Chevron Left
Understanding International Relations Theory に戻る

HSE University による Understanding International Relations Theory の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
520件の評価
165件のレビュー

コースについて

The course is for: • Those who are interested in international relations • For students in International Relations, Political science, Regional studies • Those who work in the international organizations • Those who like to study online and gain knowledge from another field of science. • For international journalists The problem of war and peace has been of interest to humanity since ancient times, when the first states began to pursue their foreign policy and build relations with neighboring states. In the 21st century, the use of military force and the violation of peace is still an important problem in the system of international relations. As part of this distance course, students will study the history of the formation of the modern system of international relations and will be able to explain the features of various theories interpreting the foreign policy of the state. The online course will be useful and interesting not only for students studying political science, but also for everyone who is interested in the foreign policy of the countries of the world and the system of international relations. The remote learning format allows you to join the course from anywhere in the world. The course "Understanding International Relations Theory" of the Higher School of Economics provides you with useful knowledge of international relations. Having a PC or a laptop connected to the Internet, you can join the course of our university from any country. The first question to which students will find the answer will be "What is IR science"? The main goal of this online course is to understand the origins and features of the modern international relations system and be able to analyze the foreign policy of states through the prism of the theory of international relations. After completing the course, students will be able to analyze the special features of different theories of international relations, ranging from realism, liberalism and Marxism to Constructivism, Postmodernism, Feminism etc. Moreover, students will find an answer to one of the key questions in IR science: who is actor of international politics? Passing the tests and writing essays will allow students to consolidate their knowledge in the field of international relations. The course consists of short video lectures from 3 to 17 minutes, in which invaluable questions are included. Test of 8 questions will take place every week except the last week. In the first, fourth and seventh weeks, along with tests students also submit an essay (the essay must be at least 200-300 words long). In the end of the online course there is a final exam in the form of essay. The final essay must be at least 400 words long. The course allows you to interpret important international events and foreign policy of states through the prism of different theories of international relations. By the end of online course students will get the knowledge of: • The history of the formation of IR science. • Theories of international relations and their features. • Actors of international relations and their features. • Analysis of Russian foreign policy through the prism of realism. • Critical analysis of the foreign policy of states through the prism of theories of international relations. • Types of power in international relations and their features...

人気のレビュー

AK
2021年8月12日

Easily this is one of the most productive courses I have taken. If one is seriously aiming to gain in-depth knowledge of the International relations holistically, this is the best course to go to.

N
2020年10月8日

The course provides understanding about basic concepts of IR Theory, with quizzes and assignments and useful readings. The professors are enthusiastic and able to explain the concepts in details.

フィルター:

Understanding International Relations Theory: 26 - 50 / 167 レビュー

by Henry M

2019年4月4日

Very interesting, organized and straight to the point.

by Diing D

2019年11月11日

it is really helpful and easy to understand

by Emil

2018年10月15日

Descriptive and objective course.

by Hariom S

2019年9月30日

Precise and concise

by Rubana M

2019年2月7日

great information

by laureen a

2018年9月26日

helpful

by Георгий А

2020年8月9日

Let me outline the pluses and minuses of this course. I'll start from pluses.

1 Good material (both presentation and content) for absolute beginners

2 Most of the lectures are informative. There are also further readings for every lecture.

3 Many empirical examples

Now the minuses

1 Accent is veeeeeeeeeery thick (on both tutors). And overall English usage is... imperfect, to say the least

2 A lot of annoying errors at the test part. Tests quality is like 1/5 (completely useless)

3 A lot of peer-review stuff (this one is very subjective)

4 Course doesn't dive deep enough to take a somewhat "full grasp" of the theory. I understand that time is a limited resource, but there are a lot of obvious ways to improve the course structure quality (stop putting too much effort into useless classifications, for example)

5 Last week is pretty much one-way interpretation of Russian foreign policy given in a video lecture format. No other interpretations of Russian FP are presented, making it seem like authors of the course accept only their own view as the plausible one. I think this may narrow the perspective of course participants.

To sum up, it is a very weak 4 (closer to 3 actually). Tests are annoying, English is kinda poor, material is on the very surface level (but again, presentation is very good). ABSOLUTE beginners in the subject will without a doubt find this course helpful.

My English might be bad too, so sorry for that.

by Andrea C

2020年5月13日

The subject is very interesting and the course gives a large overview of the international relations theory. A section dedicated to exercises should be introduced. English language needs to be improved. Overall rating by the way is positive, it's a course that teaches you to understand the international arena. something that is essential to every kind of professional.

by Joanna S

2020年7月8日

I had to unenrolled from this course because it was too much of a struggle understand the presenter's English. The transcript was just as bad. It's a real pity because I was enjoying the subject but in the middle of Week 2 I decided that I was spending too much time just trying to fathom out what he was trying to say.

by Gloria G d R

2019年8月18日

This course is a SCAM. DO NOT PURCHASE! In the last assignment, they will not grade it and then they will make you retake it and you can only do so IF you RE-PAY the course. And the worst part is, there is no where you can ask for help about it or to place a complaint. Worst course EVER! DO NOT PURCHASE!

by Prathamesh D

2021年4月21日

A very interesting and comprehensive course. One not only gets to see International Relations, but also human behavior in general. How we humans differ in our behavior and how situations compel us to behave in a certain way. There are several theories on that, which the Professors have explained well. Professor Bordachev with a calm and systematic approach and Professor Suslov with an enthusiastic and example-oriented approach makes a great combination. All in all, I'm sure all learners will have fun with this course. Many thanks!

by Giovanni R

2020年7月24日

The course is great. It is straightforward and builds consistent mental associations. Ultimately it is the perfect introductory course to international relations. The professors are amazing. Their teaching method focuses on giving you some key principles that you can remember. They repeat the principles in different ways, so to help you building associations in your memory. The only negative side is some problems in the questions of the quizzes. But that is a totally neglectable problem, which cannot affect my 5-star evaluation.

by Aldrich L R R

2020年10月6日

The course is comprehensive and encompassed a lot of helpful topics that will help undergraduate and graduate students alike in understanding international relations and global politics. It also provides valuable insights into Russian foreign policy. Lastly, I would like to thank Professors Timofey Bordachev and Dmitry Suslov for accompanying us through this learning experience. They have been very knowledgeable and professional, and I finish this course with utmost respect for them.

by Soraia M

2020年9月9日

This course was one of the most complete courses I have taken. Twelve week-long full of knowledge, if you are wondering to specialize in the area of International Relations, this course is essential for your development. The instructors presented each topic giving details but also giving a clear message about it. This is complex topic but the way it was developed amazed me. Congratulations to everyone involved in this project, the output I have got impressed me.

by Mr. S P

2020年8月10日

Interesting, very helpful course by excellent professors and from well known university! These people made theories of international relations very easy to understand. Especially last section of this course is very important as it describes not only importance of Russian Federation as such but also importance of Eurasia, which is generally get ignored while studying international relations! Quick suggestion, update the course content! that's it!

by Harshit S

2021年12月4日

My knowledge has been greatly enhanced by this course, and the structure is well organized. Thanks to HSE, Moscow and Coursera, I have been able to learn about international relations theory, which has greatly enhanced my skills. Aside from this course, I was also awarded a scholarship from Coursera. The course is highly recommended for students and researchers of political science and English literature as well.

by Sally M C

2020年1月5日

Very well structured course for IR beginners. Great assignment design to encourage you to read more on topics that you are interested (your choice!). Two possible ways to further improve this course: (1) make the lecture slides to be downloadable; (2) small briefing of what other non-dominating schools of IR theories that are not including in this course and whether they are popular in certain countries / culture.

by Aria F

2020年8月3日

I took this course to prep myself for an MA degree in International Affairs and Diplomacy as my previous background was mainly in Education. The course was very well designed, both instructors were SUPER KNOWLEDGEABLE. And In general, it helped me a lot to learn the major theories in IR. Good Job Guys! thank you for creating this course! your work is really inspiring.

by Naw J E H

2021年8月23日

I am so glad I have found this course. By studying this course, I have gained the basic level of knowledge to understand global affairs. I have learned how to see international issues from different perspectives. My gratitude to both of the teachers for helping me understand the theories. A big thanks to Coursera for providing this valuable course for us.

by Gaïa V

2020年8月21日

This course was excellent !The teachers explained international relations theory very well, with a lot of accuracy and examples. This course will permit you to understand international relations history and how they work, and I think it is useful for everyone interested about the world they live in. I really recommend taking this very complete course !

by Irene U B

2020年10月18日

This course is very interesting and very intellectually challenging. Being completely new to politics and international relations, doing this course has only increased my interest towards it. Both teachers are excellent (especially professor Suslov), are incredibly knowledgeable and give finally a perspective on IR that is not American-centric.

by Li D

2020年1月25日

well explained basic concepts + clear historical background + case analysis in real world.

Finishing the essay assignments are relly helpful to (re-)construct one's own overview of most schools of thoughts in international relations and international politics.

对于非科班的中国学生来说,可以接触到除了目前主流的实用主义之外的诸多其他思想流派,花这个时间很值。或许由于英语不是教师的母语,课程本身的讲解用语反而变得很精当。

by Aleksandra B

2020年6月29日

Thank you Profs. Bordachev and Suslov for this excellent course. The quality of the material coupled with easy-to-follow presentation and structure have made the learning process truly enjoyable. Upon completion I have been able to fill the blanks in my knowledge of international relations and will use it to continue my research.

by C.L.R. V

2021年11月7日

This was my first time learning International Relations. So, this course really helped me to have the basic idea regarding IR. I highly recommend this course. Both lecturers are good. Lessons are interesting and not difficult to follow, even a non native speaker like me can easily understand the course content.

by Ashhar S

2020年11月16日

In my opinion this has been THE BEST of the 8 Politics and IR courses I've completed at coursera. The lecturers, espectially prof. Dimitrii Suslov has been extremely elaborate. This course covers a huge domain in the world of International Relations that perhaps is not offered in any other course here.