Chevron Left
Intellectual Humility: Science に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Intellectual Humility: Science の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
93件の評価
23件のレビュー

コースについて

It’s clear that the world needs more intellectual humility. But how do we develop this virtue? And why do so many people still end up so arrogant? Do our own biases hold us back from becoming as intellectually humble as we could be—and are there some biases that actually make us more likely to be humble? Which cognitive dispositions and personality traits give people an edge at being more intellectually humble - and are they stable from birth, learned habits, or something in between? And what can contemporary research on the emotions tell us about encouraging intellectual humility in ourselves and others? Experts in psychology, philosophy and education are conducting exciting new research on these questions, and the results have important, real-world applications. Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. In this course, we will examine the following major questions about the science of intellectual humility: • How do we become intellectually humble? • What can human cognition tell us about intellectual humility? • How does arrogance develop, and how can we become more open-minded? • How do emotions affect our ability to be intellectually humble? All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course can be taken as a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility. In the previous course on the theory behind intellectual humility, we considered how to define intellectual humility, the nature of an intellectual virtue, and how we know who is intellectually humble. If you are interested, complete all three courses to gain a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Theory - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-theory • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice...

人気のレビュー

SK

Sep 04, 2017

All of the information presented was relevant, I find, and the optional information was enlightening without being too much.

LK

Mar 12, 2018

So very interesting, and presented in a way that makes you curious and enthusiastic to dig deeper. Great teachers!!

フィルター:

Intellectual Humility: Science: 1 - 23 / 23 レビュー

by Susan K

Sep 04, 2017

All of the information presented was relevant, I find, and the optional information was enlightening without being too much.

by susanspirytus

Sep 24, 2017

少点简答题就好了

by Lisbeth K

Mar 12, 2018

So very interesting, and presented in a way that makes you curious and enthusiastic to dig deeper. Great teachers!!

by Edi d

Jul 30, 2017

I found this course to be very timely in this polarized world. I wish these ideas were taught in school.

by Clifton L

Aug 29, 2017

Excellent course.

by Kathleen R

Feb 16, 2018

Well-paced, interesting, informative course. Highly recommend.

by Hamad A

Nov 23, 2017

the best

by Hyunsook K

Jul 24, 2017

Thank you for challenging me to become a person of intellectual humility.

by Bernard B

Jul 31, 2017

Very valuable course for people who want to learn openness in everyday life and understanding emotions

by maria n c s l

Jun 23, 2018

I I loved the course, the knowledge brought and excellent, the more we study, the more we want to study about it. loved the course, the knowledge brought and excellent, the more we study, the more we want to study about it.ved the course, the knowledge brought and excellent, the more we study, the more we want to study about it.

by Deepak M

Jan 08, 2018

The topic is quite unusual. I was looking for Data science and machine learning courses. This was something that I just happened to check out. After going through this course, I feel enabled to be more aware of our biases, the way we think, the benefits of being humble and the pitfalls of having intellectual arrogance. They have experts in this field give concise information in small chunks, that is easy to comprehend and reflect. The quiz questions and the further reading pdfs add value to the overall course. I am happy and feel fortunate to have selected this course. I will definitely encourage more of my family and friends to take this up. Thanks to University of Edinburgh for making this course available to public and to Coursera to host it for free.

by Darren G

Mar 02, 2018

For life-long-learners: I view this course as highly valuable.

by greatdandy

Jul 30, 2017

the views of every professor is really clear and the turns of the four lectures is of much logic. After this class, the meanings of humility are more clear. It is actually an openness altitude including humble, patience, and respect with other people. Especially when we communicate with others, the first thing comes to our mind should be that this is an individual have many different views or experiences with ourselves, which will make us be more tolerated about others.

by Despina P

Apr 29, 2018

I believe this course is very important. I am sorry because most scientists, albeit their education, do not even know what intellectual humility is.

by Roberto R

Jul 14, 2017

Wonderfull, thanks

by Germán E C H

May 19, 2019

Very interesting course.

by Jorge T R

Feb 11, 2018

I guess you may learn a lot of things you didn't know about Humility. Those will make you think about how to become a more humble person, and you will be aware of the importance of that virtue in your day to day life. Don't hesitate to take this course after the Theory.

by Andrew R

Jul 25, 2017

I found aspects of this course very informative. There is a sense that the field is new which is, I suppose, as exciting as it is frustrating. The fourth module presented by Prof. Vasu Reddy is the most engaging presentation I have seen in online education. Her short lectures are fresh and exciting and her keen scholarship is informed by a great breadth of compassion and a natural instinct for inclusion. It is worth taking the course for this alone. I found some of the other material rather dry but that, I feel, may be a matter of taste. The course is well structured and a useful insight into some of the thinking in an important and pioneering field of investigation.

by harley m

Aug 02, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. When I signed up for it I wasn't sure what to expect and it certainly surpassed any expectations I did have. Well worth doing to understand our biases and how we might better engage with the world.

by Rohan R

Jan 01, 2018

Dr. Vasu Reddy's take on intellectual humility was intriguing.

by Daniel S

Jul 17, 2017

Course is really interesting, and there is a lot to this topic that I feel should find its way into a modern dialogure, as a critical feature of persons you wish to empower as leaders. If people understood this concept, Trump would not have won. But the section on correlations and data speak are really a bit tedious. Coursera is not really the format for data-intense courses on statistics, in my view the key is to focus on main conclusions and lectures should not be a reproduction of research results as in a technical paper re-.broadcast.

by Hubert W

Jul 21, 2017

It is an interesting course and very simple to follow. The things, I learned, are that intellectual humility is connected to different things as stated by different professors. So each of professors were correct, then their views would be more confusing than clarifying. However, intellectual humility is a very controversial topic and it is good to look at it from different angle.

by Kirstie J

Jun 16, 2019

The material in the last week was great.. otherwise i found it to be a little dry.