Chevron Left
Introduction to English Common Law に戻る

ロンドン大学(University of London) による Introduction to English Common Law の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,477件の評価

コースについて

The common law of England and Wales is one of the major global legal traditions. This MOOC will give you an introduction to this influential legal system including its history, constitutional background, sources and institutions. You’ll learn about the different ways in which laws are made and interpreted, the English court system and the increasing importance of European Union and human rights law. Now is an especially exciting time to be learning about English common law, given the potential changes that lie ahead in today’s political, economic and social environment – all these pose challenges to and opportunities for the law. Each week we’ll focus on one aspect of English common law, using video lectures, readings, discussion questions and activities to enable you to learn about and evaluate key issues. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London’s world-class LLB degree, you will find this course interesting and stimulating. Please note that participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

人気のレビュー

FA

2020年5月21日

A comprehensive introduction to English Law. The lecturers outline things in a very clear manner and the readings cover the topic well. The quizzes are quite demanding. It is a very enjoyable course.

HJ

2019年6月3日

This course is a well designed one. It provides us a good comprehensive guide on the legal practice in England. I'm grateful to the designers of the course and 2 lecturers for presenting us this.

フィルター:

Introduction to English Common Law: 376 - 400 / 438 レビュー

by Sara M G L V

2020年8月19日

I liked the course. However I think that is important for teaching any sort of law to question. This means to spark the debate within the knowledge you are teaching and not just assuming that the legal system where you ive in is perfect. Sometimes I would get a feeling that the professors were a little bit biased towards the efficiency and the said "excellence" of the UK legal system.

But overall I enjoyed the course, it was very interesting and easy to understand, I'm glad I took it because it serves me as a base on legal knowledge and analysis in general.

by Ajay S

2020年11月8日

There were a few things lacking in the course. The information at times was not current, it had not been updated. a couple of glitches were experienced with the tests. Apart from this, the course was both fascinating and enlightening. The professors were learned, lucid and rich in teaching material. I would joyfully recommend this course to anyone eager to learn the history and basics of the English Law System or a student of Comparative Law Systems in the world.

by Mark G

2022年7月26日

The text and video presentations from the academics were excellent and I would recommend the course to others as a good first step in learning more about the Common Law of England and Wales. One quibble, I know it is difficult on a MOOC to create challenging formative assessments, but some more peer-reviewed mini-essays would have been an improvement as quizzes can be a test of memory alone and can inhibit higher-level thinking?

by Kate H

2021年4月2日

This course was so practical and helpful: a perfect short introduction to how the English legal system works. Already I'm putting what I've learned to use, and the course has completely transformed my understanding of news reporting of trials in England. My only criticism is that the course material needs to be updated, particularly the final section on EU law which names the wrong current President of the European Commission.

by Virve G

2021年4月12日

Excellent and very effectively compiled course - thanks for arranging it!

It was a occasional struggle to get the learning right as the course did not always provide necessary knowledge to reach pass in quizzes at the first attempt, no matter how much focus was put. I ended up using 2 - 3 times more in total for the course than the average time suggestions indicated.

by Paul C

2021年4月4日

Great introduction to english common law. Just observation maybe add more detailed information on bill of rights summary ie right to bear arms because its still relevant today. Would be nice to see why common law overides legislation briefly. Really enjoyed the course excellent insights to learn. Many Thanks++++

by Cameron T

2020年11月19日

I liked it all apart from the EU chapter as I felt it was not as relevant and well explained so therefore it was confusing. The rest of the course was superb. I liked the summary of the last week in different weeks videos as it helped join the ideas together, however at times it got repetitive.

by Thea D

2019年7月24日

Good course and useful, varied mediums of teaching. Some of the documents to read through were up to 70 pages long and I think with material like this it would be useful to have a quiz at the end (like end of week quizzes) so that you can actually try and absorb the information.

by MARYNA M

2020年5月7日

I liked everything, besides that organisation of review of a paper work on the end of the course. I needed ask a help that somebody to review my work, instead when I reviewed a lot of esays from my clasmates. It shall be automatically. It is not seriously at all.

by Angeline W

2020年6月20日

This is a very introductory course for anyone interested in the English law. I would say this is geared to those without any previous exposure to this topic. This is a good course to set a foundation for legal knowledge in order to build off of.

by aashna g

2020年7月5日

I loved doing this course especially the peer reviewed submission. However, i did not find the accuracy in the assignment wherein subjective answers had to be written. Even after giving a correct answer, the marks were not allotted properly.

by Akshat T

2020年8月1日

Brilliant course. They very aptly and appropriately explain the English Legal system and its components. Further, I learnt about the fundamentals of English common law, its history and the future ahead in matters of Brexit and EU Law.

by Aditya D D

2021年8月24日

Sound in the videos is crestal clear and easy to understand. The entire course deserves 5 star, however, giving one star less as the last chapter about EU is out of the perview of the course in my opinion. Thank you.

by Jubayed S

2020年4月5日

Thanks for teach me friendly.I am very glad to get certificate from University of London.My dream is to become a Barrister.This Course help me a lot to understand the English Legal System.Take love from Bangladesh.

by Yogesh B

2020年8月22日

Hello sir/mam,

My overall experience with the course was good but sir/mam i am not able to complete my course as my assignments are locked. please help me out in this regard.

Sincerely,

Yogesh Bains

by Angelina C

2020年3月17日

Good course in itself, no complaints. However, would just like to say that all the information provided can be found in the textbooks they reference, if you prefer that style of learning!

by Emily C

2020年5月9日

Very in depth introduction to the English Legal System, provides lots of real life examples of how laws are implemented, and very interesting historical context

by Yuen M Y

2021年5月19日

it is a course introducing you the basic knowledge of English common system, they teach us in an easy understanding way, which is very suitable for beginners.

by Harris A

2022年6月10日

V​ery indpeth indtroduction to the basics of English Common Law. Great way to entier into the field and comprehend if its for you, and how it operates.

by Janet b

2021年5月31日

​the course information needs updating alot of the information is superceded by Brexit. Some of the quiz answers required outside research.

by Pratham M

2020年5月15日

Charlotte Crilly & Eloise Ellis are having excellent teaching skills and its a worthy to made out the strong Base in English Common Law.

by martin

2019年2月27日

Muy buen curso. Orientado a estudiantes de escuela secundaria (preparatoria) O alumnos en los primeros años de la carrera de derecho.

by SOURABH J

2019年10月7日

it is one of different thing and study which i have done it enhance my treasure of knowledge i just say that it is out of the box

by Ahmed B

2021年4月22日

there is always need for betterment, in my opinion there should be more references about cases making the course interesting

by Bina S

2020年6月8日

Really interesting broad overview of the English legal system and its part in the constitutional governance of the UK