Chevron Left
The Kennedy Half Century に戻る

バージニア大学(University of Virginia) による The Kennedy Half Century の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
294件の評価
75件のレビュー

コースについて

When John F. Kennedy entered the presidential limousine at Love Field in Dallas, Texas on November 22, 1963, he began his ride into history. That journey continues even today and we call it the Kennedy legacy. This course will explore the Presidency, assassination, and lasting legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Students will learn how JFK’s life, administration, and tragic death have influenced the general public, the media, and each of the nine U.S. presidents who followed. Understanding the Kennedy legacy and being able to identify elements of his legacy within the context of modern politics helps understand many of the vexing problems that developed over the last half century as well as many of the challenges that confront us today. November 22, 1963 was so powerful a moment that in the fifty years since the assassination, every U.S. President that followed JFK has used Kennedy’s words and actions in an effort to craft their own political image. Why does Kennedy’s influence persist, and will it continue? What are the effects? We’ll address these questions and more as we explore The Kennedy Half Century. Follow on Twitter: @JFKclass....

人気のレビュー

JN

Jul 05, 2017

Larry Sabato is a true genius in political thought. Great realizing that he is fascinated by John Kennedy as I am. There was technical difficulty in Coursera realizing that I had finished the course.

KS

Oct 22, 2015

I really loved this class! Professor Sabato taught this class so eloquently and so well. I have studied the JFK Presidency and Assassination for years, and I loved learning more from this course.

フィルター:

The Kennedy Half Century: 1 - 25 / 79 レビュー

by Michelle M

Jan 01, 2019

A fairly well rounded course on JFK and his legacy. Some new information interwoven with some traditional history on JFK. Overall an interesting course.

by Clifton L

Jun 20, 2019

Great exposition of President Kennedy's influence in American politics

by Tom D

Jun 14, 2019

No other students took the course with me, so there was no interaction with students o professor.

by Olivia H

Jun 05, 2019

Thanks Larry Sabato you're a legend! This course helped me so much and I chose to do my A level history coursework on Kennedy and got a good mark, in part due to this. Loved it :)

by Francisco M P

May 29, 2019

I have bought the book

by Beth Z

Feb 26, 2019

Loved this course. Would have appreciated a little less plugging of the professor's book though

by John C

Feb 25, 2019

Extremely informative course. I especially liked the fact that it showed JFK in a humanistic and real light rather than how he was often romanticized by the general public. I also liked that LBJ was talked about in some positive light, illustrating that he was the forerunner to many of the policies set up by JFK.

Very informative and very educational and entertaining.

J.C

by Angelo K

Feb 09, 2019

Loved the course! A must of everyone who would like to learn about the US President Kennedy!

by

Dec 29, 2018

This course was amazing and the lectures were put in great detail. I am writing a book about the assassination of John Kennedy and this course helped me greatly with the evidence and how it affected other presidents, also with how the legacy remains and grows more throughout each person every day. I have read some of Professor Sabato's book (more towards the assassination) and it was wonderful.

by mansi g

Oct 02, 2018

easy

by Amal A E I

Sep 05, 2018

Very good Course , I really enjoyed it

by Mohamed G

Jun 04, 2018

Very resourcing course about half centery of USA history with the main actors president so influenced by legacy of legendary JFK .....enjoy it

by Hugh G

May 17, 2018

The course spent too much time on the details of the assassination; the discussion of the following half century was weak, with a peculiar emphasis on tax cuts and military action -- did terrorism 'restore purpose' to America's foreign policy? The frequent exhortations to consult the professor's book for important details were particularly vexing.

by Richard H

Apr 09, 2018

Thanks so much Larry!

by Maria K

Jan 04, 2018

It was interesting to learn about the influence of Kennedy.

by Vicky

Oct 31, 2017

Professor Sabato explains everything in a really nice manner, slowly enough to not get confused and fast enough to not get bored. The course in itself is well organised and the material provided (videos, photos, recordings etc) is a "nice touch". I am really glad I followed the course and I would recommend it to anyone, since the topic is important not just for humanities students. Also the workload is so little that allows even the busiest of you to follow it, I promise! I had fun and I cannot wait to buy the book. Thank you!

by Joaquin T

Oct 22, 2017

Great! Thanks for the opportunity

by Jim C

Oct 16, 2017

I wish there was more about his life and career, less on following presidents. Half the course focused on the assassination, which is misleading

by Jose R

Aug 29, 2017

Excellent course, taught in a very proactive way. You can tell that this is one of Dr. Sabato's favorite subjects. Way better than other history courses that I have taken. Congratulations!

by Angela W

Aug 27, 2017

Great course. It really re-ignited my interest in history.

by Jekaterina

Aug 12, 2017

It was interesting. Thank you.

by Maddison C

Jul 13, 2017

Really interesting and enjoyable. I really liked the wide range of topics the course covered from JFK's entire political career to his legacy all the way up to Obama. The course has enough detail to remain interesting the entire time yet is brief enough that the course can be completed quickly.

by Sonia A

Jul 06, 2017

Thanks! It was a great course.

by JoAnne N

Jul 05, 2017

Larry Sabato is a true genius in political thought. Great realizing that he is fascinated by John Kennedy as I am. There was technical difficulty in Coursera realizing that I had finished the course.

by George T

May 31, 2017

Very interesting