Chevron Left
Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know に戻る

カリフォルニア大学デービス校(University of California, Davis) による Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,053件の評価
259件のレビュー

コースについて

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

人気のレビュー

ZM

Jul 18, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

PC

Mar 05, 2018

This course was alot more educational then I thought it would be but now I compare what has shaped me in in life to creep deformation. I especially loved the lecture " a play on good and evil".

フィルター:

Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know: 226 - 250 / 252 レビュー

by Kamakhya P M

Dec 14, 2017

good

by Mohammed S P

Aug 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. I suggest everyone to have prerequisite knowledge in material science and metallurgy. It will be difficult to understand the lecture without prior knowledge.

by Karunanidhi R

Oct 23, 2018

Experimental videos and detailed explanation helped to understand the subject better way

by Simon L

Oct 01, 2018

I liked the course, good fundamental knowledge.

It lacked examples, but overall it was imperative to know as an engineer

by Kaustav M

Sep 16, 2018

Thanks for explaining the subject in very simple manner.

by DEEPAK K P

Sep 16, 2018

A nice 'refreshing the knowledge' course if you have prior idea of the subject else it is very introductory, not at all for advanced learners.

by ARIVAZHAGAN S

May 05, 2019

nil

by Hemant R

Jun 17, 2019

The course conten

by Guillermo G S

Jun 30, 2019

Este curso me habría sido muy útil al momento que comencé a estudiar mi carrera, es una buena forma de comenzar a entender conceptos básicos acerca de distintos materiales en especial los metales.

by M S

Jun 30, 2019

Got clear ideas which helped in making my fundamentals strong !

by Kareem T K

Jul 14, 2019

Great course, I just wish the lectures showed a bit more details. I would definitely recommend it to others

by David S

Jul 30, 2019

Generally excellent overview of most topics but in some topics the presenter goes too deep too quickly in particular 'making things fast and slow' and 'semi-conductors'

by Adam B

Jan 04, 2019

Needs a lot more context! Why why why are we learning each topic. I love all the math and the depth, but just say why we are learning each thing first!

How about modeling each of the 10 things after a historical case study? Like the invention of carbonated steel, vulcanized rubber, or high temperature super conductors...? The historical case will put the abstract processes into context.

by Kishor D S

Mar 22, 2019

Though good but less content.

by Samet G

Nov 27, 2017

This course consists of beneficial topics for all engineers. The topics are explained in briefly and the quizes contains the relavent terms about the topics. I hope to take the new courses about material science in Coursera.Thanks UC Davis and Mr James Shackelford.

by muhamed m e

Jan 29, 2017

It's good but depend only save informations than understand it

by Marcin G

Aug 15, 2017

It was OK, I guess...

by Bryan H

Dec 19, 2016

Good use of figures and graphs. I like the input of historical references to help understand the material. Lectures can be disengaging at times, the professor uses a lot of pauses which makes it hard to follow. Overall, it's a good introduction and overview to material science.

by Padraig C

Jul 15, 2017

Very informative course but professor Shackleford was quite sterile and unengaging. He also tended to brush over things without explaining them

by Anthony E S

Nov 19, 2017

Not what I thought, but a good introduction to the material.

by Frankie L

Oct 07, 2017

More in depth explanations w have was omitted.

by Bhaumik U P

Dec 12, 2017

I would say that the lectures delivered by the Prof. James were not loud and clear as he was taking so many pauses in between the speech. Else, the material data illustrated was good !

by Avril K

Dec 16, 2016

This course is not terrible, I learned a few things, but it is poorly designed.

Some things are explained as if to people who aren't familiar with the concepts at all, while others are explained as if to people who must already know a lot about the concepts. I often felt lost. The "quizzes" did not help, you could do well on them without actually understanding things (I remember one multiple-choice question where the options were something like (a) "Arrhenius's first law", (b) "Arrhenius's second law", (c) "Arrhenius's third law", and you didn't even have to look at the question or know what the law was to know the answer because only one of Arrhenius's laws had been mentioned in the course at all).

There are two types of videos in this course. In one type, the professor is in a lab or kitchen or classroom or something and is physically demonstrating things. These videos are useful and mostly understandable. The other type of videos are lecture-style things that appear to have literally been sliced out of some other more thorough set of videos - sometimes the professor refers back to "earlier" parts of the lecture that we haven't actually seen before. Concepts and variables are often introduced without even mentioning what they refer to.

by Shakeel A Q

Jan 23, 2017

Very much low details and the course instructor has very slow pace when he is teaching on the board that (aaaa,aaaa) is very irritating....

by Sampath K , R

Jun 27, 2016

I was disappointed with the treatment of the main concepts. They were cursorily dealt with. Examples from the real world and a more graphic explanation esp. of the crystal defects would have helped. Otherwise, all the main points were covered.