Chevron Left
Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation に戻る

イリノイ大学アーバナ・シャンペーン校(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) による Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
538件の評価
117件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

人気のレビュー

DH

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

フィルター:

Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation: 26 - 50 / 111 レビュー

by Mark D

Dec 11, 2016

Entertaining and you learn a lot. I highly recommend taking this course.

by soumya s

Jun 25, 2018

BEST

by Jacqualine O

Dec 09, 2017

Great professors from iMBA and Coursera side.

by Craig M

Nov 08, 2017

Intensive, but very well done! Great sense of humor as well!

by AISSEGBE C J

Nov 21, 2016

Merci pour ce merveilleux cours

by Rodrigo F

Apr 09, 2017

I've tried taking lots of investing classes. This is the first one that brought it all together. It's basic enough for beginners but I believe challenging for people who are more advanced. Excellent balance of theory and application.

by David H

Mar 12, 2018

Top notch instruction and lectures!

by Marcelo C K

Jul 27, 2017

Excellent

by Zhu L

Apr 29, 2018

This is by far the best-made course I've ever studied on Coursera.

I enjoy every bit of the lectures and learn a lot besides the basics listed in the curriculum.

It's really the insights that's really valuable and worth learning.

I've spend four weekends on this course and I'm perfectly glad with it.

If you're looking to understand finance, learn this one.

by JOSÉ E G B

Feb 26, 2018

Terrific.

by Deepak

Dec 30, 2016

Great learning experience. The video's are long but will definitely help you and your personal wealth.

by Jacques P P

May 07, 2017

Really good for anyone who wants to improve their knowledge and understanding of investments. Also, take the Honors track to help understand the material even more. Prof Weisbenner is great and knows his stuff

by Ana P M

May 17, 2018

it was a very nice course. Really easy to understand and get in track with the professor. Modules can be done in a very short time if you work more hours but can also be done in a long period with no rush at all, so you can play with your time!

by Mohamed M

Dec 11, 2016

Excellent course content from an amazing professor who took the time and effort to record more than 30 hours of video to make the students make the most out of this course. He has really interesting and exciting teaching style.

by WESTON S

Jan 13, 2018

I really do enjoyed the course I learn a lot about

by Ankit M

Nov 06, 2016

Great course!

by Ehui E S A

Jul 06, 2018

Excellent.

by John d l T

Dec 09, 2016

A++ for your effort and delivery Scott, thanks

by Christian G

Dec 07, 2017

Excellent course, the first couple weeks are tough but worth the effort.

by Abdul K O

May 31, 2018

Happy that I passed this tough course.

by Ann M

Jul 03, 2018

great course and instructor.

by Jola D

Jul 26, 2017

The course is well structured and easy to follow - especially from someone who is working full time as well. The modules are straight to the point and with good examples. I was quite happy with the course.

One way to improve would be to have more shorter videos and divide examples into different videos.

by Daniel D

Apr 05, 2018

Love the class and content!

by Fang S

May 23, 2018

Nice Course! Basic but deep enough to understand valuation of the firm.

by Austin S C

Oct 10, 2017

Excellent instructor!