Chevron Left
Introduction to International Criminal Law に戻る

ケース・ウェスタン・リザーブ大学(Case Western Reserve University) による Introduction to International Criminal Law の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
3,297件の評価
851件のレビュー

コースについて

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

人気のレビュー

LS

2020年10月24日

Extremely well-organized. Really glad to see how all previous examples and history records were referenced to every topic. Neatly explained topics. Every aspect was discussed and explained in detail.

AM

2020年9月21日

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

フィルター:

Introduction to International Criminal Law: 126 - 150 / 851 レビュー

by Abg. J L R C

2019年3月17日

This course opens the doors for me in the development and advancement of my professional career. It is at the forefront of international standards in the area of higher education. Thank you very much for the opportunity.

by mostafa n

2022年3月26日

I should state that this course was great and the professor gave me lots of significant informations, but the only thing was that its videos were very long and I think it makes students a little bored. thank you a lot.

by Vihaa M

2020年9月9日

An extremely informative course. The professor has explained the topic very well and in depth. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who is interested in learning the basics of international criminal law.

by Vanshika S

2020年5月30日

Thank you to respected instructor for clearly and concisely elucidating the various aspects of international criminal law. The content and material provided was academically rich. This was a wonderful course by CWRU.

by Anoushka C

2021年4月11日

The method of teaching was very systematic and covered many international issues which have become the concens of modern world. The course is highly recommended for people interested in international Criminal Law.

by PRAKHAR J

2020年9月17日

My experience for this course was excellent. It was one of the best courses I've ever had at COURSERA. A special thanks to Prof. Michael Schwarf for teaching this good.....He is an excellent mentor to work under.

by Sarah N

2019年4月27日

This course answers many questions that l had on my mind about the decisions of States. It has enlightened me about the actions of the ICC. Thank you for giving me this opportunity to comprehend international law.

by BRAYAN M A A

2020年8月31日

This course is very intersting, in my university the international criminal law is not developmented however this course and its excelent teacher helped me to undertand this issue in a practical and dinamic way.

by ASHWINI M

2020年4月24日

It was an amazing platform to learn about the history of international criminal along with case law. I had a great time of learning process. Thank you for providing me such a wonderful opportunity of learning😊.

by Tatiana E H

2021年2月12日

Very inspiring courses, well detailed and has a lot of references and examples so law students can understand the practical way of applying these international concepts and what is actually happening in court.

by Aarjav T

2020年8月3日

I was pretty sceptical taking this course. But Professor Scharf makes the material very interesting. This gave me insights into the working of International Law very comprehensively. Recommended for everybody.

by Manvi M

2020年10月2日

Very descriptive, engaging, and interesting. Talks about the most popular cases such as Saddam Hussein's, Osama Bin Laden's trials through analogous films, videos, and pictures to keep the learner intrigued.

by Rose C

2021年9月6日

This is so far the best class that I have taken. The instructor is engaging, the content is captivating, and the layout of the syllabus was excellent! Thank you so much for allowing me to take this class.

by Deny E W S

2021年12月24日

Alhamdulillah, I got a lot of knowledge, thank you to all the lecturers and resource persons, thank you againI got a lot of knowledge, thank you to all the lecturers and resource persons, thank you again

by Alexandre P d M S F

2020年8月26日

Pretty good course. It not only provides you with a good understanding of the dynamics of international law, but also teaches the student about various historical cases and their political repercussions.

by Adérito T V V

2020年9月25日

Foi um curso extraordinário para mim, com conteúdo muito bem elaborado e de fácil percepção. O professor extremamente eficaz e a possibilidade de interagir com colegas foi muito importante e proveitosa.

by BOUNELAS K

2020年8月15日

Totally interesting and educative! Keeps you alert till the last moment! Enjoyed so much that I did it twice! The combination of teaching, answering questions, making tests turned out to be fascinating!

by cm4ever

2016年7月12日

It's amazing, I've learnt so many things and I haven't even completed the course (yet)! As it goes, it becomes more and more interesting, compelling to complete it and, maybe, even go for a certificate.

by Aanie S

2020年10月18日

This course really improved my knowledge about law. And it was very useful and interesting to do this course.

Thanks to coursera for offering this course

And thanksto Cast Western Reserve University.

by Petra R

2017年7月21日

Only just started but absolutely loving it. I can't believe how much I have already learned!

Just finished ahead of time, it was GREAT and I really would like to see another one to build up on this one!

by Nkamaime A

2021年6月24日

​I find this very educative. The materials and the online clips provided is very explanatory. Indeed, I have really gain a lot. Thank you Case Western Reserve Uinversity for a wonderful opportunity.

by Jade M S

2020年8月29日

i learned the importance to exist an international criminal court to judge all theses crimes that can not be just judge in the domestic law, because they affect the whole world with their gravity.

by Juan E

2020年7月24日

It is one of the best courses I have seen, it is excellent, a graduated professor, with great experience and many studies, congratulations, have made the best course in international criminal law.

by Lina J

2020年12月18日

A very interesting, engaging course. A great overview of international law at work and of the history of how it formed and continues forming. Very engaging lectures and online simulation tasks.

by Eleazar M A

2020年5月23日

Excelente curso, el guia es uno de los mejores profesores que se pueda tener, el programa muy interesante e instructivo, mucha calidad de verdad, este es un curso que recomiendo ampliamente.