Chevron Left
Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
357件の評価
119件のレビュー

コースについて

According to legend, inscribed on walls of the temple on the sacred site of Delphi in Ancient Greece were two premier injunctions: NOTHING IN EXCESS, and KNOW THYSELF. This course will be an examination of the latter injunction in an effort to discover what self-knowledge is, why it might be valuable, and what, if any, limitations it might face. What is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her less wise, virtuous, or competent in certain areas than others who have this capacity, and what if anything might she do to fill that gap? Historical sources as well as recent research in philosophy, experimental social psychology, and neuroscience will inform our investigation, in the course of which we will become students of our own dreams, and cultivate some meditative practices. Learning Outcomes: Learners will gain familiarity with prominent themes from Western, classical Chinese, and Buddhist approaches to our knowledge of ourselves. In the course of doing so, they will gain an appreciation of the relation of self-knowledge to wisdom, of the value of intellectual humility, as well as of methods of learning about oneself that do not depend on introspection. Learners will also become familiar with contemporary research in experimental social psychology, philosophy, and neuroscience into the emotions, the unconscious, the role of affect in decision making, and self-deception. They will also gain an appreciation of a challenge to the assumption of a coherent, unified self that derives from the Buddhist tradition. --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

人気のレビュー

ST
2020年6月20日

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

DB
2020年6月23日

This is a well put together course. It is beneficial to borrow or purchase the course textbook. I enjoyed the course instructor and his use of meditation breaks every so often was great.

フィルター:

Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life: 26 - 50 / 120 レビュー

by Adrian P T L

2018年10月7日

I've Learned a lot about this course. i learned that how should i put importance to myself that knowing some limitation and giving importance in what talents and abilities that i have. knowing myself is show to me that how am i special on this world that i stand. so that I concluded this course, we should love ourselves and accept who really we are.

by A K

2018年8月24日

One of the best resources available on the subject of Self Knowledge that is not only accessible, but with pointers for further study to go further & deeper. I had earlier viewed a few lectures when this course was given a couple of years ago, and was waiting for taking the course. It was well worth it! A BIG Thank you, Prof Mitchell Green!

by Seán Ó h

2020年12月28日

I found this Course to be really excellent. it provided ver clear, insightful and informative knowledge and information in helping me to examine, understand and reform so as to achieve a more fulfilling, rewarding and happier life. Thanks so much to everybody concerned with the Course's preparation and presentation. Wonderful!

by Suzanne

2018年9月6日

This course was very well presented: challenging concepts were delivered in a coherent and approachable manner, inviting further exploration and discussion. The meditative moments of "mono-tasking" were a bonus! Thanks and kudos to Mitchell Green and Simon Fokt for a really worthwhile learning experience.

by Regina V R

2019年4月9日

Great content, really enjoyed taking this course. The lectures are really good and the adicional material is very helpful. Also, I enjoyed a lot the meditative moments. However, the video "theory of human emotions" in week 4 is missing (instead there's the video for part 5 two times!)

by PC

2019年5月6日

An excellent course encompassing theory, story, learning and tools from many historical and contemporary sources. Really well explained, flowing smoothly and yet provocative in helping you think about the topics yourself. The meditative videos are very useful too. Worthy of 5 stars.

by Aedrian A

2021年1月19日

This is an extremely insightful course, and it made the cited ancient philosophical texts much more accessible for casual philosophy learners like me. The unexamined life, truly, is not worth living - and I do think that this parallels with psychological essence of finding purpose.

by Neringa B

2018年9月7日

I have gained some useful insights thanks to the course material thus I recommend this course to those students who have already realised that there is a connection between their positive belief system and the negative events that unfold in their social/personal life.

by Renee K

2021年1月13日

I enjoyed this short philosophy course and the content brought out in the lectures and presented readings was quite informative, which brings me to say that'd recommend this course to anyone interested in philosophy it will be worth your time.

by Helen J

2021年1月17日

Excellent course. The bite sized videos and lecturer were engaging. Simple explanations as well as the options and signposts to investigate the subject further was clearly laid out. The quizzes reinforced the learning for each module well.

by Munira M

2020年12月2日

Attending this course gives you an understanding of yourself with a different perspective, debates and views by different philosophers, which keeps you thinking a. This does not have a conclusion but open questions to be solved by ourself

by Vanilson J P

2020年5月14日

I've started this course because of the lockdown in London, but I found the course to be really good. Lots of new theories to think about. The beginning if very simple but after while, needs dedication. Highly recommended.

by Marieta C

2021年1月22日

Complicated matters made easy by a very charismatic lecturer- Professor Green.

I also enjoyed the meditation moment.

Highly recommend!

Thank you, professor Green for the enjoyable time and all I learned from your lectures.

by Anne S

2020年10月26日

This course and the survey of thoughts and theories about the limits of self-knowledge are not only interesting, but especially poignant when applied to the world as we know it in this time of the pandemic.

by Deniz A

2020年4月6日

This was a great course with lots of examples and ideas to think about. As a psychology student, I find lots of concepts to think about, with my background information from various personality theories.

by Tina G

2018年9月3日

I learned a lot about what self-knowledge and how it can enhance my life. The lectures and forum discussions were very thought-provoking. The meditative moments were an added bonus!

by Prashant S D

2020年7月6日

A really good course about different philosophical ideas from several philosophers about the examination of life. The teaching technique is really good and easy to understand.

by DANIE G

2020年10月22日

It was such an amazing experience to understand and learn how to know ourselves better. I really enjoy the activities and the lessons about the topics and it is engaging.

by Peter H

2020年12月21日

A highly informative course that took its students on a clear step by step journey through a variety of philosophical thought. Enroll, you won't be disappointed.

by Nur W B A W

2020年5月17日

This was incredibly fun and relatively easy to follow. The additional readings were also helpful in painting a better picture of the topics. Very recommended!

by Kathleen B

2020年9月6日

I wasn't sure what to really expect but this was a great course to get me thinking and challenge me along the way. The meditative moments were SO lovely.

by Everlinda A

2020年8月3日

This online course is really great. This has been an eye-opener for me examined my life. I also, would like to learn more about this. Thank you so much.

by Alexandra R

2020年7月18日

Very interesting course and very inspirational.

The Tutor is very serious, charming and convincing, even inspiring.

I can only recommend.

by rebecca r

2018年9月7日

this course was super well explained, lovely to watch, and very easy to absorb and apply to self through the introspection questions.