Chevron Left
Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL) に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL) の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,609件の評価
374件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, you'll walk through installation steps for installing a text editor, installing MAMP or XAMPP (or equivalent) and creating a MySql Database. You'll learn about single table queries and the basic syntax of the SQL language, as well as database design with multiple tables, foreign keys, and the JOIN operation. Lastly, you'll learn to model many-to-many relationships like those needed to represent users, roles, and courses....

人気のレビュー

DD

Dec 04, 2017

Professor Severance is top notch. He keeps the pace fast and the lessons bite sized. I've tried other SQL courses and dropped out because none of the others were as easy to understand and engaging.

VP

Jan 10, 2018

went in knowing nothing about sql\n\nstraight forward and engaging lessons and awesome assignments trained me\n\nam now a master sql database warlock\n\n10/10 course would normalize with again

フィルター:

Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL): 1 - 25 / 371 レビュー

by Alon D

Sep 16, 2018

While I truly appreciate Dr. Severence's enthusiasm and his lectures on the historical and theoretical background of SQL (e.g., data models), I found this course lacking in a few aspects. The major one being the fact that it contains very little practice and active learning. I would recommend taking Sadie St. Lawrence's course (SQL for Data Science), which is also aimed at beginners but has a number advantages that I will list below. In the case that her lectures come across as confusing at some point (they're a bit faster, and perhaps skip a few of basic introductory points), take both courses - they only take about a day to complete. The main positive points in SQL for Data Science are: (1) Very structured course with downloadable comprehensive slides. (2) No need to download and install a SQL server. (3) The online coding practice is very engaging, but not too hard. (4) The course covers more material than this one in 4 weeks. BTW, If you are not a data scientist you may ignore some of the professional jargon that pops up occasionally (not too often) - it is not central to the course.

by Jorge F P

Apr 14, 2018

The course covers SQL broadly and provides a few notions on how to design and create relational databases and what code to use. The lecturer is great, explains things well and clearly. However, the course's biggest flaw, in my opinion, is that it doesn't really teach how to use SQL. There a few examples on how to create tables and insert data into tables and examples of some, very limited, query commands. But that's it. It never explains the syntax, nor provides a list of commands in a structured way, detailing what they do and how they should be used. Furthermore, the assignments are way too easy. They basically require the learner to repeat what was covered in the lectures, whether the learner understands it or not. Since the lectures cover so little, it would be useful to have challenging assignments that would require a little independent research.

by JARRAR O

Jan 07, 2018

Nicolas Boileau-Désprieux said "whatever well understood is clearly said, and the words to say it flow with ease ". This is exactly why appreciate attending Charles Severance (a.k.a Dr. Chuck) courses. He teaches you you need to know about a somehow complex topis. If you are new to SQL or plan de develop new WEB Applications, then this is the best place to be. You did the right choi

by d k

Oct 17, 2018

The Instructor came down to the level of beginner and started with basics and baby steps (especially getting the MAMP ready) - I would have liked to do a couple of more exercises. I liked it and I will take courses offered by this instructor in future.

by Shilpa H

Dec 17, 2018

Course is really informative, content and assignments are good

by Tao C

Apr 03, 2019

Good to start with SQL, but a bit too easy for practical use.

by Javier E

Oct 30, 2019

The course is a good introduction to basic concepts and commands, and builds on them to progress to more advanced use of databases. The lectures are well structured and the examples well explained and helpful (thanks Chuck). The assignments helped to get a bit further.

My experience with MySQL and SQL in general was somewhat limited and more academic, and this course helped to fill some gaps and earn some new skills.

The course is useful and engaging. I enjoyed doing this course and would definitely recommend it.

by Jeff R

May 18, 2018

What great content! The course progresses in a way delivers the exact the knowledge and skills needed to become quickly proficient. Dr. Chuck has developed the most practical and relevant courses that I have ever seen. After auditing these courses, I have added them to my employees professional development plans. I have sixteen particle accelerator engineers. And everyone of them has found uses for all of Dr. Chuck's courses.

by Heli P

Jul 25, 2019

Excellent course by an excellent tutor. Mr Charles delivers all the basic general knowledge about SQL all the while being simple and fluent in communication as a teacher. The assignment are hands on, and they help you think as a database developer. Its not too lengthy and just perfect for about anyone looking to quickly learn all the basics! I'm very happy with this and would recommend to any beginner.

by Lars T

Mar 29, 2019

Excellent course. You learn to install Your own php/mysql/apache server. You learn the must know basics of relational database design and using sql queries. You really get to know phpMyAdmin. Excellent instructor, good quizzes and assignments. The auto-grader tool minimizes the time You need to show that You have mastered the learning material, so You do not have to wait and wait for peer-reviews.

by Soh W K

Mar 28, 2018

Honestly, I didn't really know SQL could be so easy to learn! Dr. Chuck really did a great job in explaining it easily on converting the data into numbers for representation of data, so that the SQL database could quickly find the fields of information and re-construct it together with some really neat and cool commands.

After learning all those commands, I guarantee you feel like a Hacker! ^^

by BIN C

Mar 20, 2018

Hi there, after learning and completing this SQL course, I have really learnt and understood what SQL is and its useful operations while I am a Health Informatics postgrad student who is also learning SQL and Access as key parts of my Health Data analysis, so this SQL Coursera course is really useful to enhance my future skills. Best regards.

by Yumei L

Mar 21, 2019

I learned a bit about SQL and databases in Dr. Chuck's Python courses -- that was enough to allow me to tinker with databases with no fear when I dabbled in Ruby on Rails. But this class really clarified a lot of things related to SQL and database management for me. For me it's been an easy course, but nonetheless I learned a HUGE amount.

by Nikola V

Apr 22, 2018

Great course for an introduction to SQL. Chuck goes into detail and combines the lessons with humour to make the lessons enjoyable. He also provides additional website and sources for further SQL knowledge (the website does this too). Additionally, the teachers are helpful and answer questions on the discussions forums promptly.

by JMF

Oct 29, 2017

I had a little SQL experience from Dr. Chuck's Py4E specialization, but I lacked a lot of confidence in what little I'd learned. This solidified it for me, and I've gained a lot of confidence and interest in SQL. Suddenly a lot of what I'd seen using Excel and Access in the past has made a lot of sense, too. Very cool stuff!

by Cynthia W

Apr 16, 2018

Charles Severance makes jumping in and learning new programming languages and ways of thought painless. I highly recommend any course he teaches. (I'm currently enrolled in three others.)

His organization, materials, and presentation are all top-notch. Online education that actually meets the potential of the idea.

by Tiffany D

Jul 03, 2018

Really excellent class. The professor breaks everything down and makes it easy to understand. Even with barely any programming experience (just HTML and CSS) in my past, I was able to fully grasp everything and feel like I can implement SQL into my professional life now, confidently. Thanks Dr. Chuck!

by Irana

Feb 03, 2018

Amazing method of instruction i have ever seen! Anyone can easily understand clearly the main concepts. I am deeply thankful to Mr. Charles Severance and all stuff working on this helpful outstanding course!

Irana Miriyeva, Senior IN/VAS/Billing Developer

by Tijani K

Dec 25, 2019

This is the first time I had a practical and very relatable explanation of SQL. I had read the textbook on Modern Database but couldn't wrap my head around most of the jargons and lingos of database but with this course, i have a very deep understanding.

by Missy S

Dec 07, 2017

This course is easy to understand, despite not having any background in programming or SQL. I also like how the instructor paced through the lessons (and his humor). This definitely encouraged me to pursue my interest to learn more about SQL.

by Shweta P

Apr 02, 2019

This is a really good online course on which we get detailed information about many SQL functions, relational database system and other tools.Instructor's knowledge about the subject is really very good. Thanks for such a amazing course.

by Laurentiu A L

Feb 09, 2019

This course gives you a great basis and the necessary information you need in order to go ahead and proceed with gaining higher level expertise of SQL. Lectures are very comprehensive, and information is presented in an efficient way.

by Mustapha A

Mar 16, 2018

Really easy and fun way to get you started with SQL. Be carefull tough because with great SQL power comes great responsbility. And ow, before i forget: dont mention using email adresses as a key, it's kind of thing with the professor.

by REN S

May 01, 2018

I really like this course. Since I don't really have much experience of coding, learning SQL is very meaningful to me. Thanks to the professor, who is always making me love SQL. I love this magic language and I will work hard always!

by Jeon H S

Oct 21, 2018

Very concise. The whole lecture takes no more than 3 hours, yet still it teaches you all the necessary basics to start with. Highly recommended to those who want quick introduction to SQL and basic relational database concepts.