Chevron Left
Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
449件の評価
151件のレビュー

コースについて

According to legend, inscribed on walls of the temple on the sacred site of Delphi in Ancient Greece were two premier injunctions: NOTHING IN EXCESS, and KNOW THYSELF. This course will be an examination of the latter injunction in an effort to discover what self-knowledge is, why it might be valuable, and what, if any, limitations it might face. What is missing from a person lacking in self-knowledge that makes her less wise, virtuous, or competent in certain areas than others who have this capacity, and what if anything might she do to fill that gap? Historical sources as well as recent research in philosophy, experimental social psychology, and neuroscience will inform our investigation, in the course of which we will become students of our own dreams, and cultivate some meditative practices. Learning Outcomes: Learners will gain familiarity with prominent themes from Western, classical Chinese, and Buddhist approaches to our knowledge of ourselves. In the course of doing so, they will gain an appreciation of the relation of self-knowledge to wisdom, of the value of intellectual humility, as well as of methods of learning about oneself that do not depend on introspection. Learners will also become familiar with contemporary research in experimental social psychology, philosophy, and neuroscience into the emotions, the unconscious, the role of affect in decision making, and self-deception. They will also gain an appreciation of a challenge to the assumption of a coherent, unified self that derives from the Buddhist tradition. --- This course was created by a partnership between The University of Edinburgh and Humility & Conviction and Public Life Project, an engaged research project based at the University of Connecticut and funded by a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation....

人気のレビュー

ST

2020年6月20日

Really in depth and easy to follow information on a great array of topics, philosophers and philosophies. I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest of learning new knowledge .

DB

2020年6月23日

This is a well put together course. It is beneficial to borrow or purchase the course textbook. I enjoyed the course instructor and his use of meditation breaks every so often was great.

フィルター:

Know Thyself - The Value and Limits of Self-Knowledge: The Examined Life: 126 - 150 / 155 レビュー

by Jessica R

2021年1月17日

Great! Thanks.

by Gustavo A V A

2021年11月19日

I loved it!!

by Carol S

2022年5月11日

loved it!!!

by Mahonri B C

2019年11月28日

Excelente!!

by jorge q

2022年2月15日

Excellent!

by Dottie R

2020年6月8日

Brilliant!

by Jeanette A A

2020年5月18日

Excellent!

by George C M

2018年9月4日

Excellent.

by Darryl R

2021年6月30日

5 star.

by Aditya C

2020年8月10日

great!

by Thoria B F

2018年9月7日

ممتازة

by Gourav

2020年11月1日

good

by Bindu V S

2020年8月16日

good

by Vincent T

2019年4月15日

s

by Julie B

2021年3月7日

Thank you, the course was interesting and having done a little on the history of philosophy in the past, I enjoyed looking at some vaguely familiar theories from a different perspective. I think there was a good balance of material to cater for different learning styles and to introduce an element of variety (videos, further reading, topics for debate and quizzes) and the structure of the course, and my progress within it, was clear and logical. My only criticism is that the transcripts (in written English) of the video talks are not accurate and in some places become quite confusing and even suggest a meaning contradictory to what was actually said.

by S R R

2022年3月1日

Thanks a lot. I​ found the course very good and useful. The videos and accomapnying trxts are well planned and developed.

But for some reason it revolves around only western thinking and inclusion of eastern thinking especialy from Hinduism and Buddhiism would have taken the students much further on the road. Unlike western phylosophy which revolves around a few personalities, Indian thinking is so old that the authors' names are not specifically kniwn and goes by the generic name "seers".

by Tomas M

2021年3月24日

Very interesting presentation of competing ideas from philosophy and its history about what human mind can be. The material is organized chronologically, recent concepts about emotions are mentioned towards the end. Many links to to other interesting readings and podcasts are provided. Thank you prof. Green.

by Joe B

2022年3月31日

Some thought provoking videos and ideals brought forward. I enjoyed the variety of philosophers and ideologies that were presented. Maybe not for everyone but certainly could be intereting for anyone who thinks about purpose in life, self-awareness, and consciousness.

by P N A

2020年6月4日

More visuals and videos to explain the course content would have made teh course more interesting.

The videos with just the Porfessor speaking were sometime monotonous.

by Tatiana F M

2018年9月4日

Very interesting course and subject. There is much more to learn about it, I'm waiting for the next course to go deeper in the subject.

by Jonathan F

2022年2月1日

This course was fairly difficult requiring some effort, but it was worthwhile to gain a basic knowledge of western philosophy.

by Daniel H

2021年5月18日

Interesting introduction and overview for those from non-Philosophy background but are interested in it

by Ricardo R d P

2021年3月15日

I had the impression the emphasis was put on the limits, rather on the value of self-knowledge...

by Orianna S

2020年4月23日

The majority of the coursework is highly useful in daily life, which I greatly appreciated.

by louis f d m p s

2019年3月17日

Very interesting, I think it is a great start to the knowledge of thyself this background.