Chevron Left
Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization に戻る

イリノイ大学アーバナ・シャンペーン校(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) による Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
119件の評価
22件のレビュー

コースについて

Accounting has always been about analytical thinking. From the earliest days of the profession, Luca Pacioli emphasized the importance of math and order for analyzing business transactions. The skillset that accountants have needed to perform math and to keep order has evolved from pencil and paper, to typewriters and calculators, then to spreadsheets and accounting software. A new skillset that is becoming more important for nearly every aspect of business is that of big data analytics: analyzing large amounts of data to find actionable insights. This course is designed to help accounting students develop an analytical mindset and prepare them to use data analytic programming languages like Python and R. We’ve divided the course into three main sections. In the first section, we bridge accountancy to analytics. We identify how tasks in the five major subdomains of accounting (i.e., financial, managerial, audit, tax, and systems) have historically required an analytical mindset, and we then explore how those tasks can be completed more effectively and efficiently by using big data analytics. We then present a FACT framework for guiding big data analytics: Frame a question, Assemble data, Calculate the data, and Tell others about the results. In the second section of the course, we emphasize the importance of assembling data. Using financial statement data, we explain desirable characteristics of both data and datasets that will lead to effective calculations and visualizations. In the third, and largest section of the course, we demonstrate and explore how Excel and Tableau can be used to analyze big data. We describe visual perception principles and then apply those principles to create effective visualizations. We then examine fundamental data analytic tools, such as regression, linear programming (using Excel Solver), and clustering in the context of point of sale data and loan data. We conclude by demonstrating the power of data analytic programming languages to assemble, visualize, and analyze data. We introduce Visual Basic for Applications as an example of a programming language, and the Visual Basic Editor as an example of an integrated development environment (IDE)....

人気のレビュー

YH

May 31, 2020

It teaches us the basics of data analytics and it is very progressive. There are assignments to help us understand and practice the methods being taught. This allows us to have first-hand experiences.

CA

Aug 28, 2019

Excellent content! Instructor was amazing...interesting and comprehensive. Assignments were excellent as well, though peer-review was impossible because no one kept up with me in the course.

フィルター:

Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization: 1 - 25 / 25 レビュー

by Michael P

Feb 21, 2020

Excellent course, well structured, taught by a subject matter expert, suitable for individuals with executive background as well as middle-level and junior learners. Highly recommended.

by Zong H T

May 31, 2020

I think that the course is interesting and the pace is comfortable to learners. I just wish that that can be more practice and pdf/word docs of lecture notes to make the content more organised. Kepp up the good work!

by Alison Z

Nov 08, 2019

one of most insightful data analytics courses from the finance perspective, very good intro coursera for both business professional and IT professionals

by Lim J H G

Jun 04, 2020

Useful for those interesting in learning more about data analytics using Excel! Might be a little content heavy towards week 6 but it was interesting nonetheless with plenty of hands-on assignments.

by Amelia S

Jun 29, 2020

The lectures are very well structured and the flow of each lectures flows great

reference support and reading material is very satisfying

Presentation support such as drawings, slides, cartoons is very interesting

the way the lecturer teaches is very passionate and very interesting

the speed of the lecturer is suitable to my ability to listen and comprehend

the voice and pronunciation are clear and easy to understand

the material taught is very useful, interesting and up to date

by Mak J W

Jun 16, 2020

I absolutely love the way Professor Guymon carries out his online module. Most of the videos have given me interesting insights into accounting analytics which I am confident of utilizing it in the future. I would also like to comment on how the video has captured my attention through the sceneries, interesting features of the school as well as interviewing people in the accounting data analytics field. Thank you for this fantastic online experience.

by Damien C L S

Jul 02, 2020

Thank you, Professor Ronald Guymon! Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization is an immersive experience. The combination of discrete data and excel can result in visually appealing presentations such as Scatter Plots, Box and Whisker Diagram, and Pivot Tables. The implementation of the Regression Line (best-fit line) helps to derive values of R Square, Significance F and P. Kudos to you!

by Mok W Q R

Jul 04, 2020

This course had exceeded my expectations! It really knows what the focus of the course should be. There are many things to learn in data analytics and the professor of the course did a touch and go on those advanced concepts and kept focusing on how to present the data which was done so with superb clarity was so apt. I will definitely rewatch the videos and apply what i have learnts!

by Kan L

Jul 10, 2020

I really like how there were demonstrations on using Excel & Tableau, where the data sets are included in each module for us to practise the skills ourselves. The lessons are also extremely engaging & useful. I enjoyed this course thoroughly & am now better skilled in using Excel!

by TAN W K

Jul 07, 2020

Very informative course. Skills learnt in this course are definitely applicable to the future.

Course content is not very heavy and relatively interesting. Learn more about data analytics and how to use Excel better, which is the key takeaway for this course.

by Yeo Z H

May 31, 2020

It teaches us the basics of data analytics and it is very progressive. There are assignments to help us understand and practice the methods being taught. This allows us to have first-hand experiences.

by Christopher A

Aug 28, 2019

Excellent content! Instructor was amazing...interesting and comprehensive. Assignments were excellent as well, though peer-review was impossible because no one kept up with me in the course.

by Sheah D Z

Jun 12, 2020

Very insightful session on how to get the best picture out of huge data. I certainly like the homework as it gave me time to practice on certain items. I highly recommend to those who take

by Lee Y

Jun 03, 2020

The lecturer is very concise and goes through concepts in depth by showing examples that build on top of previous knowledge and used dataset that was previously introduced.

by GOH K Y

Jul 09, 2020

Being the first online module I've ever taken to date, the content and videos far surpassed my expectations. Looking forward to more!

by Jaslyn L

Jul 09, 2020

This is a really helpful course! I have learned not only about using Excel for accounting, but also the many functions of Excel.

by Chiam Z S

Jun 01, 2020

The two lab sessions were useful and the speaker was well present himself and his points making it easy to understand him.

by Fabian T

Jul 05, 2020

Excellent and interesting videos, not too long but not too short. Lengthy enough to be very informational and helpful.

by Muhammad A B A R

Jun 25, 2020

It provides a lot of hands on example that really help with the explanation of the concepts taught

by Loh D W

May 27, 2020

Interesting course for students willing to learn more about analytics for accounting

by Phoa J L

May 31, 2020

A course with an excellent overview of data analytics suitable for beginners.

by Ouyang Y

Jul 09, 2020

The course outline is clear and the contents are useful.

by Orman A

Jun 14, 2020

Lectures were very engaging and informative. Integrated many elements of analysis and thinking that were helpful to learning statistical and and accounting concepts. It would have been helpful to have access to the same data sets as were used by the instructor to follow along with some of the exercises.

I highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to unlock more value from data about their organization or anyone wanting to learn or refresh on statistics and data modeling.

by Aw Z Y

Jun 01, 2020

The course teaches a lot of useful data analytics and visualization techniques which will prove to be useful in the future. The only complaint I have is that for the peer review 2, the data provided to us is in csv format. As such, please beware and save your work in xlsx format otherwise, all your progress will be loss if you are currently working on their csv file provided and forgotten to save as xlsx file.

by Joshua L J W

Jun 03, 2020

useful as an intro course to analytics and data visualization. The nature of the content itself is a bit dry but i think the lecturer did not bad and was clear and concise in delivery.