Chevron Left
Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation に戻る

イリノイ大学アーバナ・シャンペーン校(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) による Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
stars
558件の評価
121件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

人気のレビュー

DH

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

フィルター:

Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation: 1 - 25 / 115 レビュー

by Sachin P X

Nov 10, 2018

One of the best courses across platforms- classroom or online that I have taken. Huge real life value addition. Professor Scott has worked incredibly hard in putting this valuable content.

by Ben N

Mar 28, 2018

I've taken several investments classes on Coursera and this is the best presentation of CAPM I've seen. Really systematic and entertaining presentation. I will recommend it to friends.

by Zhu L

Apr 29, 2018

This is by far the best-made course I've ever studied on Coursera.

I enjoy every bit of the lectures and learn a lot besides the basics listed in the curriculum.

It's really the insights that's really valuable and worth learning.

I've spend four weekends on this course and I'm perfectly glad with it.

If you're looking to understand finance, learn this one.

by Andras I

Jan 09, 2020

Entertaining and thorough at the same time. Although some of the courses I took were following more of an academic style, I don't doublt that this course covered the same subjects with as much or better efficiency. I'm used to the feeling of hard grind while learning difficult subjects - no such feeling during this course. Simply ingenious!

by Jola D

Jul 26, 2017

The course is well structured and easy to follow - especially from someone who is working full time as well. The modules are straight to the point and with good examples. I was quite happy with the course.

One way to improve would be to have more shorter videos and divide examples into different videos.

by Marc L

Aug 31, 2019

Great class!

Very interesting content and Mr Weisbenner is an exceptional Teacher.

The course builds a bridge between the theoretical foundation and the practical appliance and on top of that Mr Weisbenner makes it a lot fun! Would take any class with him in the future!

by Ana P M

May 17, 2018

it was a very nice course. Really easy to understand and get in track with the professor. Modules can be done in a very short time if you work more hours but can also be done in a long period with no rush at all, so you can play with your time!

by Rodrigo F

Apr 09, 2017

I've tried taking lots of investing classes. This is the first one that brought it all together. It's basic enough for beginners but I believe challenging for people who are more advanced. Excellent balance of theory and application.

by Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

by Alexander H

Jul 04, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. A lot of good information explained very well. The enthusiasm and demeanor of the professor made the course all the more enjoyable. Looking forward to more great content by the University of Illinois.

by Mohamed M

Dec 11, 2016

Excellent course content from an amazing professor who took the time and effort to record more than 30 hours of video to make the students make the most out of this course. He has really interesting and exciting teaching style.

by Raj B

Dec 07, 2017

This course changed my thinking of investment analysis many different ways . Key take away is faculty interviews with strong research oriented talks gave me an eye opening for building new investment strategies.

by Jacques P P

May 07, 2017

Really good for anyone who wants to improve their knowledge and understanding of investments. Also, take the Honors track to help understand the material even more. Prof Weisbenner is great and knows his stuff

by Rajesh J

Nov 14, 2018

Outstanding course. The best amongst all Coursera courses I have taken so far. The course was very comprehensive and had a great amount of detail. Looking forward to enroll in the second part of the course.

by Dan H

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

by Karen F L

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

by ARVIND K S

Jun 23, 2019

Excellent course with huge nuggets of theoretical wisdom complemented by practical techniques through Data analysis and solver. A must for every investment enthusiast and manager.

by Artem A

Nov 07, 2019

Awesome course on Investment. I enjoyed lectures, quizzes and peer assignments. There is a lot to learn and benefits can be significant. Thank you professor Scott.

by Mohammed S A

Dec 16, 2016

Lectures are nicely delivered!!! BUT videos of lectures should be confined within 15 minutes and be cited data sources and how to we can see and obtain data aswell

by Kenny S

Dec 19, 2018

Amazing! Shed light on so many questions that I didn't even know to ask and corrected a lot of assumptions I had wrong. Loved this class. A must take class.

by Deepen ( J

Nov 21, 2018

I learned a lot from this course. This course has fundamentally changed the way I understand investments. I hope to apply my knowledge in real world situation.

by Kedves H

Dec 19, 2018

Profound, a lot of information, nice presentation, helpful Professor, lighthearted style.

I can only recommend it.

It takes time, but it definitely

worth it!

by Vivek V

Mar 05, 2018

All the examples were helpful in providing a lot of real world perspectives and was beneficial to someone who had already done a similar course.

by Michael S Y

Aug 12, 2018

An excellent course! loved the material, great assignments, built my fundamentals in investments in a great way. Professor Scott is great man.