Chevron Left
Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life に戻る

イェール大学(Yale University) による Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
201件の評価
63件のレビュー

コースについて

Journey of the Universe weaves together the discoveries of the evolutionary sciences together with humanities such as history, philosophy, art, and religion. The course draws on the Emmy-award winning film, Journey of the Universe, and the book from Yale University Press. Journey explores cosmic evolution as a creative process based on connection, interdependence, and emergence. It examines a range of dynamic interactions in the unfolding of galaxies, Earth, life, and human communities. It investigates ways in which we understand evolutionary processes and the implications for humans and our ecological future. The Journey course, thus, is based on a new integration that is emerging from the dialogue of the sciences and humanities. Journey tells the story of evolution as an epic narrative, rather than as a series of facts separated by scientific disciplines. This changes our perception so that we begin to see ourselves as an integral part of this narrative. By situating ourselves within this story we can better appreciate the complexity and beauty of processes such as self-organizing dynamics, natural selection, emergence, symbiosis, and co-evolution. As we discover these intricate processes of evolution, we awaken to the beauty and complexity of our natural environment at this critical juncture in our planetary history....

人気のレビュー

DH

Oct 21, 2018

I love everything about this. Plan to go back sometime later and explore more of the websites and links that are referenced. I especially enjoy material from the American Museum of Natural History.

CS

Jan 15, 2017

This course is a must. There is just no other course that can nurture your spiritual yearnings within the framework of science. Take it. It's a wonderful course.

フィルター:

Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life: 26 - 50 / 60 レビュー

by Juliet B

Apr 18, 2017

A great course for everyone. Provides inspiring insights into the workings of the universe, evoking a big picture understanding of how we fit into a beautiful story of our universe, a story that each of our lives play an important part.

by Kousay a

Oct 28, 2016

A profound intellectual journey. Take this course and immerse yourself in the beautiful nature of our universe.

by Srinivasan R

Apr 08, 2018

Truly a delight to be participate in this course! Three cheers to Yale!

by Christine T

Dec 09, 2016

I found this a great introduction to the cosmology and look forward to the other courses.

by Colleen S

Jan 15, 2017

This course is a must. There is just no other course that can nurture your spiritual yearnings within the framework of science. Take it. It's a wonderful course.

by 孙婉璨

Aug 04, 2017

It is amazing to walk through this journey, having a wider perspective of the universe and my role in it.

by S I

Jan 26, 2017

Yup...thought provoking film and lectures. Expanding universe, coexisting creatures, earth as a whole is living and we are part of this living creature with greater responsibility are somethings i've learnt.

by Shamim D

Feb 27, 2017

A truly insightful and enlightening course that will provide a clear understanding of the creation of the universe and of life in a scientific sense.

by Haley B

Oct 05, 2016

I like how this coarse has some videos and some readings. I also like this coarse because it is not all videos and it is not all text.

:) :) :) :) :)

by Keke

Jan 09, 2018

开阔眼界,得知世界的知识,非常赞!~

by Linda K

Oct 24, 2016

Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life offered a wonderful sense of connection with our universe, Earth and all her life forms as well as a beautiful understanding of deep time. It told it's story from a science and a humanities perspective. Absolutely offered aw and wonder. A great learning experience. Thank you to everyone involved!

by Aza O

May 23, 2017

Big History meets the World Wisdom Traditions with a sense of 'how can we navigate our collective future here on Earth in the Anthropocene'??

by Valarie B

Nov 08, 2017

I have so enjoyed taking this course and am enthralled with all of the new perspectives that were presented. I look forward to continuing with the certificate.

by Walter M

Nov 28, 2017

Highly recommended. It is evident that the instructors have invested considerable energy and passion into the creation and proliferation of this course. Tip: pay attention, not so much to the factual information conveyed (this is not to say the the quality of the research is not way above par), but to how it is being conveyed. And always ask, "why are the instructors choosing to share it?"

by Asif S B

Mar 10, 2017

Amazing course!

by Shivam

Sep 18, 2018

Very good course

by Dot H

Oct 21, 2018

I love everything about this. Plan to go back sometime later and explore more of the websites and links that are referenced. I especially enjoy material from the American Museum of Natural History.

by Emily C

Nov 02, 2018

The title of the course was what initially attracted me. "Journey of the Universe: The Unfolding of Life" was such a spectacular course. It's a dimensional way to familiarize oneself with topics that are rarely offered in more rudimental educational environments. As a high school student, it was both an academically and existentially enriching course! Thanks for offering this, Coursera.

by Jafed E

Jul 06, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

by Susan F

May 23, 2019

Fantastic content and well structured for the busy working person to fit into their schedules!

by Patty K

Jul 29, 2019

Very interesting and compelling. The story the world needs to know!

by Therese M M

Sep 22, 2019

I am amazed!

by Roslyn V P

Sep 02, 2019

I now have a dynamic way of envisioning our universe and beyond. This course is entertaining, compelling, and educational. I've gained unexpected personal discoveries which include finding connective concepts in the evolution of the world, humanity, language and the development of AI.

by SANDRA A C V

Sep 06, 2019

This course guided me trough questions and knowledge that I was looking for so deeply. The material, the way of teaching, the theachers, everything as a sinfony, flowing trough my soul and finding place in my believes. I´m so gratefull to this opportunity of learning. My life was expecting for it.

by racheal h

Sep 12, 2019

Everyone one should watch this movie and read the book. The course has given me a good perspective and great insight on the world around me. I like the idea that the stars are my ancestors and that I belong here on this Earth. This course has helped me in my daily life as I look around I know we are all one with this universe. It has opened my soul, my heart to others here as well and to the real nature of a power greater than self.