Chevron Left
Introduction to Calculus に戻る

シドニー大学(The University of Sydney) による Introduction to Calculus の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
2,957件の評価

コースについて

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

人気のレビュー

OM

2020年9月26日

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

CN

2021年11月13日

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement

my will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

フィルター:

Introduction to Calculus: 26 - 50 / 922 レビュー

by Joseph V M

2019年7月4日

While the material is at an introductory level, it is comprehensive. The exercises are well-structured and the lectures clear.

by Chuck M

2019年8月9日

I want to thank Prof. Easdown (and SU) for an excellent course. The material was organized and timed at exactly the pace that was perfect for me. In addition, Prof. Easdown was consistently accessible and prompt responding to my questions and feedback. I don't see a next course, but I hope there will be one and look forward to progressing with the next course in the series.

Thank You Prof. Easdown!

by Brian K

2020年6月27日

Having had very discouraging experiences in previous calculus classes, this was a really great experience. Between the very straight forward video instruction, and very useful written notes, this course is very attainable with the appropriate amount of time committed. 4 stars only because the time commitments that were posted were easily half of what I actually needed to complete the course.

by David E P

2020年10月10日

None of the exam or homework questions match what is being taught. He is reviewing elementary level stuff like what a number line is and what an integer is, and then the homework for that section has topics such as simplifying rational expressions. Something is seriously wrong with this. It quickly escalates into advanced proofs such as proving the theory of pythagoreous without adequate descriptors of how and why that is shown. Analytical geometry is tested after showing the proof once.

by Ravindra G

2020年11月30日

This is an amazing course. I loved the way the instructor used classic examples to explain calculus by helping us approach problems from the perspectives of Newton, Leibniz, and the ancient greeks!

by ADAM G

2019年11月27日

This is an excellent course guided by a passionate and responsive instructor. The course incorporates the best of online learning - explanatory videos, written lecture notes with examples, and live discussion forums where real students are asking questions and receiving replies in a timely manner. Kudos to the professor and to Coursera, hopefully you can retain this course for a very long time. A few points of improvement if I may. I took this course as a refresher for previously haven taken calculus about three years ago. There is no companion textbook, which I would have found invaluable. I also wish that there were even more examples of worked/solved problems to draw from. I believe that an inherent problem with math instruction is that through the use of symbology (by necessity), the student is expected to learn and understand all parts of written notes. Instead, I strongly believe that plain language explanations of in conjunction with traditional lectures notes are most valuable. If you do not understand a single portion of a problem, you are left (as I have been) at great length to try to find a comparable problem to digest what is occurring. Lastly, I would suggest cultivating companion videos for the lectures from open sources such as Youtube that students could view in conjunction with each module. Despite the very best of intentions and efforts, the video lectures move very fast and at times, I think there are clearer examples available elsewhere. Often times the Khan Academy style of working through a problem while explaining it would be a great adjunct to the content here. Again, I thank the Professor for his kindness and passion for math. Well done!

by Haran S

2021年1月25日

Excellent course. Professor Easedown explains all the concepts very carefully and clearly, and the accompanying notes and regular practice quizzes are very useful. It's been 17 years since I last studied calculus (a-levels), and I wish this course was available back then. Rather than rote learning equations for differentiation and integration, Prof Easedown explains how to derive the equations in the first place, with proofs, illustrations using graphs/ limits etc. He also doesn't jump steps, which is extremely refreshing compared to other maths MOOCs. The only minor improvement would be to put explanations of correct/inocrrect answers in the practice quizzes, so we can learn from our mistakes.

by Brian U

2019年8月27日

Fantastic! I hadn't taken calculus (or any other math) for over 20 years. But I will be taking Calc II for a data science degree. So I registered in this course as a refresher. It covered all the material my professor recommended that I review in preparation for Calc II. The lectures were interesting and well-timed. The exercises were great practice. And I'm saving the notes as a reference.

by Huijun J

2022年4月21日

This course is in detail and very easy to follow. Instructor Dr.David Easdown is adorable. It's not hard to see that he has put a lot of effort into these lectures. His presentations are lovely and vivid and make everything understandable. I love his teaching style and wish he could bring more courses to Coursera.

by Vitaliy P C

2020年5月17日

Hands down the best class I've taken on Coursera thus far (my 5th). Incredible instructor, superb video, amazing notes. Could not recommend it any higher. Will seek out again. Well done!

by Solmaz G D

2020年4月10日

it was so informative and every things was planned intelligently all trough the course . I enjoyed and learned a lot of studying this course . Thank you for all your efforts.

by Daniel H

2019年2月28日

I Loved how you could have the option to look over the notes instead of the videos to complete the course at a faster rate.

by Sarthak G

2019年1月11日

The teacher is great and if you are beginner this course is really for you

by Amr F A

2019年7月27日

Great course .

thanks for the efforts .

by Rafael P R

2019年2月19日

Excellent and interesting course

by jackson s q

2020年1月11日

Whilest I greatly apreciated the consise nature of this course, sometimes I found that ample explination on particularly difficult topics was sorely lacking. Often techniques such as partial fraction decomposition would be assumed which is a problem for people entering into this course relatively blind to mathematics.

If this course is re-vamped then I think more depth would be a great addition especially in areas that are particular complex and require detailed understanding.

by Nurzat S

2020年4月13日

good course, but the topics of module 1 are too basic, but they are may be helpful for people who have bad background in math, in general course was good.

But there was a few practice materials, too much theory, give some more practice materials

by Nourhan A J

2021年1月25日

Honestly, this course is an extremely inconsiderate program for those who have no prior knowledge in 2 unit/advanced maths. As someone who only completed general maths, I was burdened by the difficulties of the content being taught; especially when the lecturer himself didn't explain the content in a way that would allow me to understand. In effect, keeping up with the work, ensuring that I studied for the 20-minute assessments, making my own notes to study from, and just in general, trying to get through the work all became too overbearing. I ended up seeking help from outside sources such as youtube just so I could grasp a particular topic. And the issue wasn't with one particular topic it was with all of them. And I found that the lecturer did a lot of waffling. Now I'm not saying he was bad overall, but I just wish that the content could have been taught at a slower and understandable pace.

by Giulia B

2020年4月7日

This course is great, I very much recommend anyone taking it! I took this course after almost six years since my last math course at the end of high school. At that time, I was very happy that I would not have to deal with mathematics ever again. But professor Easdown opened a new world for me. He made me appreciate that math is a fresh and alive discipline that can be understood if you find the right tools and work with persistence. His explanations are extremely clear, making students understand and appreciate mathematical concepts, and not only to mechanically apply formulas.

He provides great lecture notes and readings which cover the topics explained in the videos, sometimes with deeper explanations and proofs. In the notes, there are also examples of exercises, which are very helpful for successfully completing the quizzes accompanying each module.

The discussion forum is a great learning place. There are many interesting questions posed by peers and you can post your questions there too. The professor is very active and very kindly replies to any query in a very timely manner.

This course is amazing. I very much recommend it to everyone, especially if you think math is a dry and useless subject that can't be understood, this course will make you change your mind!

by Sesi

2019年8月17日

Took this course as a refresher since it has been a few years since I bothered with calculus and pretty much forgot most things. This course really doesn’t assume too much pre-calculus knowledge and instead contains a pre-calculus refresher that lays the groundwork for the calculus in later modules.

Although a few times I needed to pause the video lectures to give myself enough time to understand the logic in later modules, overall the video lectures were presented in a straight-forward and engaging manner. David Easdown communicated concepts concisely and his way of speaking and enthusiasm for math helped keep me engaged with the video lectures. The readings are also well put together and allow you to go over video material (plus more for certain lessons) at your own pace. Practice problems were mostly easily although a few could be a bit more challenging (but not too much). As much as I would have liked a few more challenging problems, it is an introductory course, so the current question difficulty makes sense to me.

Overall, If anyone is looking for a well-put together introduction to calculus course (even as a refresher), I would highly recommend this course.

by Bob G

2021年4月19日

Excellent presentation and course design by Prof. Easdown. It was apparent throughout the course that he really cared about teaching, and had put many hours into preparing it. In each subsection, there were three parts: (1) a short video of 8 - 15 minutes in which Prof. Easdown explained a concept, and worked it out on software that was the equivalent of a whiteboard, with examples and simple graphs, (2) 3 - 5 pages of excellent notes on the subject matter just covered in the video, with example problems worked out, and (3) a quiz of 10 multiple choice questions. You should work out the problems with pen and paper. You immediately see the results of your quiz. You don't see what the correct answers are for any that you got wrong, but you can retake it as many times as you want and upgrade your score. I immediately retook the quiz every time I missed any questions so I could learn what I didn't understand the first time. This was extremely helpful to me. There is a 20 question multiple choice quiz at the end of each oof the five units. The instructor was exceptional, and I am very glad I took the course. I highly recommend this course.

by Andrew M

2020年4月10日

This is the best course on this platform, and perhaps the entire internet.

It's very hard to be enthusiastic and passionate over a video lecture, but instructor Professor Easdown excels in this area and learners will fine the lectures very engaging. Everything is explained from the ground up, and it is clear that the course aims to provide a thorough and fundamental understanding of the topic, rather than simply learning by rote or procedure. If something isn't explained fully, we are told why (usually due to complexity) and are told where to look if we wish to find out more.

The assessments are perfectly structured and strike the balance between challenging and accessible. If there is any trouble, Professor Easdown is very active in the Discussion Forums and provides excellent guides to any difficult problems.

This course is substantial, but not overwhelming. I found myself doing around an hour a day on average. You really do feel like you're learning something to a significant degree, but you are not forced to make sacrifices to find time to learn.

Overall, an excellent course that avoids all the usual MOOC pitfalls.

by Diego R G

2019年6月3日

Excellent course! I learned so much in such a short amount of time. It's an excellent introduction to calculus and a good way to increase your mathematical skills. The lectures are great and the readings allow you to get all the information at your own pace and are a good way to get familiar with proper mathematical language and notation without being hard to read (if you have paid attention!). The quizzes and exercises are challenging enough to make you think and feel rewarded for being able to solve them, but not enough to make you want to quit them (in fact, I had a lot of fun doing them!). My advice to other people that want to take the course is not to rush it and to do all readings and exercises (try to get a perfect score in all the exercises and to understand all the questions before attempting each week's quiz). I am grateful to the University of Sidney and to professor David Easdown for making a calculus course of such high quality accessible to everyone. I feel more confident in my math skills and ready to keep learning more advanced stuff

by Carlos O

2021年1月24日

Excellent course. Pertinent, interestingly related and (very) well explained topics; excellent support material with hundreds of exercises and more than fifty extra readings; Professor Easdown demonstrates his math passion as much as his interest in having student to actually think and learn. An inspirational educator.

The course itself covers the main Calculus themes which, in my case, I didn't have contact for more than 25 years, so, as refresher it was quite pertinent. Practical examples are given and can be extrapolated to several current issues (like Covid issues or growth of world population or even Bach, the theme for every video). Btw, the example using a real car trip was fantastic, there's only an issue I was unable to understand... in the end, was there a speed ticket? :)

Finally, I would like to thank you, Professor and team, for putting together and making available such quality course and materials. It made me curious and inspired for more. I am sure others students will also feel the same.

Wishing you all the best, Carlos