects of industrial biotechnology are very well explained by professors.It was really beneficial and worth to enroll for industrial biotechnology course.

by Vandita V

May 09, 2020

Very informative course. Starts with the basics and gradually introduces and builds upon the concepts. The questions in the assessment are also very well made.

by Apoorva V M

Jul 01, 2020

The course gave me better knowledge on how industrial biotechnology works and what are its different aspects. It was very insightful and enjoyable experience!

by Dr. H P

Jun 11, 2020

This course given compherensive idea about various fields biotechnologist can perform. It is good have such vast diverse knowledge for considersing options.

by Sanjay P V R

Jun 22, 2020

This 6 week cource is very interesting and is useful for young learners to get knowledge about the field .I thank the University for initiating this cource

by TAM C S

Jun 07, 2020

I know more about how the biotechnology used in industry to solve the problems and the trend of biotechnology. Thank you for the professor in this course.

by Jay P

Jul 29, 2020

Great and well-planned course! All the modules were explained clearly and effectively, and the course has developed my interest in the field of science.

by GODWIN J J G

Jul 28, 2020

This is an excellent course. Each module is motivating to become a researcher in Industrial Biotechnology. Thanking Coursera for providing this course.

by Shivani d

May 06, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and although . I am a student that enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about industrial biotechnology ...Thanku so much

by Patel A R

May 18, 2020

Best course that provides the structure and applications with various day to day life examples, techiques of the Industrial biotechnology.

by Amaliyah R I U

Jul 26, 2020

I got more knowledge to upgrade my expertise in conducting my research and teaching of my class. Thank you for this awesome online class.

by Ankita P

Jul 07, 2020

I am very thankful to the organizers for arranging this course. The presentations and resource materials were informative and useful.

by Dr. K T

Apr 28, 2020

Extremely interesting course. Also very attractive due to examples of biotechnology examples of real industrial applications.

by Dhruva M

Jul 15, 2020

This course is an excellent example for the beginners. I only wish there is a specialization course for the bio-fuel cells.

by Liliana D R

May 07, 2020

Me pareció bastante bueno en general, considero que falta tocar temas de edición genética y diseño de proteínas