Chevron Left
Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation に戻る

イリノイ大学アーバナ・シャンペーン校(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) による Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
516件の評価
114件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

人気のレビュー

DH

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

フィルター:

Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation: 1 - 25 / 110 レビュー

by Ben N

Mar 28, 2018

I've taken several investments classes on Coursera and this is the best presentation of CAPM I've seen. Really systematic and entertaining presentation. I will recommend it to friends.

by Sachin P X

Nov 10, 2018

One of the best courses across platforms- classroom or online that I have taken. Huge real life value addition. Professor Scott has worked incredibly hard in putting this valuable content.

by Keith K D

Dec 14, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot of new things

by Kedves H

Dec 19, 2018

Profound, a lot of information, nice presentation, helpful Professor, lighthearted style.

I can only recommend it.

It takes time, but it definitely

worth it!

by Kenny S

Dec 19, 2018

Amazing! Shed light on so many questions that I didn't even know to ask and corrected a lot of assumptions I had wrong. Loved this class. A must take class.

by Stella A

Jan 02, 2019

Very useful course! Many thanks to Scott.

by Aashish S

Feb 10, 2019

Amazing course. Gained a lot of insights regarding investments.

by Ponciano R

Jan 31, 2019

Fantastic course full of detailed and well explained examples!

by Stephen K

Apr 10, 2019

This course takes hard work, but if you put in the time, it is well worth it. The professor is top-rate.

by Raj B

Dec 07, 2017

This course changed my thinking of investment analysis many different ways . Key take away is faculty interviews with strong research oriented talks gave me an eye opening for building new investment strategies.

by AISSEGBE C J

Nov 21, 2016

Merci pour ce merveilleux cours

by Jacqualine O

Dec 09, 2017

Great professors from iMBA and Coursera side.

by Craig M

Nov 08, 2017

Intensive, but very well done! Great sense of humor as well!

by Vivek V

Mar 05, 2018

All the examples were helpful in providing a lot of real world perspectives and was beneficial to someone who had already done a similar course.

by Wei D

Dec 08, 2016

Fantastic course. Leaned a lot!

by Dan H

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

by Mike M

Dec 08, 2016

Fantastic class. Very informative!

by Mark D

Dec 11, 2016

Entertaining and you learn a lot. I highly recommend taking this course.

by Jola D

Jul 26, 2017

The course is well structured and easy to follow - especially from someone who is working full time as well. The modules are straight to the point and with good examples. I was quite happy with the course.

One way to improve would be to have more shorter videos and divide examples into different videos.

by Daniel D

Apr 05, 2018

Love the class and content!

by Fang S

May 23, 2018

Nice Course! Basic but deep enough to understand valuation of the firm.

by soumya s

Jun 25, 2018

BEST

by Eric K

Dec 13, 2016

Very dedicated professor whose efforts are very apparent.

by Ankit M

Nov 06, 2016

Great course!

by Marcelo C K

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent