Chevron Left
Intellectual Humility: Theory に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Intellectual Humility: Theory の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
stars
226件の評価
54件のレビュー

コースについて

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

人気のレビュー

SM

Dec 13, 2017

After this class I can say that I dwell on aspects I learned every day. Among the best MOOCs available. This should be required at colleges and universities. Highly recommend.

JM

May 03, 2017

I am a computer scientist who hates waffle. This course presents a topic that I have no knowledge about in a way that is interesting , succinct and thought provoking

フィルター:

Intellectual Humility: Theory: 1 - 25 / 53 レビュー

by Kristin H

Apr 26, 2017

For me, this class was a fantastic introduction to the wonderful world of MOOCs! Not only was the content well-delivered and dynamic, with a variety of speakers, short and easily manageable video lectures, great discussion forum topics, and a wealth of optional supplemental materials, but I really appreciated how the experience was organized. As a first time MOOCer, uncertain of how much time I could dedicate to my learning schedule, I appreciated the three level track system that allowed me to allot my time accordingly as desired and able - the mere existence of "Learn," "Engage," and "Go Deeper" tracks reassured me that I could get the required work done, and explore further at my leisure. In fact, I tended to get through all the levels, but I appreciated the opportunity to customize my learning experience.

A great introduction to an important concept, and a superb overview of philosophy, psychology, and sociology - none of which I have studied in depth before. Excellent course for the Beginner all the way to the Advanced student. I have already registered for the follow-ups on Science and Practice, to be launched this summer and fall. Really well done!

by Brian J

Dec 19, 2017

This is an excellent course. I took it because I know that I am not very intellectually humble, and I would benefit personally from taking it. I found the course very useful in providing definitions for intellectual humility, and descriptions of why it is useful in developing more accurate views of the world by understanding the limitations in my own knowledge, accepting that other people have valuable things to say and understanding the dangers of intellectual arrogance.

by Tomek C

Feb 02, 2017

This course is really well put together. The lectures are easy to follow and explain all points very clearly. I appreciate the supplementary quizzes to help me cement the knowledge from the lectures. The course provides tons of extra resources, so that you can entrench yourself in the learning as much as you like--or you can just follow the lectures to learn the essential. My only recommendation would be to add more in-video questions.

by Jose A S

Feb 01, 2018

I have words of recognition and admiration for those scholars who have had the courage to face and teach this subject. What we see in the academia , in the government and in the business and in the press is pride, contempt and arrogance. Many thanks to make this subject available in an honest and humble mode.

by Luke P

Dec 15, 2016

I found this course to be insightful and fair in it's teachings and understanding of what is a new developmental field of Philosophy. I also believe that much more research should be done into this and that many people could benefit from it and especially this course! Thanks!

by Hazel O

Oct 02, 2019

This topic is so important and I feel so fortunate to have access to it. It's hard for me to find new learning opportunities relevant to my personal and professional development. This was a very rich intellectual resource for me. Thank you.

by Stefanie H

Dec 30, 2017

thank you so much, this was a wonderful overview over concepts and measures of intellectual humility, useful to me to keep myself on track in the face of peer-pressure. I wish you much success with on-going research, and teaching.

by maria n c s l

Dec 31, 2018

I loved this course, and others. now I'm sad because the coursera has changed platform and I can no longer copy lessons to study later. as I know almost nothing English I copied and then translated to study.

by Scott M

Dec 13, 2017

After this class I can say that I dwell on aspects I learned every day. Among the best MOOCs available. This should be required at colleges and universities. Highly recommend.

by Joanne M

May 03, 2017

I am a computer scientist who hates waffle. This course presents a topic that I have no knowledge about in a way that is interesting , succinct and thought provoking

by Rebecca M

Jul 09, 2018

This was a very helpful introduction to an area I wanted to know more about. I found the lectures enjoyable and the quizzes made sure I was paying attention!

by Muhammad Y

Dec 11, 2016

I have learnt a lot from this course. it has opened my eyes about my own self. it will serve as reformer of my self. I am thankful to the learned faculty.

by Víctor R H M

Nov 07, 2017

It was a very refreshing view on a topic that it is not usually thought about in a philosophical way. It was a clear and constantly engaging course.

by Chinami O

Aug 12, 2019

This course has given me an opportunity to reflect myself as well as others. Highly recommended if you are interested in communication.

by Diego B

Jan 20, 2017

Excelente curso, debemos lograr que cada día sean más los humildes intelectuales, de esa manera cambiaremos nuestro mundo.

by Peter C

Oct 24, 2017

I think this is a course for our time. Given the lack of civil engagement and thoughtful expressions of opinion.

by Sabīne

Jan 03, 2017

This course was quite informative and pleasurable. The short format perfectly fit the scope of the topic.

by Sabrina B

Oct 17, 2018

Brilliant course, a plethora of information on offer. Really thought and discussion provoking concepts.

by Darko

Aug 13, 2017

Useful in every aspect.. for a better and creative livning, with the right understanding of yourself.

by Tatiana M

Mar 13, 2018

Very interesting and well explained course with nice material and plenty of additional readings.

by Wes D S

Aug 16, 2018

I think I learned a bit that I'll keep with me for a long time. Really enjoyed the course. :)

by Alice J

Feb 16, 2019

Very interesting course, even better if you pair it with the others on Intellectual Humility

by Edi d

Sep 03, 2017

This is one of the most timely courses I have taken. It applies very much to my life.

by Paulo R V P

Dec 23, 2016

Excelente base teórica sobre a humildade intelectual, com aulas, textos e atividades.

by Verónica L R R

Feb 20, 2017

Well explained by all instructors, easy to understand and even entertaining.