Chevron Left
Introduction to International Criminal Law に戻る

ケース・ウェスタン・リザーブ大学(Case Western Reserve University) による Introduction to International Criminal Law の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
3,295件の評価
851件のレビュー

コースについて

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

人気のレビュー

LS

2020年10月24日

Extremely well-organized. Really glad to see how all previous examples and history records were referenced to every topic. Neatly explained topics. Every aspect was discussed and explained in detail.

AM

2020年9月21日

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

フィルター:

Introduction to International Criminal Law: 76 - 100 / 849 レビュー

by Miila N

2022年4月6日

Dear Michael,

Your course was very interesting and gave me lot of inspiration about the field of Internation Criminal Law.

What I suggest that the certificates could contain short descriptions of the issues we learnt. That would help to prove acknowledments.

Thank you,

Miila Nieminen

Finland

by Laura M

2015年11月28日

Videos and readings were very clear, I appreciated the fact that our professor was very knowledgable on the subject of international criminal law. There were many different examples and case studies presented that helped further my knowledge of how international criminal proceedings go.

by Florencia P

2020年9月16日

Muchas gracias por la oportunidad que me dieron para poder realizar este curso. Fue muy didáctico, practico e interactivo. Me llevo muchos conocimientos nuevos. Espero poder participar de otros cursos. Gracias nuevamente. Totalmente recomendable!!!! Florencia Parrotta, desde Argentina.

by Kanishka S

2020年5月21日

One of the best course I have had on this platform. The professor is very articulate in his speech and puts forward a very balanced perspective in seemingly complex case situations. Absolutely loved it and highly recommend this course to anyone interested in learning International Law.

by Boo A K

2021年6月12日

Quite impressed by the way Prof Scharf taught. Being a student of legal studies, it was hard to follow when I was taught at my university however, Prof. Scharf made it really easy to comprehend. Thank you Professor and case western reserve team and coursera for your unflagging effort.

by Mohamed A

2020年10月30日

It was very best course of my life. I have learned so many things that I did not. The instructor is really a great teacher, well organized, clear voice and above deep knowledge of the subject matter. I want to thank to him dearly and I want the institution that offered me this course.

by Mehran T

2021年12月6日

It was one the most fascinating courses about international law and its sub-branches that I have ever participated in. It showed me that you can learn law while applying it to the real events out there and that is much more effective than just talking about doctrines and theories.

by Óscar M B N

2021年1月10日

Great Course, the Professor is a great academic, explains everything with real cases. The readings are interesting and they're appropriate for anyone that has a basic knowledge of law. The Simulations are interesting too, and they really help to digest the contents of the course.

by Herver R C D

2020年8月21日

Fue un curso muy interesante y formativo, que complementa nuestra formación en el campo del derecho, nos permitió indagar con objetividad y seriedad desde el origen del la corte internacional penal has los juicios que han sido juzgados, y que forman la jurisdicción internacional.

by Mdumezulu S N

2019年7月14日

The course has been enlightening and very helpful in guiding me towards a better grasp of International Criminal Law. The convenience of the coursera.org online learning environment also means I can do this at a pace and distance that fits in with my daily responsibilities.

by Marcelo J M M

2020年8月1日

O curso é super conciso e as leituras proporcionam ao aluno um desenvolvimento completo das habilidades necessárias para o Direito Penal Internacional, atravessando horizontalmente as áreas do Direito Internacional Público, Política Internacional e Direito Penal. Incrível!

by kennedy m

2021年9月24日

the course has been very helpful and so important to me as a graduate of criminology,criminal justice and public safety.i have enjoyed the course but how ever as i joined the course the information was that the certificate is free only to find that am to pay 49 dollars.

by Violeta A C B

2016年1月29日

Un curso muy interesante y didáctico, útil para quienes no estudiamos derecho. Se discuten casos difíciles y los ejercicios han sido diseñados de manera creativa; además el instructor no sólo conoce la dimensión legal y teórica, sino que tiene experiencias qué compartir.

by mark p

2016年1月16日

absolutely outstanding MOOC; makes great use of all the possibilities of this educational media platform... relentlessly driven by a plethora of highly relevant ICC and other International Tribunal cases and Michael Scharf's undying enthusiasm for all matters criminal...

by Rajagopalan T G

2020年6月15日

It was very helpful as it was my first online course and it was a great experience to be introduced to International Criminal Law as I was unaware of how the International Court Proceedings work. I am very thankful to Prof. Michael Scharf for making it clear and simple.

by Belén A T

2017年6月28日

Un curso extraordinario, breve y conciso. Perfecto como pequeña introducción al mundo del derecho penal internacional. Los videos son muy buenos y las lecturas perfectas. No te exige mucho tiempo, así que es perfecto para complementar otro tipo de educación o trabajo.

by Oliver R

2020年8月14日

Estoy muy contento de tomar este curso de Derecho Penal Internacional, mis expectativas eran diferentes, y estoy gratamente complacido de que me haya proporcionado una visión completa y muy ilustrada de los más notables casos de derecho penal de los últimos tiempos.

by Nicole C

2020年2月12日

The course is definitely worth taking! You will surely obtain so much value from this course but also highly appreciate and be thankful for all that you learn within this course. It is an excellent course in general. Thank you for delivering such an amazing course!

by Matilda F B

2018年1月13日

Studying this course in the past few days has made me aware of how much I can benefit from this website. I think Michael Shalf is brilliant in the way he delivers the lectures. Great video on Nuremberg.Loving this website. I'm starting to enjoy learning again.

by Malaya K T

2019年6月6日

As far as my experience concerned, this course was of great use in our professional career and it is also very much helpful in my graduation. The learned Professor of this course deals with the vast topic of this course very gently and in a precise manner.

by Emayaval N

2018年9月2日

EXCELLENT COURSE THAT EVERY LAW STUDENT HAVE TO LEARN. THE FINAL EXAM WAS JUST AWESOME. DIDN'T EXPECT QUESTIONS OF SUCH HIGH STANDARD. LECTURE VIDEOS WERE SO INTERESTING AND UNDERSTANDABLE. PROFESSOR MICHAEL SCHARF HAS DONE AN EXCELLENT WORK. THANK YOU SIR

by Aubrey A

2022年4月30日

I​ wasn't sure at first what kind of law I wanted to pursue but this course solidified my choice! This is the best course on Coursera. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it and wish there were more courses on here by this professor. Take this course!!!!

by Nuha A M

2020年7月1日

I will miss Sir, the way he teaches it's very easy to understand a complicated course like international criminal law. This course made me more curious about this topic. It was a great journey. I wish I could learn all the subject about law from sir. ❤️

by Deleted A

2020年3月10日

This is a very intense study and lots of lectures that are of excellent quality. A fascinating study!

Dr. Sharf, I think your test mechanism is the best I have ever seen and should be adopted on some part of the MBE.

High Regards!

Steve Joel Moffett, Sr.