Chevron Left
Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
354件の評価
118件のレビュー

コースについて

According to legend, inscribed on walls of the temple on the sacred site of Delphi in Ancient Greece were two premier injunctions: NOTHING IN EXCESS, and KNOW THYSELF. This course will be an examination of the latter injunction in an effort to discover what self-knowledge is, why it might be valuable, and what, if any, limitations it might face. What is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her less wise, virtuous, or competent in certain areas than others who have this capacity, and what if anything might she do to fill that gap? Historical sources as well as recent research in philosophy, experimental social psychology, and neuroscience will inform our investigation, in the course of which we will become students of our own dreams, and cultivate some meditative practices. Learning Outcomes: Learners will gain familiarity with prominent themes from Western, classical Chinese, and Buddhist approaches to our knowledge of ourselves. In the course of doing so, they will gain an appreciation of the relation of self-knowledge to wisdom, of the value of intellectual humility, as well as of methods of learning about oneself that do not depend on introspection. Learners will also become familiar with contemporary research in experimental social psychology, philosophy, and neuroscience into the emotions, the unconscious, the role of affect in decision making, and self-deception. They will also gain an appreciation of a challenge to the assumption of a coherent, unified self that derives from the Buddhist tradition. --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

人気のレビュー

ST
2020年6月20日

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

DB
2020年6月23日

This is a well put together course. It is beneficial to borrow or purchase the course textbook. I enjoyed the course instructor and his use of meditation breaks every so often was great.

フィルター:

Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life: 51 - 75 / 118 レビュー

by Luis C O

2018年9月6日

Wonderful course. Congratulations prof Mitch. Keep up the good work. Very interesting the meditations. It was a wonderful initiative.

by Michael S

2020年8月24日

A brilliant course. It teaches much ability to think and much useful knowledge. Also it is very engaging and a pleasure to take.

by Dimitris A

2021年2月18日

My Gratitude to the Teacher. He was Great. Thank you so very much Sir! Be well and keep influencing people the best way possible

by dan h

2019年2月9日

Good content just a technical issue some of the modules repeat themselves even though they have different names.

by Mystery L

2021年2月10日

It was a pretty good course. It was interesting but I already though of most of the theories being discussed.

by Kathleen R

2019年1月15日

Fascinating subject. Course was well-designed, good lectures and interesting readings. Highly recommend.

by 马秀欢

2019年7月25日

It's really useful and helpful,especially the extra materials applied in it. Thank you for everything.

by Joseph G

2018年9月8日

Very well-done online course packed with knowledge. This was my favorite Coursera course thus far!

by Christopher L

2018年8月26日

Great introduction to basic, Philosophical concepts and thinkers largely by way of Descartes.

by Eldrick J F O

2018年10月12日

Phenomenal! It allowed me to peer closer to views which I now considered to be misconstrued.

by Hazel I

2020年6月19日

Loved this course. Well structured, knowledgeable professors. Inspiring content. Thank you.

by Erica D

2020年7月9日

This course was really Interesting and gave a lot great perspective. Definitely recommend!

by Ajaya G

2020年6月4日

The video presentations are excellent. Concepts are very well explained. Learnted a lot.

by Amy S

2020年4月26日

An absolutely wonderful course, easy to follow with thoughtful prompts and assignments.

by nadia a

2020年8月3日

For me, it was an essential course to widen my knowledge in myself and in philosophy.

by Belinda G

2020年9月27日

Excelente experiencia, sobre todo porque está en otro idioma y es un reto de verdad

by ROSA L C S

2020年3月30日

I understand more about myself, and how deep we can go to understand ourselves.

by Rick S

2019年7月21日

A course that has impacted the way I live and think. Would recommend to anyone.

by Sawsan W

2021年2月18日

Well organized course, easy to follow lecturers, excellent reading resources.

by Jessica I

2020年8月17日

A wonderful introductory course into the idea of the self. Highly engaging.

by Ranjana S

2019年11月9日

The course is well paced and covers very interesting and insightful topics

by Shyenne B

2020年4月17日

Very educational and I love how engaged you can be with the course!

by Emma T

2020年4月25日

I really enjoyed this course - I found it very thought-provoking.

by Ritesh K

2019年3月12日

Wonderful course..! though yet to know more to know Thyself..!!!!

by Abigail S

2020年10月24日

had fun! more or less easy to follow, just challenging enough !