Chevron Left
Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education に戻る

ミシガン大学(University of Michigan) による Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
238件の評価

コースについて

This course is open to professionals interested in learning more about leadership in higher education for a changing demographic or interested in developing their own leadership skills. The very idea that individuals can be taught to lead is not without its skeptics. Reasonable people, even some scholars in the field, point to the important traits, skills, and attributes that are observed in many visible leaders and contend that certain qualities necessary for effective leadership are not easily transmitted. To accept this premise and conclude that some people are born as natural leaders and others cannot be expected to lead at all is to make a mistake at the other end of the logical spectrum. We believe that leadership can be taught as long as it is concurrently nurtured, that most people possess a constellation of strengths around which they can construct their own leadership philosophy and approach, and that leadership development programming—if done well—can be transformative for organizers and participants. Course Level Objectives: Understand the historical narrative of institutions as well as institutional structures that have created instances of inclusion and exclusion in colleges and universities. Describe how transformational leadership is enacted for diversity, equity, and inclusion in a complex and contested environment. Compare legislative, governance, and public accountability and expectations in relation to contemporary issues in higher education. Analyze the strategic diversity planning process and documents of a selected institution. Recommend innovations and opportunities for transformational change at various levels of the ecological model using the strategic diversity planning process as a tool....

人気のレビュー

JS

2022年1月3日

This was a well-designed and delivered course. I learned so much about leading EDI initiatives and reflecting on my own thoughts about how to apply EDI strategies in my own unit at the college.

JM

2020年11月30日

I really enjoyed the inclusion of the covering HBCUs during this course. That was an unexpected and welcomed area of content. This course was very inspiring and I learned so much!

フィルター:

Leading for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education: 26 - 50 / 77 レビュー

by Sarah V

2019年9月16日

Well organized and presents valuable information and thoughtful exercises on the subject of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Some of the lecture videos by Jon Burkhardt were very patronizing and included instances of biased language that seemed to have slipped under the radar. I would recommend this course but I would also urge the University to review the lecture videos and bring in an instructor of color who would not make such slips.

by Kenneth M

2020年5月17日

The course was excellent! It is packed with eye-opening and useful information. The exercises were just right and the fifth star is reserved because it wasn't face-to-face assessment and instruction. Bravo!

by Oscar F L

2017年8月17日

Very interesting course and easy to follow. Sometimes a bit slow, since I suppose it's how the professor feels comfortable in front of the camera. Thanks for making this available to the world!

by Claudia G

2018年2月9日

It's a great course. Informative and very need for who wants to learn more about issues related to equity, diversity and inclusion and leadership in higher education.

by Sharon A M

2020年4月3日

Interesting course. The last two modules were the best.

by Azhar H

2020年12月22日

"I have seventeen plus years of experience taking training courses, therefore not easily impressed. Being in the academic world, I must say the course was excellent, one of the best I've experienced on a online MOOC format. I couldn't imagine him doing a better job of seamlessly walking students through a breadth of information in a remote environment. Professor did a fabulous job especially his explanation of Equaity, Diversity & Inclusion in the academic world"

by Diana s

2020年8月19日

Dr. Burkahardt performance in explaining the many complex factors, including providing great understanding of the pressing issues in Diversity, Equity and Equality in Educational institutions was outstanding. He explains with great passion.

The course it’s fantastic and it provides valuable tools to Development of Advocacy, leadership skills.

by Floreda M

2020年7月30日

Although I have been involved with this type of work for many years now, there is always something new to learn, consider and grow from. My one and only recommendation is that you find a way to allow for more than just one presenter.

by Dr. L A P

2020年7月7日

This course is definitely one that anyone can benefit from taking, even if you work in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. Continuing education is vital in the field of education and I appreciated learning from others around the world.

by Nur C

2021年4月27日

I Love this course so much, I can learn about higher education about equity diversity and inclusion. The amazing experience in this course that I can learn by free. thanks a lot, Coursera and Michigan University

by Emily F

2022年6月14日

This course has lots of great tools and resources that will deepen your understanding of leadership through a DEI lens. The workload is very manageable and you can work at your own pace on your own time.

by Jo A S

2022年1月4日

This was a well-designed and delivered course. I learned so much about leading EDI initiatives and reflecting on my own thoughts about how to apply EDI strategies in my own unit at the college.

by Jackie M

2020年11月30日

I really enjoyed the inclusion of the covering HBCUs during this course. That was an unexpected and welcomed area of content. This course was very inspiring and I learned so much!

by Gwendolyn E H

2021年11月2日

I enjoyed the readings and videos. The information was engagaing. There was history included to help us understand how things have changed. Well done!

by Josephine J

2022年4月18日

I wish there was more information on tangible differences and ideas one could make or follow into higher education and access in higher ed.

by Marianne J

2021年4月7日

This course was highly supportive of processes I was familiar with but brought in a deeper way of thinking as well as new approaches.

by Richard F

2020年12月2日

Really liked this course. A lot of information that needs to be a focus for not only higher education but our country as a whole.

by Nguyen T H A

2022年8月10日

I learnt important concepts and tools to address the question of equity and inclusion at higher educational institutions.

by Soraia M

2020年10月26日

It was a good course to analyze the situational environment of the educational institutes that i have been leading with

by Patricia M

2022年3月17日

This has been a very interesting and informative course. I learned a great deal and highly recommend it. Thank you.

by Mario L V

2022年2月20日

It was an outstanding experience learning from this course about Equity Diversity, and Inclusion in Higher Education.

by Maliheh R

2022年4月13日

One of the best courses I have ever taken. Excellent instructor, comprehensive content, important material covered.

by Deleted A

2020年10月13日

i love the content and the facilitator sharing. Wished we had more real time interaction and engagement though.

by Sandeep K

2020年9月16日

I highly recommend to professionals who are in the sector of Higher Education. The course is really insightful.

by Celia Z

2021年11月11日

​The course is extremely informative. The materials are practical. Thank you for sharing.