Chevron Left
Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health に戻る

インペリアル・カレッジ・ロンドン(Imperial College London) による Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
1,210件の評価

コースについて

Welcome to Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health! This course will teach you the core building blocks of statistical analysis - types of variables, common distributions, hypothesis testing - but, more than that, it will enable you to take a data set you've never seen before, describe its keys features, get to know its strengths and quirks, run some vital basic analyses and then formulate and test hypotheses based on means and proportions. You'll then have a solid grounding to move on to more sophisticated analysis and take the other courses in the series. You'll learn the popular, flexible and completely free software R, used by statistics and machine learning practitioners everywhere. It's hands-on, so you'll first learn about how to phrase a testable hypothesis via examples of medical research as reported by the media. Then you'll work through a data set on fruit and vegetable eating habits: data that are realistically messy, because that's what public health data sets are like in reality. There will be mini-quizzes with feedback along the way to check your understanding. The course will sharpen your ability to think critically and not take things for granted: in this age of uncontrolled algorithms and fake news, these skills are more important than ever. Prerequisites Some formulae are given to aid understanding, but this is not one of those courses where you need a mathematics degree to follow it. You will need only basic numeracy (for example, we will not use calculus) and familiarity with graphical and tabular ways of presenting results. No knowledge of R or programming is assumed....

人気のレビュー

SK

2019年10月11日

This is the best course among all I've taken..

The instructor has presented the content precisely.

I highly recommend to those who are looking to explore R in the field of health

LA

2019年5月25日

Was a very nicely done and clear course to build or re-build foundation for most common statistical concepts and an intro to using R via R-Studio for your work with them on the basics.

フィルター:

Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health: 201 - 225 / 242 レビュー

by Salsabeel I M

2020年4月20日

Indeed the course is great as a start. It is very focussed on public health, so it is suitable for those who are interested in medical research. It introduces the hypothesis formulation in an amazing way. In addition, it highlights the main commands in R that will set some grounds, yet one needs extra self-practice.

by Michelle W

2019年10月13日

The instructor is clear and engaging. I enjoyed the real world examples that were used. My only reason for less than 5 stars is the amount of reading in week 3/4. I very much prefer videos to introduce the concepts, and then perhaps additional readings for further information... More video please!

by SAVINO S

2020年9月20日

Very nice introduction, not so much watching but actually doing and reasoning with your head. This helps you going with your own pace. The professor is nice and informative and the course is well built. I liked to have the chance to explore some R and R studio along the studying. Well done!

by Rob v M

2020年2月8日

Excellent course. Step by step approach. I appreciated the video's and the learning material in the background presented in the accompanied papers. In addition, the exam questions and quizes were in line with the discussed subjects.

by Shaswat L

2019年8月3日

This course covers up the very basic and important aspects of Statistics and Hypothesis Testing. What could have still been added were some more complex scenarios where this knowledge can be used and Hypothesis could be formulated.

by Amu o c

2020年5月17日

wonderfully delivered lectures. however as a newcomer to R statistical software, i had a tough time trying to complete the course. i guess there is a need for a beginner like myself to have an introduction to R

by SANAE M

2020年5月4日

It was a great experience where I was introduced to public health research and some of the basics of statistics in public health. The only problem I had is to get familiar with R because of technical issues.

by Victor I M

2020年8月24日

As I said, this is a good course for people who are looking for an introduction to statistical thinking. It only lacks R coding and simulations to exemplify rather than pen and paper.

by Debayan K

2021年5月14日

This is a great course for Introduction to Statistics & Data Analysis in Public Health. It covers all the necessary topics and provides a well designed learning structure.

by Bongi R

2020年6月30日

Challenging but very informative. Sometimes I was not clear on the concept but usually there was a discussion a couple of clicks away which elucidated things,

by Sandra D A

2020年5月6日

Buen curso, excelente cantidad de contenido. Creo que hay que tener un conocimiento mínimo de R. Me gustaron mucho los videos. Los ejercicios son excelentes.

by Xi F

2019年8月17日

Great course to start learning statistics in public health. I love the example data that are closely related to public health field. Thank you very much!

by Farouk H C

2022年4月4日

very helpful and usfule course in what concerns the research field in every scientific domain. thanks for Dr tarabay who introduced us to this course

by Paul M

2020年10月4日

Good for me though I have done a fair amount of statistics previously. Still learnt useful nuggets to take away and it's getting me into using R.

by András K

2020年3月16日

The information is presented in a professional manner. However, these are far from reaching the level of an in-depth university course.

by Abhinav

2020年8月10日

a very good beginner's course for people who want to learn R for public health, i used the help of youtube with this course its v nice

by LUCAS M B

2020年9月14日

If it's your first time learning statistics you'll love it. If it's not your first time, it's a great way of refreshing knowledge.

by Sarana W

2021年5月22日

useful information however, the program was a bit tough to navigate for me, however once i figured it out it was smoother sailing

by Alireza R

2022年5月5日

some parts are extremely easy; other than that, it is suitable for students who want to learn statistics fundamentally

by Marco A J V B

2020年12月6日

Very easy introduction to learn about statistics and to use the R system to get results from a database

by Paul F G

2020年10月25日

A good, general course for learning about public health and a little bit of the R programming language.

by Ainiah R R

2020年4月30日

I strongly enjoyed the refresher on how to apply the statistical tests with relevant data examples.

by Fidel G

2019年11月25日

The course will make your mind to spin as you try to get the correct answer to the questions.

by Akshay k

2020年5月4日

A bit hard but very informative and required skills to learn through great professors.

by Maha

2019年6月26日

very interesting course for a beginner in statistics with R