Chevron Left
International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
233件の評価
51件のレビュー

コースについて

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

人気のレビュー

AK

Dec 15, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS

May 31, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

フィルター:

International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice : 1 - 25 / 57 レビュー

by Kusal K A

Dec 10, 2018

'International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice' is a very creative and knowledgeable online course which is created for the law students who are learning IHL. I would like to thank for the course creators to make such a good online course for the law students in worldwide. This course has been a source of intellectual enrichment and practical professional development for me.

by Maxime F

Jul 18, 2019

Very instructive

by Gabriela G N

Jul 12, 2019

It's been such an easy way to learn a lot about IHL!, even if your academic background is very low or not related at any point, you will find flexible and high quality interviews, lectures and additional material to learn as much as you can, noticing your progress week by week.

by Traore a a

Jul 11, 2019

it was very interesting , now I understand IHL and i can move on

by Gisela A C R

Jul 10, 2019

I enjoyed this course immensely. There is enough material as well as additional material to delve deeper into the content of the course. I will definitely recomend this course.

by Anthony O ( L

Jul 05, 2019

T

o

s

t

a

r

t

w

I

t

h

,

I

d

I

d

a

n

d

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

e

e

d

e

v

e

r

y

a

s

p

e

c

t

o

f

t

h

e

I

s

c

o

u

r

s

e

,

t

o

m

y

s

u

p

r

I

s

e

I

a

m

s

e

e

I

n

g

a

r

e

a

s

a

d

j

u

d

h

e

d

u

n

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

e

.

T

h

I

s

I

s

I

n

d

I

c

a

t

I

v

e

t

h

e

r

e

I

s

a

n

I

a

n

t

e

c

h

n

I

c

a

l

I

s

s

u

e

w

I

t

h

t

h

e

s

I

t

e

.

A

l

s

o

,

t

h

e

r

e

a

r

e

t

w

o

p

o

r

t

I

o

n

s

o

n

A

f

u

l

a

w

a

I

t

I

n

g

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

I

o

n

a

s

b

ag the Honours Certificate. Nothing of such had been brought to my knowledge. I would like to see such indicated on my profile so I could get those done and over with. In all, I admire this programme a great deal, and envisage it will go on to enhance my chance being gainfully employed. I would equally appreciate hard copy of my original Certificate post to my door step ( mail box). I would also welcome counselling on way forward, -what I need do next to improve upon myself. Such should be within the legal studies and gainful employment. Let me also use this opportunity say a big thank you to the tutors and organizers that made this programme possible. It was educative, informative and most intriguing, I appreciate you all. Regards. Anthony Ogbeide (DipHe Laws).

by merve b

Jul 04, 2019

thahts good experiences!

by Samantha L A K

Jul 02, 2019

Great course!

by Luca P

Jun 20, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It gave me some basic tools and overview of law framework which now allow me to have a better understanding war conflict situation in which IHL apply and how.

It was particularly useful for me to have the chance to download the text of the videos in order to have the chance to read what was said in the videos. Thanks to all the coordinators to put togheter all the materials!

by Patience M N

Jun 12, 2019

I'm enjoying the course. The quiz part is brainstorming as it mandates and allows one to pay attention to the detail in the explanations given.

Thank you for this course.

by Johnny E

Jun 10, 2019

This is a nice course, It helps me open many ideas about International Humanitarian Law and the role of this IHL for every individual and for a society in general.

by

Jun 08, 2019

Extremely well presented. Slides, reading materials, lectures, and transcripts are easy to follow. Notes can be progressive and almost all Materials for reading can be downloaded as PDF or Print to PDF. Knowledgeable staff and informative lectures paired with quiz stops make this a well focused lesson plan that makes learning a joy.

by Avinash S

Jun 06, 2019

excellent course for the understanding of the international humanitarian law both for academicians and practitioners to begin a further study on the subject.

by Hafiz M A

Jun 03, 2019

Best.

by Vaibhav S

May 31, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

by Diabe M P D

May 28, 2019

Thank you Coursera, through this forum i have learnt a lot i never thought was possible. the good thing with this is that you can learnt anywhere, anytime, and at your own pace and time. i will highly recommend this forum to anyone.

by Md. A U

May 22, 2019

This was an amazing journey with the my respected Professors of Leiden University. I am really pleased to have this course completed successfully which have enriched my knowledge about actual implementation and enforcement of International Humanitarian Law. This was my first journey with Leiden University and I enjoyed the whole journey with this course. Hope see you soon with another challenge with new course to expand my knowledge in Humanitarian World.

by Despina K

May 18, 2019

Excellent organIsation and categorisation of the modules. Very important and enlightening course for all of us who try to keep up the law in every range. Your university made the so called achievement on education on IHL, especially in nowadays worldwide warlike circumstances.

by Isibor K N

May 18, 2019

Wonderful. Simply wonderful!! Although I recommend more topics in the future, like the "responsibility to protect".

by Syed H

May 17, 2019

Dear Professor Robert Heinsch | Professor Giulia Pinzauti | Professors Emma Irving & Cinny Buys of the Universiteit Leiden & Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. THANK YOU.

As I completed my Course today with Honors, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the very clear, concise lectures and videos that enabled me to follow and understand the content of the course. The research you put into your lectures right from Week 1 to Week 5 were well thought of and sequential for any student to follow which is commendable. Your instructions along with audio-video, and the interviews of guest speakers were very clear, and the voice tone quality superb, all which enhanced the learning experience. It has been a pleasure learning from your lectures.

by Irene D O

May 15, 2019

Good insight

by Amanda F O

May 11, 2019

Enlightening and complete, this course is a great option for anyone who wants to learn important concepts of IHL. I strongly recommend it.

by Aanchal K

May 03, 2019

Wonderful Course! Helped me a lot in understanding International Humanitarian Law. Podcasts were my favourite part :)

by Malou v B

May 01, 2019

I helpful, easy way to learn more about IHL. Great level and doable hours. Thank you!

by Mulki H A P

Apr 24, 2019

The greatest course in my life!