Chevron Left
English for Journalism に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による English for Journalism の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,713件の評価
566件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to English for Journalism, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in developing the skills needed for a career in modern journalism. In this course, you will explore print and digital media through authentic readings and video lectures, while expanding your vocabulary and increasing your ability to read, research, and develop local and global news stories. Unit 1 will provide an introduction to the history and principles of journalism. In unit 2, you will learn how to research, pitch, and interview. The next unit in the course will focus on the language needed to write newspaper and magazine articles, while unit 4 will cover the basics of broadcasting the news. In the final unit of the course, you will analyze the growth, impact, and challenges of digital news, while completing a reflection assignment that allows you to think about and discuss the recent changes to the field of journalism. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

人気のレビュー

MA

Feb 19, 2020

I have found this course quite informative about the knowhow of journalism. Now I've come to know the principles of journalism and what are the skills needed for writing or broadcasting news stories.

A

Dec 12, 2018

I was looking for this kind of course and this is a perfect online course which inculde everything from journalism , I have learnt a lot of things from this course and will look for similar courses

フィルター:

English for Journalism: 26 - 50 / 546 レビュー

by Verónica B

Mar 26, 2017

El curso es bastante completo, las actividades por unidad son muy buenas, interactivas y me parece excelente que tenga actividades y lecturas extras para practicar un poco más. Propongo un nivel dos de este curso de inglés en el que se traten temas como periodismo de investigación, de datos y de análisis. El vocabulario sería más extenso y técnico y ayudaría a personas que ya llevan tiempo en esta profesión ¡Gracias por permitirme formar parte de este curso!

by Joanna M K

May 10, 2020

The best online course! A repetition of knowledge from journalism and learning English in one. I am delighted! Thank you to the lecturers. Although we didn't meet in person, I have the impression that I know you! I hope that I will still be able to take another course at such a high level. I am particularly grateful for the funding. This was very useful, especially in times of epidemics. Thank you Penn and thank you Coursera!

by MD I A T

Jun 12, 2020

If you here to report a review for the course then here it goes.

1. This course for both English and journalism

2. The basics ethics of journalism would be taught

3. English lessons are worthy and in most recent form

4. Assessment and game is the best part to cheek the learning ability

4. It is for all in this digital world.

I suggest this course to be persuade by everyone irrespective of age and educational background.

by Ibtihal A B A Y A

Jul 30, 2018

A highly informative, applicable& easy to follow course by absolutely knowledgeable professors. The thorough, well-organized& engaging course content reflects the the professionalism & the extensive knowledge of the professors in this field. Really looking forward to enrolling in other courses by the same professors & University of Pennsylvania. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to learn from you.

by Terezia T

May 25, 2020

In the beginning I was a bit afraid, but then I realized that this course is going to be full of interesting things and a new eprencie for me. I like journalism, however this is not my profession. I do like writing about different topics and I am glad that I could have improved my English during this course. Well recommended for everyone who are interested in news and happenings all around the world.

by Giulia Z

Oct 17, 2017

I think this is a really good course for those who want to be introduced to the world of journalism! It helps you to improve your english language skills and to develope your journalistic skills and knowledge. You can really learn a lot. The two instructor are really competent and they teach you this world in a way that is very understandable. I really enjoy this course and I recommend it very much!

by Ilona G

Apr 20, 2017

I really liked this course! It's perfect for the beginning journalists or people wishing to gain new qualifications. Although 15-years education, my English got improved by a new (mainly journalistic) vocabulary I hadn't known before. The biggest advantage is the fact, this course doesn't include only lectures and quizzes, but also practical exercises of creative writing.

by Timothy D

Apr 02, 2020

The Coursera and University of Pennsylvania's English for Journalism was a great structured course that covered the principles of journalism, how to interview, broadcasting, while also improving overall writing skills. I used this course as a knowledge top-up, and found it extremely beneficial and would recommend to anyone looking to improve their journalism skills.

by Ashot B

Sep 17, 2019

This is my first on-line course and the first acquaintance with the American educational system. I am quite impressed. I like all the stuff that I met - content, teachers speech manner, logic, structure, approach, the combination of lectures, texts to read and tests. I am really grateful to the Coursera team and Penn University as well. You do a great job!

by Claudia M d C

Mar 27, 2017

Very interesting course!!!! Thank you so much really!!! i have learn many interesting thinks, like principles of journalism, create a pitch, digital media, citizen journalism, traditional media , review grammar and form verbs that i didnt remember !! really thank you so much for this great oportunity !! Very recomended course !! Hugs everybody !!

by sophia k g

Jun 02, 2020

For me, this course really taught me a lot of things such as writing a pitch, making an article and knowing the principles. It really is something since I didnt know a single thing about journalism and after taking this course, I've gained more knowledge than i ever had! 10/10 recommended for those people who really finds interest in journalism.

by Attakorah I

Sep 09, 2019

Over the years, I have been studying on different online course sites. And I am proud to say, COURSERA is the best online course site I have access so far. Good Tutors, quality videos graphics, you get chance to share you views with your peers, it also help you to know how best you understand a topic with after topic quiz. So nice and perfect.

by Jinto M

Sep 03, 2019

The course gives the learner a good introduction to the field of journalism. It gives the history and principles of journalism and the art of writing for media. Moreover, the course is useful for a beginner as it provides one with the information regarding the use of tenses and different words in a media writing. It improves language skills.

by Sarah K

Jun 30, 2020

I learned so much from this course. I love writing, but have never explored journalism before. It helped me greatly with my writing skills. The structure of the course is also great because the videos aren't long, but are still packed with information. I highly suggest taking this course if you enjoy journalism or simply writing in general.

by Abdulrazak W

May 15, 2020

I have learned immensely about the basics of journalism. It's not all black and white when it comes to selling stories to the public. They are a lot of areas as well. You have to make sure you have the right information and facts from people themselves to make it believable. It has greatly helped with my grammar and writing skills as well.

by victor_julio555@hotmail.com

Mar 20, 2017

Thank you so much for the knowledge and for the time. The university of Pennsylvania and Coursera have provided the right space to share intercultural learning. I also want to thank everyone else whom make this dream possible. For this reason I wish to thank all of our teachers and staff for your commitment and determination.

by Mohammed E R

May 14, 2020

I really very thrilled to have such course, I love learning English language as I am not native English, and also like very much the work of journalism. this course helped me and provided me with many English terminologies and enhanced my vocabulary , as well as gave me a push to pursue my journalism studies.

Thank you!

by Jacqueline d C P A

Oct 08, 2016

El curso English for Journalism, es de alta calidad, ha sido bien diseñado en cuanto a su pedadogía, sus recursos didácticos son los más apropiados para este tipo de curso. El staff de profesores demuestra profesionalismo y paciencia y mucha equidad con los participantes. Es altamente recomendable.

by Bernard K H L

Apr 20, 2020

The course is structured in an easy to learn. The test and the assignments are all geared for learners to be a stepping stone to become citizen journalists. I enjoy the learning processed here and I strongly recommends to those who aspire to become journalist, take this course. You'll love it.

by Steve H

Sep 23, 2019

I loved the structure of this course. The teachers were charismatic, well-paced, and it was easy taking the right notes that would help me through the assessments. Emphasis was put on the right notions, and I found this course very interesting. I learned a lot and it will help me in my career.

by Bruna C

May 11, 2020

The course was easy to follow because the teachers explain well the concepts of Journalism. Engagement among students helps you develop your writing and critical thinking skills. I recommend this to anyone who wants to enter the journalism world or anyone who wants to improve their writing.

by Jomari P C S

Jun 14, 2018

It was my first time to engage in this kind of online classroom, and it felt really amazing as I learned a lot of things that could develop my competencies in both writing and expressing my ideas objectively. It also helped me to improve my skills on being attentive and cautious to details.

by Giovanni T

Sep 22, 2016

Superou minhas expectativas!!! Realmente me ajudou a conhecer novas palavras e a praticar meu inglês. Pude estudar o que estou vendo na faculdade de Jornalismo em uma segunda língua. As atividades de vídeo e texto exigiram dedicação e trouxeram bastante aprendizado. Parabéns pelo curso.

by Raja H R N

Feb 06, 2018

Very informative ,practical and useful course for those who wants to improve their knowledge of journalism and English. This course provides many practical skills regarding journalism. It is more than just a Language improvement course, rather it is very practical. Highly recommended.

by ALEXANDRA

Jul 30, 2017

Un curso muy completo y bien estructurado. En cada unidad hay audios, lecturas y vídeos que hacen más amenos los módulos que se realizan cada semana. Merece la pena hacerlo, a mí me ha encantado y he aprendido mucho y refrescado otras materias periodísticas en inglés. ¡Un 10 de curso!