Chevron Left
International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice に戻る

ライデン大学(Universiteit Leiden) による International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
752件の評価
175件のレビュー

コースについて

“International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice” is the first MOOC of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum on International Humanitarian Law, which is the platform within the Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies of Leiden University for the research, teaching and dissemination of international humanitarian law (IHL). In this course, Prof. Robert Heinsch, Dr. Giulia Pinzauti and Dr. Emma Irving will give you a deep insight into the rules that govern armed conflict, and aim to mitigate human suffering on the battlefield. You will explore the why and how of IHL, followed by the different types of conflict. In no time you will find out which rules apply to the civil war in Syria, the military intervention in Ukraine and the occupation of the West Bank. During this course, you will learn how hostilities should be waged: Which weapons can be used by combatants and other fighters? And, who should never be a target during military operations? We will also look into the concept of protected persons, and you will find out how IHL affords protection to the sick and wounded, medical personal, detainees, children, journalists and other persons who are not - or not anymore - fighting. At the end of this course, you are introduced to the different implementation and enforcement mechanisms that aim to increase respect for IHL. Here, you are invited to think critically whether IHL works! Throughout this course you will benefit from a mix of theory and practice, which is at the heart of the vision and mandate of the Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. You can participate for instance in an ongoing case study where drones are flying over the fictitious country Arfula, and detainees are locked up in tiny cells. Or, you can join our discussions about IHL success stories and the major IHL challenges we face today, with distinguished speakers from the International Committee of the Red Cross and US Naval War College! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

人気のレビュー

AK

Dec 15, 2018

this course is helpful in basic understanding of IHL and in understanding the difference between Human rights laws and IHL enforcements . Teaching Faculty clarified simplified the overview very well.

VS

May 31, 2019

A really very wonderful, articulate and helpful course. The Professors were great with their knowledge and presentations. The practical insight given by the guest-speakers were just priceless.

フィルター:

International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice : 1 - 25 / 175 レビュー

by Md. A U

May 22, 2019

This was an amazing journey with the my respected Professors of Leiden University. I am really pleased to have this course completed successfully which have enriched my knowledge about actual implementation and enforcement of International Humanitarian Law. This was my first journey with Leiden University and I enjoyed the whole journey with this course. Hope see you soon with another challenge with new course to expand my knowledge in Humanitarian World.

by Kusal K A

Dec 10, 2018

'International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice' is a very creative and knowledgeable online course which is created for the law students who are learning IHL. I would like to thank for the course creators to make such a good online course for the law students in worldwide. This course has been a source of intellectual enrichment and practical professional development for me.

by Chayan C

Jun 04, 2020

Today is remarkable day in my life because i have successfully passed out online course on International Humanitarian Law in Theory and Practice from Universiteit Leiden. Leiden is one of the best university in international law discipline. I would like to give warm regards to Coursera because this is possible only for Coursera. I am too satisfied and i have learned a lot and gather a knowledge form this course. I would to like to give thanks to all the respected professors who guide me a lot with their lecture video. I would to like to thanks Prof. Heinsch for his easy interpretation . Furthermore i would like to do more courses form Coursera.

by Kenn B

May 22, 2020

The course provided detailed and comprehensive learning materials for the student to indulge in while also providing platforms to practically apply material that has been learnt. The external reference materials were also abundant and co-curricular learning was definitely fostered throughout the length of this course. The course instructors provided concise and comprehensible explanations of the different concepts and proceeded at a pace whereby retention of information is maximised. I would recommend this course to someone who is interested in IHL!

by Baagala E L

Feb 01, 2020

This has been really an amazing course.I have acquired a lot of knowledge in IHL.The beauty about this course is that we didn't only stop at studying the theoretical aspects of IHL but also the practical aspects across the globe are incorporated therein; contemporary IHL issues which has given me a clear insight on various matters regarding IHL it's applicability, implementation and enforcement.Iam really grateful and thankful.

Thank you Leiden University -Kalshoven Gieskes Forum ( Leiden KGF).

by Yolondie R C

Feb 01, 2019

This course was really comprehensive and engaging! It addressed a lot of really complex areas of law in a practical way that was easy to understand and really get involved with. I also really appreciated how there was a specific focus on how we can actually begin contributing to the field of international humanitarian law now and how we can pursue a career in such a fascinating area of law. Thank you for providing such a fantastic course!

by Basanti M

Dec 21, 2018

Incredible opporunity to learn more about this niche area of International Law. This course offers a a great, basic, introduction to International Humanitarian Law and is catered to everyone. You do not need to have a law degree to understand the contents of this course and it really offers you a well rounded idea of what IHL is, how to approach understanding IHL and the ways in which it is currently being challenged.

by Osca A F

Mar 25, 2019

I HAVE REALLY ENJOY THE COURSE AND I AM FOREVER GRATEFUL TO COURSERA FOR ALLOWING TO TAKE MY DREAM COURSE. THANK YOU AND THANK YOU ONCE AGAIN. I NOW WANT TO PERSUE MASTERS PROGRAM IF THE UNIVERSITY OF LEIDEN WOULD GIVE ME THE OPPORTUNITY.

THE COURSE HAS BEEN SO MUCH INTERESTING ABOUT IHL , ICRC, ICC AND THE BODIES IHL LAIISED WITH . THANKS ONCE AGAIN.

by RABIA W

Feb 17, 2019

Excellent course for law students...

by Omran a

Mar 27, 2020

This training course is very enjoyable and excellent in the field of international humanitarian law. I liked the sequence of topics and the different method of training from reading and listening and showing examples that occurred on the practical reality and training applications on the issue presented .. I hope that this training course will be developed on the Internet because it is undoubtedly valuable It is useful for those who are interested and interested in international humanitarian law.

I would like to suggest, that a specific training course be held so that the participants are registered before the start of the course and divided them into working groups at the end of the course to talk and discuss with each other in each group and then put the application issue and solve it according to opinions and analytical discussions, for example dividing the working groups into a defense team and a prosecution team General, the judges' team and the contradiction of the Ervola case and the violations that occurred

by Andreea-Marinela P

Jun 07, 2020

I truly enjoyed studying this course, which is also the first course I completed on Coursera platform.

The information provided and the recommended reading were extremely useful to understand the topic and to get an insight in this fascinating area of law.

I found the course instructors very knowledgeable and passionate about the modules they taught during this course- and I believe this is an advantage because they simplified but also drew attention towards the most important aspects of each module. Moreover, analysing the decisions in relevant cases brought before the ICJ was a very useful tool to engage IHL and issues of IHRL. I personally appreciate the clarification given to the relationship between use of force in international law and IHL.

I would definitely use the information gained in this course for my university assignments. I would like to complete a similar course, if the instructors choose to further develop the topics we explored.

by Syed H

May 17, 2019

Dear Professor Robert Heinsch | Professor Giulia Pinzauti | Professors Emma Irving & Cinny Buys of the Universiteit Leiden & Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum. THANK YOU.

As I completed my Course today with Honors, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the very clear, concise lectures and videos that enabled me to follow and understand the content of the course. The research you put into your lectures right from Week 1 to Week 5 were well thought of and sequential for any student to follow which is commendable. Your instructions along with audio-video, and the interviews of guest speakers were very clear, and the voice tone quality superb, all which enhanced the learning experience. It has been a pleasure learning from your lectures.

by Mandeep S

Apr 16, 2020

It was a very old dream of pursuing this wonderful and insightful course since almost a decade when I failed to pursue it from a very distinguished University in New Delhi, India due to personal reasons. My passion for this topic/ subject is immense which could be seen the fact that it didn't take me more than 7-10 days to complete this amazing 5 week course. It is designed for an easy learning by a thoughtful team led by Prof. and his distinguished team. It's been a great learning experience, especially in the lockdown period which has come as a blessing to me. Thanks again for everything. I also wish to add members and students on a common platform like Telegram - @IHLcourse to update each other about this wonderful field. 🙏

by Gesine W

Apr 18, 2020

I really enjoyed taking this class because it helped me to deepen my existing knowledge on IHL and to learn much more about the details and challenges of IHL. The videos just have the perfect length and podcasts and the Arafula case study make this class a really comprehensive programme which easily helps you to remember what you have learned. I would definitely recommend this class to everyone who is working on international relations and international security because it constitutes a great complement to the classical approaches of political science.

by Riham F

Mar 08, 2020

The course is incredibly presented and the material is outstanding! Just the right amount of knowledge and study with further enrichment applicable. The case study is perfect to implement what was learned in each module. Perfect presentation from the Professors. I am focusing to get tangible career path out of this course.

Please offer more relative courses to International work and sustainability.

Thank you so much!

by TOM M G

Dec 06, 2018

I would have no hesitation in recommending this course. The content was excellent and the lectures were presented in a manner which allowed one to easily absorb and understand the subject matter. The pod casts from the outside experts during the course were absolutely fantastic. Many thanks for putting on such an interesting course which has further fueled my interest in International Humanitarian Law.

by Steven E d G

Dec 22, 2018

The content is sufficient and well presented, without overloading the student with too much information. Theories are also connected with real-world examples, which makes the lessons easy to appreciate and relate to. The overall structure of the course is organized and well planned. Thanks to Kalshoven-Gieskes Forum, Grotius Centre for International Legal Studies, and Leiden University.

by Candela F G

May 31, 2020

I enjoyed this online course very much and the content and explanations were simply perfect. The interviews were also a good idea to introduce us more to the subject we were studying at that moment. It was also very helpful for what I want to do in the future. If you ever do another course like this I would definitely join in!

by Dhruv G

May 26, 2020

The course was an awesome experience. It helped me to understand the basics and intricacies related to the International Humanitarian Law, while providing a way of applying the knowledge earned from it practically, through the use of the Arfula Case Study.

Thank you so much for the great course material and knowledge sharing

by Bešir I

Mar 21, 2020

This was my first online course and I am very pleased with this kind of education and learning. It is interesting and a huge advantage is that you have an opportunity to access the course whenever you want. I am sure I will attend many more courses, especially because of positive experience on this one. I recommend it!

by Katie S

Jul 11, 2020

I learned a lot from this course, content that will be relevant for me in my pursuit of a specialized graduate degree and in my career. I would recommend to those beginning the course to plan on the weekly assignments taking a bit longer than indicated if you want to get through all of the readings. Time well spent!

by Molly A W

Oct 19, 2019

I completely loved this course and I learnt so much about IHL and how its put into practice and it has helped me realize that I really want to study Law and so I am now applying for Bachelors Programs at various universities in The Netherlands and Ireland, my dream is now to become a Human Rights Lawyer.

by Cassandra B

Apr 19, 2019

The course explores all the main components of IHL. However it also introduces the student to contemporary issues and challenges in IHL. It is very didactic with the case study on Arfula. Explanations are great and all the professors interesting. I like the fact to have podacts with visiting experts.

by Abhijit B

Apr 18, 2020

As an educator I learnt a lot about how to structure a course whereby both, persons who are just starting out with the subject and persons who have some experience with the subject, can be be effectively engaged. I humbly express my gratitude and congratulations to the entire team of professors.