Chevron Left
Introduction to Psychology に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Introduction to Psychology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
10,597件の評価
2,521件のレビュー

コースについて

What are people most afraid of? What do our dreams mean? Are we natural-born racists? What makes us happy? What are the causes and cures of mental illness? This course tries to answer these questions and many others, providing a comprehensive overview of the scientific study of thought and behavior. It explores topics such as perception, communication, learning, memory, decision-making, persuasion, emotions, and social behavior. We will look at how these aspects of the mind develop in children, how they differ across people, how they are wired-up in the brain, and how they break down due to illness and injury....

人気のレビュー

OB

Jul 28, 2020

This course is very insightful and I have learned quite a lot. My favourite area though is Clinical Psychology and Positive Psychology. I believe I will be better able to understand persons around me.

AR

Jun 27, 2020

This was my second course using this site, and with Professor Bloom, and once again it was great. I've genuinely learnt a lot, and I've found a new love for psychology I never would have found before.

フィルター:

Introduction to Psychology : 101 - 125 / 2,519 レビュー

by Anandu G

Apr 16, 2020

poor animation and presentation

by Alfar

Jun 14, 2020

GOOD COURSE BUT TOO COSTLY

by Deleted A

Jun 07, 2020

want to unenroll

by Dr.Mohammad K H

Jul 27, 2020

Introduction to Psychology is a journey through all of the major psychological concepts and principles. The knowledge gained from this course will allow students to critically evaluate psychological research and have a more in-depth understanding of human thought and behavior.

Psychology is the study of the mind and behavior, according to the American Psychological Association. It is the study of the mind, how it works, and how it affects behavior. ... Psychologists and psychiatrists work together to help people with mental health conditions, but they are not quite the same

Psychology majors develop a broad understanding of human behavior as well as the skills to understand and interpret research findings concerning human behavior. The psychology curriculum includes courses in cognitive, developmental, behavioral and neural studies, learning, personality, social and clinical psychology.

So as you have learned, the four primary goals of psychology are to describe, explain, predict, and change behavior

Intro Psych will always be a hard course because the material is complex and broad, but it may be even more difficult for you because you may lack background and experience to tie all this new material to, and because your academic skills may be less-than-perfect.

The three branches are: 1) the basic science of psychology, whose proper subject matter is “mental behavior” which translates into the behavior of the animal as a whole and includes thinking and feeling as well as acting; 2) human psychology, whose proper subject matter is human behavior at the individual level and

Psychology is the study of the mind, its thought, feeling and behaviour. It is an academic discipline which involves the scientific study of mental faculties, functions and behaviours. ... Psychologists attempt to understand the role of mental functions in individual and social behavior.

So, yes, it is possible to learn anything. ... The core of it would be your own passion towards psychology - if you are determined to learn, no one and nothing will stop you from reading materials and educating yourself. You can go on any college website and get a list of books/textbooks for courses and read them yourself.

Psychology is very important especially because it deals with the study of the mental processes and behaviour at the same time. It is also applied in our daily lives and in many things. ... Psychology is also used to better understand and help those with pervasive developmental disorders such as autism.

The five major perspectives in psychology are biological, psychodynamic, behavioral, cognitive and humanistic. Each perspective provides its own view on the roots of why you do what you do.

The four main goals of psychology are to describe, explain, predict and control the behaviour and mental processes of others. Describe. Psychology aims to understand the behaviour of others and gather information about the way the brain works in order to better serve humanity.

Define Psychology in your own words. Psychology is the study of the human brain and the scientific factors that follow it such as the behaviors one has. ... It changed from the study of the soul to the study of the mind and the brain.

The Different Types of Psychologists and How Do They Help You

Biopsychologist.

Clinical Psychologists.

Cognitive Psychologists.

Consumer psychologists.

Counseling Psychologists.

Cross-Cultural Psychologists.

Educational Psychologists.

Getting feedback on an assignment is an important part of the learning experience. But sometimes it can be hard to know how to interpret feedback, especially if the comments aren’t what you expected, or if you’re unsure what they mean.

It’s important not to take feedback as personal criticism. Lecturers mark thousands of assignments, and their end goal is not to point out your mistakes, but to suggest ways to improve your writing. Keep an open mind – at the end of the day, your teachers want to see you getting the best marks you can.

In fact, feedback is the ticket to academic success, so think of it as an opportunity, not an obstacle. Here are some tips for reviewing the feedback you receive and using this knowledge to improve your assignment writing.

1. Interpret the feedback

First, try to determine exactly what the marker is commenting on.

Is it the expectations set out in the unit learning outcomes and assignment marking rubric?Or, maybe it’s the structure of your writing or the language you have used?Maybe you need to pay attention to your use of sources, including the way you have referenced them?

If you are unclear about the feedback that you received, make sure you speak to your unit chair, lecturer or tutor to clarify – in class, on the unit discussion forum or via email.

2. Analyse and apply what you have learnt

Then, identify specific areas that you need to address for your next assignment.

How can I improve my sentence structure?Am I showing adequate evidence? Enough analysis?Am I making my paper easily digestible for my reader?Am I providing too much or too little information?

Keep a log of the comments you receive for various assignments – are there common issues that you need to address in your writing? And don’t forget to note any positive comments made by your marker: it’s useful to know your own strengths and build upon them.

3. Talk it out and ask questions

It really helps to discuss your feedback with someone else – it could be a classmate or a friend. The Study Support team can also help you do this. We have Writing Mentors and Language and Learning Advisors who can help you to interpret and review your feedback.

4. Utilise resources to improve your skills

Better planning for your next assignment will help provide a better result. There’s an Academic Skills guide for almost every aspect of your university assignments, from integrating sources to proofreading to note taking.

And, one of the most important things to do when you begin your next assignment is to read the assignment brief carefully to understand what is being asked of you. As one lecturer says, ‘when marking, we ask ourselves: did the student fulfil the task, and how? If not, what was missing from their assignment?’ You should ask yourself the same questions when writing your assignment.

by Jonila S

May 29, 2020

I started this course merely to see if Psychology is a field that interests me. Due to some circumstances, I never had the opportunity to study any part of psychology in high school so I wanted to see where my interest stands to pursue higher education in psychology or even neuroscience. I recommend this course to all the people who are in the same position that I was or who are interested in building a good foundation to their knowledge on psychology. I found this course to be so interesting that I completed it in 6 days rather than the average time of completion being 6 weeks. Maybe a smarter idea would've been to have gone through this course gradually as it's meant to be completed in 6 weeks but the fact is that I became so interested that participation in this course seemed not only educational but fun too. Until 6 days ago I was unsure of what I want to major in college but now I think I can say I know the field I want to study for the upcoming 4 years as I had so much fun studying it. This course was very helpful and efficiently educational. The methods that were used were engaging and always left you wanting to research even more on the topics discussed. While taking this course I found out that many questions in psychology are unanswered. There are a lot of theories left to be proven. The good thing is that upon completing the course I feel motivated to do my own research and find possible answers to those questions. Whether I do find accurate answers is not nearly as important as the point that I have an interest to research those theories. To sum it up this course left me feeling inspired to further my knowledge on psychology.

by Elise M A

May 01, 2020

This was my first Coursera course and I have to say, that I am fairly impressed! The course wasn't too difficult to understand and Professor Bloom was always asking deeply thought questions which required his audience to think a lot more about their own behaviors. Throughout this course I myself was able to come to my own hypotheses and theories as to why I and others act a certain way and I'm ready to ask even more questions after doing this course. I'm not an Ivy league student by any means, (I'm in high school.) but I really do think that this course is well fitted for most people. Professor Bloom provides much visual representation throughout his videos. (He's a cartoon.) and speaks at a rate that's not too fast or too slow. (Plus subtitles help.) He further provides articles that are very reliable and relevant to what he's teaching and quizzes that can be redone easily if the student answers a few questions wrong. (or a lot.) I think it would be really interesting if Professor Bloom added courses that a person could do after Intro. to Psychology that were more focused on the specific subcategories of psychology, rather than psychology as a whole itself. For example, a whole class on developmental psychology, personality psychology, criminal psychology, and much more. Overall, I would recommend this course to anyone who just wants to understand people a little bit better. I give this course a 5/5.

by Bergman D

Jun 25, 2020

This was one of the most amazing courses I took. During the pandemic, I really missed the opportunity to learn something new, gain knowledge, and also regretted that I could not begin to study psychology as early as I wanted. And this course turned out to be magnificent in everything - the lectures of Professor Blossom were extremely interesting, entertaining, vivid in their examples from life, jokes, experiments, and much more. Do not forget about the amazing component of the course itself, it's visual part, and tasks that helped to consolidate knowledge. I was glad every minute that I could study on this course, was glad of the opportunity to be involved in the educational process, and found it extremely exciting and informative.

I highly recommend taking this course, as it perfectly expands our knowledge of psychology, not only as a science that deals with mental diseases but also with science that studies how we know the world and how we perceive it.

by Hope L

May 30, 2020

Instructor Paul Bloom is extremely engaging. The way he presents information is extremely simple, clear, but informative, and his voice is easy and pleasant to listen to, I was pleasantly surprised by the animations in the video and all the text in the slides provided. It was very organised and helped in my learning tremendously. Although this is one of the very few courses I have taken, it is the best one I have taken in terms of educational value and how interesting it is. For someone who was just auditing the course i.e. watching the videos & reading readings, not participating in discussion forums and more challenging assignments, the assignments provided were very suitable as they were pretty short but long enough to help me revise what I had learned, and having the readings at hand was something I appreciated. Would recommend to anyone interested in learning the very basics of psychology, just like me before this course. :)

by Luz S H F

May 31, 2020

La psicologia es un tema que me ha apasionado siempre, sin embargo no he estado de acuerdo con muchas cursos cuadriculada que he recibido donde no se pasan de memorizar fechas , nombres y pensamientos de nuestros maestros de la Psicologia.

en este corto pero rico curso, he logrado avanzar y confirmar conceptos que he pensado no han sido salidos de la actualidad

El profesor tiene una manera muy amena de llevarnos por esos conocimientos básicos, donde descubro que no estoy tan lejos de la realidad cuando difiero de algunos pensamientos psicológicos, sin des-meritar otros, toda vez que los tiempos actuales nos llevan a repensar nuestra comprensión a las nuevas generaciones para avanzar hacia una cultura mas positiva.

Gracias profesor es usted un excelente profesional y por lo poco que pude ver me atrevo a decir que también lo es como persona.

Me encantaría asistir por lo menos a una charla presencial!!!!!!

by Raphaela Z

May 06, 2020

I believe for those who learn better understanding the abstract way, rather than by learning the definitions, this is a wonderful course. Professor Bloom does a great job explaining/ making sense of psychology by using real-life situations. It is also pleasant that terminologies (accurate to the topics ) can be found in the readings to further enhance your understanding. Also, for international students, with English being their second/third language, like my case, it is quite comprehensive. The lectures use images and bullet points as support.

Also, as a side note: this course is free and I attended pricey psychology classes previously (in the same length of 6 weeks. I think that the quality of this course is at the equilibrium, or even better than other psychology courses.

Thank you for your efforts, Mr. Bloom, to provide this course!

by Kavin P

May 27, 2020

Since long I was curious about questions like why do we have the thoughts that we do? What makes us good and bad? Why can't we battle our intuitions and cravings???

All these questions and much further detailed knowledge has been imparted to me from this course. I have learned about the various fields in psychology and that too with fun! The interactive method of teaching, engaging videos, detailed course material - which doesn't just give data, but also explains the biological, evolutionary reasons behind them!

It has opened an entirely new direction for me and has made me confident over my decisions in daily life. I am now even further motivated to learn psychology in deeper aspect after this course.

Thank you Professor Bloom, Thank you Yale University and Thank You So So much Coursera!!!

by Eray K

Apr 25, 2020

This is probably the best online course I have ever taken, on any platform, on any subject! Mr. Bloom is an excellent instructor. He created a very well organized structure that leaves no question marks behind as you go through the lessons, and every information he gives is crucial for the following stages of the course. I am glad I have taken this course, and even though I am into the field of psychology a lot, I strongly believe that anyone in the world, even if they have absolutely zero background in psychology would find this course pretty darn cool. He does not only make you learn some things, but he also makes you love psychology a lot more. This course is definitely worth all the hours you are going to put in!

by Kevin R

May 28, 2020

This course is an absolute masterpiece. I am simply giddy with delight from having studied it and now feel I have gained a good foundation on which I can continue my pursuit of learning more about psychology. Essentially, I have been interested in the subject for many years, yet until the coronavirus pandemic and the invention of MOOCs, I never seemed to have the opportunity to get started. I've read a lot of books about psychology, but this short course has put everything together in a way which has left me feeling on the one hand, a great grounding in the subject, on the other, a long road of study ahead of me ... so without further ado, I'd best get started. Thank you to everyone who made this course possible.

by Saima A K

Jun 06, 2020

Excellent course and highly recommended to people from all walks of life. This course gives a general overview of psychology but it does scratch the surface enough to make me want to learn more. The instructor, Dr.Bloom has an exceptional ability to explain complex concept in a simplified manner. And while learning I could not help but observe the application to everything around me from child development to wars.

Initially I didn't understand the need for the aminated-version but as I took the course, I realized that the visual representation of concepts really aided comprehension. I guess that too has been psychologically-tested. Overall, one of the best coursera has to offer!

by Shenin

Jul 14, 2020

From blank slate to "something valuable" in psychology, after much procrastination and struggling. Personally speaking, this course is not merely a learning exercise, rather, it was a kind of conditioning. This course opens its doors to numerous worlds. It was exciting to know about the works of great philosophers and psychologists, listen to crazy ideas, fabulous concepts - initially they all sounded weird to me, but the more I started thinking about them, the more deeper they were. And, last but not the least, this professor is awesome! I would love to take another session with Professor Bloom. I love his style, and voice modulation techniques. Classy experience!

by Maria A M

May 19, 2020

Professor Bloom was so engaging not because he looked like a cartoon for the most part but he made the content easily digestible to everyone. There are times I would run two weeks worth of lecture in one sitting because I cant wait for the next. Very good format and I learned quite a lot. In terms of whats next? It made it easier for me to decide to take up masters in psychology ( I dont know when though). I started this course pre Covid19 and ending it still during lockdown in the Philippines. As mentioned during the last part of the course, happiness is relative. Im very happy to complete this course regardless of our situation, Keep it up and thanks!

by Fahd H

May 07, 2020

Being a medical student, knowing that I'll have to deal with all sorts of patients in the future, made me realize that I'll need more than medical skills in order to succeed in my domain and provide the best healthcare experience t my patients. I was lucky enough to find this course by Professor Paul Bloom. Personally, I think this is the most complete course to introduce you to psychology. Pr. Bloom gave an overall view on psychology that will help you, by the end of the course, to talk about so many subjects you weren't aware of before. Huge thanks to Pr.Bloom, Yale university and Coursera for providing this amazing experience and journey.

by Emmanuel M H G

Jun 28, 2020

I am someone very found in psychology by never had the chance to study it as a complete, standalone, concrete course, so when I discovered it was offered by the University of Yale, I jumped on the opportunity as if it was the last hazelnut on planet Earth & the course delivered a wealth of information accompanied with real-life experiments done by psychologists throughout history, which further alleviated the drive within me all the more to dive even more in-depth into the world of psychology more profoundly, more articulately & more professionally.

Thank you University of Yale, thank you Prof. Dr. Paul.

Sincerely,

Emmanuel Ghali (Mano).

by Divya R

May 09, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. I have an engineering backgound but am very interested in this topic. I would have definitely taken IntroPsych if I was offered it in school.

I have followed Professor Bloom's Introduction to Psychology (PSYC 110) on youtube. So when I saw there was a course on Coursera, I wanted to take it.

Though the topics were familiar, I did not find the content repetitive from his earlier lectures.

I do have to say I would have preferred a video format of watching the professor speak instead of distracting animations as he has a passion for the subject and there is Transference. :D

Very well designed course.

by Gizem S

Aug 10, 2019

I have enjoyed the fact that we as learners are not just looking at a Keynote presentation. There is an animated Professor Bloom, and other animated people or objects when he elaborates certain topics with examples, which are quite captivating in terms of attention, along with the videos shown during the lectures. In addition, I believe that the topics presented are on point, and not drawn out. I also enjoy the opportunity for a learner to have access to the reading material regarding the topics discussed, at the end of each lecture. Overall, I would recommend the course to everyone else who are interested in psychology like myself.

by WEI T

Jul 16, 2019

This course provided me with all what I wanted to know about the general knowledge on Psychology. The content are well organized and professionally presented both in video and reading articles. I appreciate the opportunity to learn this course on Coursera and get access to the very distinguished ideas from the professor(s) from Yale University and other univeristies and research centers. In general, it worth all my efforts and time to take this course. My completion of the course in turn makes me more confident and inspires me to learn more about the subject and encourages me to keep learning in the future. Thank you very much.

by Pravesh B

Jul 27, 2020

I have always liked to think like a psychologist or much like a philosopher; getting deep into thoughts and finding the root cause of the emotions. But most of the times everything I could analyse was just intuitive and I couldn't name them or explain them in words. This course is just rightly designed that it has helped me to decode my thoughts into more expressable forms of language. I have always been a psychologist but only for myself (just kidding). And of course, it's a well designed course with interactive lectures. It will really make you want to keep learning more and more. TBH, I have completed this course in 4 days.

by Tony P

Jun 23, 2020

The course was great. Reading the suggested text between modules helped it to stick in my mind.

Observations, which I hope are helpful:

a. The drop down figures during videos sometimes obscured text, especially if you save them as Notes.

b. Saving Notes on Videos was extremely helpful but you never know when the particular screen-shot will end..tricky. My suggestion would be to have a Slider under each Video so you know when it contains all the Text and you can save it as a Note.

The Professor was great and with a marvelously calming voice, which is very helpful bearing in mind some of the delicate Topics that are covered.

by Kelsey C

Dec 06, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It provided me with a great base for psychology. I feel as though I will be very prepared for taking any psychology course in college. I loved learning about the parts of the brain and the ways they affect psychological disorders. Dr. Bloom did a wonderful job explaining the many concepts of this course, and I would definitely encourage those who are interested in pursuing a career in psychology to take this course. It was efficient in teaching important topics in psychology, and it was very easy to navigate the course and refer back to past videos and quizzes!

~ Kelsey Crawford

by DHEERAJ S

Nov 28, 2019

This course is quite comprehensive and interesting introduction to Psychology. Perhaps Psychology majors can validate it better, but personally I found this course covering more areas as compared to any other Psych 101 courses out there. Teaching style of the instructor is quite conducive, light-hearted & fun. One thing I liked the most is he isn't afraid to present his honest personal opinions in debatable issues thus providing a personal touch & open nature to the course. Only caveats I found were that some areas seemed rushed through and the animation/sound effects sometimes become unnecessarily unsettling.