Chevron Left
Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
3,764件の評価
923件のレビュー

コースについて

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

人気のレビュー

ZM
2017年7月17日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK
2020年9月23日

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

フィルター:

Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know: 876 - 900 / 918 レビュー

by SHAILENDRA P

2020年5月30日

satisfactory.

by rishi m

2017年6月3日

Good course

by حوطان ا

2020年7月16日

Thank you

by Jalasutram y

2020年6月21日

Super

by Venkateshwara S

2020年6月17日

great

by Akshay P S

2020年7月9日

good

by Rangasamy K

2020年6月6日

Nice

by Mayank P

2020年6月2日

good

by Kamakhya P M

2017年12月14日

good

by rakesh k

2017年6月12日

good

by Arivazhagan S

2019年5月4日

nil

by Parth S

2020年5月26日

N

by Rajiv K

2020年5月10日

.

by Stian N

2021年9月1日

W​ith a title like 'ten things every engineer should know' I expected a bit more 'sazz' / pop delivery than this course delivered. Most of the subjects were discussed very well and concisely, but I'd like more examples and visuals.

What it lacks in examples it makes up for in conciseness and the instructor is clearly very experienced. All in all a good little course, and I recommend it.

You have to do a few exercises and rub off the old algebra but which is otherwise very quick and straightforward. But pay attention or you may just miss the quick half sentence that's used on a test.

I​ have had some mechanical engineering courses and knew about a third of what the course taught, but it was a long time ago so the brush up was well worth it. I learned a lot from this course, especially about the relationship between the microstructure and macro behaviour of metals (this course is 90% about metals), and the ubiquitous relationship between temperature and chemical reactions of all sorts.

E​ngineering knowledge needs most of all to be practical and actionable.

This course makes that a little too hard I think, and the dry, graph-heavy form really isn't suited to giving a conceptual overview for engineers. That's my only gripe with the course – that the material is dense and obtuse, and we are shown graphs to try to understand behavior of nature and systems. I had to stop the course many times to try and make sense of the graphs. There are so many powerful examples to draw from to anchor the teaching in the concrete. You have a screen to show, show some examples. The few ones that are used are terrific, and really help elevate the course.

Oh, yeah, a second gripe – t​he last 'thing' is about semiconductors and a good idea. But it was completely unactionable. Bewilderingly, we are told that doping semiconductors increases their conductivity at low temperatures, however, such doping is temporary as the dopant is exhausted. I have almost no answers from that and so many questions. What temperature range are we talking about where dopants are useful? How useful? How long does the dopants last? What other types of dopants are used? Why are semiconductors uniquely good for electronics? I get that that is a huge topic, but this covering of semiconductors didn't even give me an idea of how the semiconductor is produced, or how much dopant is typically used, or what they look like.

by karl h

2021年5月3日

Excellent topics. Good discussion, Lectures are informative.

Obviously, Professor Shackleford has a wealth of knowledge and is a very capable speaker.

The Arrhenius equation was front and center throughout the lectures -- a profound concept in chemistry and in engineering.

Throughout the course, we saw the labs at UC Davis -- as if we might be seeing: engineering tests, scientific samples under the electron microscope, lab behavior of semiconductors, micrographs of failed materials, failure of materials, actual examples of material flaws shown in detail -- turns out we only saw a tensile test and some materials placed in a furnace.

Graphs on the screen were often quite small. The available technical resources were plentiful it appears but underused.

Thank you.

A very good free course.

by Anton M

2021年6月10日

D​r. Shakelford has a remarkable knowledge of the material, but he could greatly improve his ability to convey this knowledge to his students by spending a little time in Toastmasters. Toastmasters will teach you to be more concise in your descriptions and to eliminate crutch words such as "uh", "um", etc. These little things add up as distractions from the subject. They represent a pause in thinking, which interupts the listener from understanding the concepts you are trying to convey. I know your mission is to share your knowledge - you would do that so much better with a little coaching. All the best to you! Anton B. Mogilevsky, P.E.

by Sajib K N

2020年9月7日

This course will help to know the stress, strain,ductility,fatigue, semiconductor and any other topic. Also help to know the eutectic and eutectoid point.That will be help me go ahead in the engineering sector. My teacher also be great.The system of teaching process also interesting.

by Bryan H

2016年12月19日

Good use of figures and graphs. I like the input of historical references to help understand the material. Lectures can be disengaging at times, the professor uses a lot of pauses which makes it hard to follow. Overall, it's a good introduction and overview to material science.

by Samet G

2017年11月27日

This course consists of beneficial topics for all engineers. The topics are explained in briefly and the quizes contains the relavent terms about the topics. I hope to take the new courses about material science in Coursera.Thanks UC Davis and Mr James Shackelford.

by Jis N G

2020年7月23日

Lectures by Prof.Shackelford is not very clear as it lacks details but his book is excellent.Places where he takes the lectures is also very good-just the right place that has applications of the subject.

by Bhaumik U P

2017年12月12日

I would say that the lectures delivered by the Prof. James were not loud and clear as he was taking so many pauses in between the speech. Else, the material data illustrated was good !

by Padraig C

2017年7月15日

Very informative course but professor Shackleford was quite sterile and unengaging. He also tended to brush over things without explaining them

by Ahmad J A

2021年6月30日

it is not bad, but the course should be more detailed, the more information that have been obtained the better.

by Ramesh K

2020年4月22日

content is good but more number of experiments need to be added to understand the concepts clearly.

by Istiak U S

2020年7月3日

Poorly designed course. But has some great information with a good explanation.