Chevron Left
Introduction to International Criminal Law に戻る

ケース・ウェスタン・リザーブ大学(Case Western Reserve University) による Introduction to International Criminal Law の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
3,361件の評価
869件のレビュー

コースについて

-- About the Course -- From the Nuremberg trial to the case against Saddam Hussein, from the prosecution of Al-Qaeda terrorists to the trial of Somali pirates – no area of law is as important to world peace and security as international criminal law. Taught by one of the world’s leading experts in the field, this course will educate students about the fundamentals of international criminal law and policy. We will explore the contours of international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, terrorism, and piracy. We will examine unique modes of international criminal liability and specialized defenses. And we will delve into the challenges of obtaining custody of the accused and maintaining control of the courtroom. -- Course Syllabus -- This course comprises eight units (or "modules"). Each will include an assigned reading, typically an article or book chapter, as well as a simulation designed to bring the readings to life. I will also offer video lectures on each of the topics, accompanied by slides. In addition, there will be online role-play exercises and debates, enabling the students to share their own insights. The order of class sessions will be: (1) History: From Nuremberg to The Hague (2) International Crimes Part 1: War Crimes, Genocide, Crimes against Humanity, and Torture (3) International Crimes Part 2: Terrorism and Piracy (4) Special modes of liability: command responsibility, co-perpetration, and incitement (5) Special defenses: insanity, obedience to orders, duress, and head of state immunity (6) Gaining custody of the accused: extradition, luring, abduction, and targeted killing (7) Pre-Trial Issues: plea bargaining, self-representation, and exclusion of torture evidence (8) Maintaining control of the courtroom -- Recommended Background -- You don’t have to be a lawyer and there are no prerequisites for this course. However, the course will be conducted at the level expected of advanced undergraduate students. Therefore, for all participants, reading and writing comfortably in English at the undergraduate college level is desirable. -- Suggested Readings -- Students should read the assigned online materials for each unit in advance of the class session. In addition, students are invited to subscribe to “War Crimes Prosecution Watch,” a free bi-weekly e-newsletter that summarizes the latest developments in the field of international criminal law. -- Course Format -- This course is made up of eight content units. Each unit is based on an online reading assignment, a video lecture of about one hour in length, and one or more role play exercises to stimulate on-line discussion. The course also offers in-video enrichment quizzes (ungraded) for each unit, a ten question multiple choice midterm diagnostics exam (ungraded), and a ten question True/False Final Exam. -- FAQ-- How will this course be graded? This course is graded on completion. In order to complete the course each student must: (1) finish each module (or “lesson”); (2) write at least one essay response of 200 words or more for at least one simulation throughout the course; and (3) get a score of 6 out of 10 or better on the Final Exam. What resources will I need for this course? For this course, all you need is an Internet connection, and the time to read and discuss the exciting materials available online. What is the coolest thing about this course? The topics we will be discussing are ripped from the headlines. The topics are often controversial and thought-provoking, and always exciting....

人気のレビュー

AM

2020年9月21日

learned so much from this course, absolutely loved it, and the way the professor taught the lessons showed his experience and his knowledge even for fist timers it would be a great course to opt for.

LS

2020年10月24日

Extremely well-organized. Really glad to see how all previous examples and history records were referenced to every topic. Neatly explained topics. Every aspect was discussed and explained in detail.

フィルター:

Introduction to International Criminal Law: 151 - 175 / 867 レビュー

by Eleazar M A

2020年5月23日

Excelente curso, el guia es uno de los mejores profesores que se pueda tener, el programa muy interesante e instructivo, mucha calidad de verdad, este es un curso que recomiendo ampliamente.

by Raymundo G S

2017年11月4日

definitivamente es bueno para los que nos gusta esta materias tiene un empuje en lo personal me jalo pero me falto mas tiempo para una buena calificación pero seguiré adelante y mejorare

by Cecilia O

2019年7月6日

Lo mejor que me ha pasado es llegar a ser alumna de este gran profesor y el orgullo de terminar satisfactoriamente el curso, el cuál cuenta con un alto nivel internacional.

Gracias por todo

by Viviana E M M

2019年9月4日

Muy buen cruso aprendí derecho penal internacional, litigio internacional y practiqué inglés jurídico, aspectos importantes para el ejercicio de la abogacía enfocada en lo internacional

by Isabella

2021年2月17日

super enjoyable and to the point. No stress of having to study loads, you just take in the information. The simulations were lots of fun to participate in. One of my favourite courses.

by Dennys F A M

2015年10月18日

Simplemente excelente, tuve algún problema por el idioma en los exámenes, sin embargo es una gran materia que brinda mucho conocimiento en materia penal internacional, muchas gracias.

by X X

2018年8月15日

Thank you for letting us know a little of your knowledge and your patience in answering us with your valuable opinions.I send you a fraternal hug and my eternal recognition.Thank you

by Isaac o

2022年7月8日

The course is fantastic . It was ablessing for me ,I now have more knowledge about International affairs and most especially , law that governs states relationship with one another.

by Shahir m

2020年10月10日

I loved the course as I learnt a lot which would help me in the future. I want to thank Mr Scharf for spending his time going through the key topics about International CrimInal Law

by Leidy V C P

2020年7月20日

Es un curso demasiado interesante, el profesor es muy claro en todo lo que dice y aporta muchisimo al aprendizaje de un abogado. Las sesiones son dinámicas y las lecturas sencillas.

by Siddharth B

2021年8月27日

I found the course to be very useful as it got my attention towards the international law and i must admit that I'm getting used to it and might thing of my masters in it one day.

by MANUEL R R R

2020年9月17日

Un buen curso donde puede aprender tanto lo teórico como practico del derecho internacional penal y de como realizar la interpretación jurídica y de la equivalencia del derecho.

by Syed M B S

2021年4月18日

Excellent course. You get to learn a lot through real life cases. The course is well designed to provide fundamental knowledge of international crimes and criminal proceedings.

by Melvin D G

2019年9月20日

Excelente curso, sería genial que los documentos adjuntos estuviesen en Español, o en su defecto en el idioma oriundo del participante, muchas gracias, por tan excelente curso.

by Juliana A M

2020年5月24日

Really easy to follow, but the contents was not simplistic and they really added to my knowledge and understanding of the International Judicial System. Would really recommend

by Annesha K G

2015年11月15日

This course is flexible & stuffed with huge information which is really helpful to build our knowledge. Thank you very very much for providing this course.

Annesha Kar Gupta

by Eduardo C O d A

2021年1月24日

This course was great and I learned so much about international criminal law and international conflicts. Grateful that I had this opportunity. Regards from South America!

by María T

2021年9月5日

Great course. I am truly enjoyed Profesor Michael Shrarf videos and special material every week. I finished with new knowledge about International Criminal Law. Thank you

by Мелехина А П

2020年5月16日

It was really interesting and informative course. I learned a lot of new information and of course I have broaden my horizons. Thank you for your efforts and this course.

by LUZ A C P

2018年12月19日

Excelente el curso, felicitaciones. agradecería se tradujeran los materiales escritos, las simulaciones y los exámenes y así la evaluación seria un poco mas equilibrada.

by Anamar C

2020年11月20日

Excellent Professor Scharf. I learned a lot of new concepts. Hope it helps me in the future. Professor explains very clear, I understood everything, thank you very much!

by Cleo T

2016年11月21日

Very interesting and I enjoyed the manner in which Michael Scharf taught. Additionally, I liked the course because it is very interactive and there is a lot of freedom.

by Mamajonov A

2020年7月31日

I have obtained a lot of good knowledge related to International Criminal Law and I am really thankfull for www.coursera.org and of course for Professor Michael Scharf

by Guillermo I A

2019年5月7日

I have taken already different courses of Coursera, and I can assure that this course ir really well developed, with deeply knowledge of both theory and case analysis.

by Keziah D

2020年12月16日

Michael Scharf delivered this course in a well-structured, engaging way, providing a solid foundation for an introduction to the study of International Criminal Law.