Chevron Left
Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management に戻る

ケープタウン大学(University of Cape Town) による Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
135件の評価
48件のレビュー

コースについて

Focusing on the Large Marine Ecosystems (LMEs) of the world, this course will introduce the concept and practice of ecosystem-based management. LMEs occupy areas of coastal ocean at least 200 000 km² or greater in size. These coastal waters produce 12.6 trillion USD in ecosystem goods and services annually and are vitally important for billions of people around the globe. Because LMEs are bounded by ocean features and are globally linked, management of human activities needs to occur in an integrated fashion across political boundaries and economic sectors (e.g. fishing, shipping, energy, tourism, and mining.) This represents a new type of management approached - shifting from single sector-based to multi-sector assessment and management within the spatial domain of the world's 66 Large Marine Ecosystems. There is global high-level support for this new approach and in this course, we will introduce the concepts and tools for assessing and managing LMEs. Together, leaders and experts in a global movement to recover and sustain the goods and services of LMEs will introduce you to the mechanisms used for assessment (Transboundary Diagnostic Analysis), planning and implementation (Strategic Action Programme). Based on recent activities in implementation and practice of the LME approach in 22 projects around the globe, we will showcase examples of effective management at this scale, and highlight the challenges and issues. By the end of the online course, we hope you will be able to actively use this knowledge to advance sustainable development of the world’s oceans. The course was created with the support and input of: the Global Environment Facility (GEF), the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), UNESCO-IOC and IW:LEARN....

人気のレビュー

SM

Jun 21, 2020

Not only was this an incredibly informative course but it gives me hope about the future of our oceans. It's exciting to hear about all of the collaborative work going on within and between nations.

TC

Jan 17, 2019

This course deepened my understanding of large marine ecosystems, how they should be assessed and the best practices/strategies that should be implemented in order to successfully manage them.

フィルター:

Large Marine Ecosystems: Assessment and Management: 26 - 48 / 48 レビュー

by Karla G

Jun 26, 2018

This course is amazing and so needed nowadays. Fully recommended!

by Virginie w

Jun 27, 2019

Very informative and well designed course, I learned a lot!

by Alora D M

Jul 17, 2019

The volume is quite low on most of the videos.

by francisca N

May 11, 2020

The research papers were very informative

by Jesna J

Jul 03, 2020

I am finding this course really helpful

by Mihaela L N

Apr 13, 2019

I enjoyed every lesson in this course!

by Mary E

May 04, 2020

Is a great course! Highly recommended

by Masoud J A

May 31, 2019

how can I get my certificate ?

by WINSTON R

Feb 13, 2019

The best so far!

by AYESHA N

Oct 20, 2019

good good good

by Hernán O

Dec 27, 2018

Excelent!

by Karen P S

May 31, 2020

Really loved this course! My work delves deeply into coastal management so it was refreshing to see a whole new perspective about things, especially on how we can improve management at a transboundary scale. What's even more commendable is how the information was broken down into clear, disgestable chunks. Also love how there's a synthesis every step of the way to help with memory retention. Also love the readings. I think they're a good representation of all the existing literature there is on large marine ecosystems. Everyone should give this course a try.

by Nqobile

Dec 02, 2019

This was my first engagement with an online course and I found it super easy to engage with the course material as instructions were clear. I found this particular course to be very insightful with regards to the various Large Marine Ecosystems existing across the world and I'm excited to see the evolution in approaches on managing resources and the likes, particularly the use of Ecosystem-based management within the spatial domain of LMEs.

by Lauren F

Mar 12, 2019

I really enjoyed going more into depth on large marine ecosystems, after seeing the term mentioned in a paper I read for my Honours thesis. I feel that the holistic approach to managing shared marine resources is a winning strategy, and I'm glad that I now have foundational knowledge of a topic which is at the cutting edge of marine resource management.

by Afaf A A H

Sep 06, 2019

I found the course very informative. Objectives were clearly stated from the start. I gained a greater knowledge of marine ecosystems. However, the sounds of some recorded videos were slightly poor and I hardly could understand. Thank you so much for this interesting course.

by Marisa M

Oct 21, 2019

This was my first Coursera course, really enjoyed and think it was well organizes, with a lot of information and interaction tools. Really appreciate how you could have a "connection" with the lectures, it really felt that i was in a real class. Eager to complete more

by Amal F

Jun 19, 2020

this was a new experience for me and a good on. It was informative and I look forward to implement it in my career . I thank all my instructors for creating this course.

by H. S

Jan 29, 2020

Very informative course. It will give you a deep view inside ecological management worldwide, and politics.

by Ray N

Jun 04, 2020

Course was not quite what I expected, but overall very good, demanding, and a good learning experience.

by Joy S

Aug 18, 2018

not that impressed. Maybe it's for professionals or something

by ranu p

May 05, 2020

certificate provided is just too bad, first of all I have got 95% grades and did my course with honours but nothing of that sort reflected in my certificate. Infact it is written that its a non graded certificate which makes it really worthless all the money I had paid.

by Francine

Sep 25, 2018

No reaction whatsoever from the staff - a pity.