Chevron Left
Machine Design Part I に戻る

ジョージア工科大学(Georgia Institute of Technology) による Machine Design Part I の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,923件の評価
534件のレビュー

コースについて

“Machine Design Part I” is the first course in an in-depth three course series of “Machine Design.” The “Machine Design” Coursera series covers fundamental mechanical design topics, such as static and fatigue failure theories, the analysis of shafts, fasteners, and gears, and the design of mechanical systems such as gearboxes. Throughout this series of courses we will examine a number of exciting design case studies, including the material selection of a total hip implant, the design and testing of the wing on the 777 aircraft, and the impact of dynamic loads on the design of an bolted pressure vessel. In this first course, you will learn robust analysis techniques to predict and validate design performance and life. We will start by reviewing critical material properties in design, such as stress, strength, and the coefficient of thermal expansion. We then transition into static failure theories such as von Mises theory, which can be utilized to prevent failure in static loading applications such as the beams in bridges. Finally, we will learn fatigue failure criteria for designs with dynamic loads, such as the input shaft in the transmission of a car....

人気のレビュー

IP

2021年5月13日

Very illustrative presentation, with clever exercises. You can learn easily basic concepts of machine design that otherwise you would need much more time to undestand them on your own or at a college.

ZZ

2017年2月16日

The course was a concise and effective review of major concepts. The concepts were well explained and the lessons practical. I have a better understanding of fatigue failure as a result of this class.

フィルター:

Machine Design Part I: 451 - 475 / 526 レビュー

by Fhareza A

2020年9月12日

wow

by Pratik Y P

2020年9月27日

00

by Mohamed S M

2018年2月10日

<3

by Jan G

2019年11月20日

V

by Isaac S

2019年8月9日

I enjoyed the course, it was good to recap on areas that I'd forgotten, and also learn some new skills. The lecture videos were very clear and concise and all the material was well explained.

Negatives - There did seem to be some errors (in my opinion) in some of the combined stress questions (or at the very least some bad explanation / errors in the solutions documents which seemed to be contrary to what was taught in Georgia Tech's Mechanics of Materials IV course on coursera). Also, the lecture slide pdfs were sometimes missing bits that were in the videos. There were also seperate pdfs for each short video, so there are around 40 pdfs that cover all the course material which was a bit of a pain, I think It would've been much easier to have a pdf of all the slides for each week.

by Gary U

2016年12月23日

A good introductory course to gain an appreciation of some of the theory and techniques that goes into designing mechanical systems in our modern world. Real world cases are discussed, and I have become aware of some of the failure mechanisms in airplanes and in the body skeleton, so I am a bit more leary of taking airplane flights , and not jumping off high places while twirling. You need to be familiar with basic theory of stress and strain before taking this course, there is a series of courses available on Coursea as pre-requisite. The way the quizzes are scheduled makes it advantageous to watch the videos early in the week and take the quiz as soon as possible, since you get only one attempt every 24 hours. Enjoyed the course.

by Orynbekov A

2020年5月28日

Pretty well-made course with a lot of different practical examples. Teaching is very professional and straight forward. All exercises are great, however there could be more of them. Course has some small mistakes, which off course were not intentional. Main inconvinience is that you are adviced to go throught three other courses to fully understand the content of this course, but I think it is normal. In total, this is a good course that gives you a better understanding of the processes happening in machine design field.

by Carlos A C C

2019年6月6日

El curso fue muy bueno para recordar y mejorar algunas de las habilidades en el ambito de la ingenieria estructural. A pesar de ser un curso introductorio fue muy bueno, puesto que lo aprendido es la base para continuar con conceptos mucho mas complejos. Me agrado mucho la metodologia, y la forma de ensenanza de parte de la profesora la cual intenta por todos los medios que se entienda la materia. Ahora estoy en espera de que en algun momento se abra un curso de Machine Design II.

by Sunny M

2020年2月7日

I'm giving 4 stars based on this course specifically, matter will different if considered never coming part 2. this course did not include any machine elements but was very good with failure classes both static and fatigue. I really need the part 2 or a different course as DESIGN OF MACHINE ELEMENTS, which would include gears, gear trains, clutches, brakes, etc.

(I left one star because i felt content wasn't enough)

by Ojas P B (

2020年4月16日

This course has added considerably to my knowledge of machine design. The course is designed very well and covers most of the topics in machine design. All the topics are discussed in adequate depth. This course is like a refresher with some added topics which you might not have studied. I would recommend this anytime to a mechanical engineer. Thank you, Dr. Kathryn Wingate and GaTech.

by MANOJKUMAR A

2019年1月27日

Course is very useful for intermediate level. People have to know certain basic calculations like bending moment, shear stress, etc. Presenter has good knowledge about materials. Because of that she is clear in communication and making it easy to understand. Course provides a good refreshment about static and fatigue failures. Hope it will be an additional star in everyone's resume.

by Syed A A S

2019年3月6日

This course of machine design from Georgia Tech is a nice combination of revising the concepts of material properties, design and temperature considerations, design theories for static and dynamic loading situations for a safe design. The instructor knows her domain and my time went well. Thanks to Georgia Tech. and Coursera platform for the effort.

by KHODABUCCUS M M

2017年11月8日

Overall course quality, approach and content were satisfying. i enjoyed doing this course. it helped me understand some critical factors i need to consider in the mechanical engineering field as far as design of a component is concern.

Looking forward to do more courses in Coursera to increase my knowledge.

by Daniel L

2019年3月13日

I enjoyed the practical and summarized approach (both static and fatigue failure). I would have liked developing skills about the aluminum and composite parts, materials commonly used in aeronautics.

Thank you very much for your involvement in these e-learning courses

by Sergio A T

2022年1月12日

Good course. Basically a college course. As so, the material is introductory (intermediate/advance if not an engineer and basic/intermediate for engineers). Not state of the art theories and tools, still felt like academic knowledge to me.

by Felipe W

2016年12月22日

Es un muy buen curso para comprender los conceptos generales en el diseño mecánico, me gustó el enfoque que se le dio a los módulos de fatiga.

Aunque en algunos momentos faltaba un poco más de detalle en la explicación de los módulos.

by K K P

2021年8月24日

Much helpful for Mechanical Engineers. Course presentation by Dr. Wingate was good. Although detailed explanation over a few topics is still needed (for eg, transverse shear and its application). Overall, much recommended!

by Bharath

2018年1月30日

A full fledged view on machine design.

I being an average learner learnt a lot in Machine design through this course. The user interface and lectures are really great! I wanted to thank Dr. Katheryn for her support.

by Alvaro G

2021年4月29日

Clear explanations from Dr. Wingate! Extensive use of common Engineering data as graphs, Handbook, etc.

Very good as a first approach to Machine Design, and also as a refresh for some rusty and forgotten concepts

by Nishant L

2020年12月11日

Very Helpful course to clear concepts of Machine Design. Giving 4 stars due to presence of human errors in explanation. Their frequency was a bit high. 5/5 stars based on content provided by Dr. Kathryn Wingate.

by Simon L

2017年8月22日

Give it a 4 top notch, the examples where explicit quite challenging needed some nimble thinking and prompt responces. Just the Discussion forum was a bit biased and the questions where somehow not understood

by Vijayaram M

2020年7月2日

It is really a good course to revise and go out through the basics.But the most annoying part is that the change of the title and the corrections btw the videos and my suggestion is to change it.

by Venkata S G

2018年12月18日

Very good course to refresh the fundamentals of machine design. Course content is lucid and quiz's are also very impressive. I am looking forward to enroll the next course of the series.

by Brian L

2018年6月13日

Very clear in objectives and to the point when discussing problems. Lectures are not spent deriving formulas but discussing meaningful and insightful problems for the practical engineer.